We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Imperial Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

650 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 441: English reviews
Start your review of Imperial Hotel
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed in May 2016, for our last night in Malta, to be close to the Airport. It was a nice old style hotel with many period features and a "clubby" atmosphere, high ceilings, big comfy sofas and armchairs in the main lounge, pretty covered terrace and a good sized swimming pool at the rear. Well located in a well regarded...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SidneyJ
Germany
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It was the BEST! It will be transformed in a home for elderly people! The trees are cut, a part of the hotel is now crashed down. So sorry! Within roughly a week all employees are fired! Such a shame for the new owner!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Klaus Z
Reviewed 14 February 2017

This was my 4th visit to the Imperial Hotel since 2014 and I was intending to return every year at this time to celebrate my birthday. I had heard a rumour on the internet that it had been bought and the new owne wais going to turn it into a residence for the elderly later this year. I was stunned...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Ange J
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 January 2017

This is our next stay at the Imperial Hotel, although the rooms need some renovation the service in this hotel is excellent, It is very clean and all the persons who work in this hotel are extremely nice, Gilbert on the reception is so helpful as well as the two ladies. The bar is great, the restaurant offer nice Maltese...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank fifiASF
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Loved our stay in Malta. All the hotel staff were friendly and helpful. We booked B & B and the breakfasts were very good. We stayed for a week. I would recommend the weekly bus ticket as the main form of transport is a very good bus service and is ideal for getting around the island.

Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tomfalconer
Sailor89, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed client, Thank you very much for spending precious time to share your opinion and evaluation on our services, which are very appreciated by both Management and Team at The Imperial. We do hope that we would have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. With kind regards, J. Attard General Manager

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2016

When we arrived the receptionists said they had no booking for us. I was shocked and showed them our booking made 8 weeks previously (through On The Beach) for a garden room. They were rather abrupt and disappeared to a back room leaving us feeling a bit unwelcome after a 12 hour journey. 10 minutes later we were relieved to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chrissie54321
Sailor89, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir / Madam, Thank you very much for sharing you observations following your stay with us at the Imperial Hotel. I admit that I am very upset to read that housekeeping fell short in sorting out your request and that you had to open a cupboard storing old duvets as you did not feel comfortable on semi-orthopaedic mattresses. I...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2016

I'll give this place 1 star because it was actually open, and we did get a room. Not a garden room, as booked (at a premium rate), nor a room that had been cleaned properly, with beds that could properly be slept in. Nor did it have a shower with doors on (it did have 1 door, just a gap...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank trifleadviser
Sailor89, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear esteemed client, I would like to thank you for finding time to comment on your stay with us, however I can assure you that for a hotel to be classified, this is done by the pertinent qualified authorities who follow a rigorous protocol. For the sake of readers, I wish to draw your kind attention to the definition of...

Island of Malta, Malta
Reviewed 9 November 2016

We arrived in Malta to find out our reservation had been cancelled by the company we had booked through with out informing us. The manager at imperial hotel was a life saver and found us acomadition in the hotel for the 10 days we were here in malta. He was extremely accommodating and extremely helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JB00KER
Sailor89, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir / Madam, Thank you very much for finding time to comment and share your opinion with potential clients. It was truly a pleasure to assist you following the ordeal you encountered when you had booked with a defunct company who was only happy to take your money and run away leaving you, like many others, out of pocket...

Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 8 November 2016

Not too exciting all around. Rooms are just okay, breakfast is boring. It might have been special at the end of the last century, but it is only worthy of 2 and a half stars. A bit shopworn! Front desk staff very nice.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Philip M
Marton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Our 2nd visit here and very satisfied with our stay. Lovely room, towels changed daily and bedding changed regularly. Slight musty odour in one wardrobe. Looking out onto garden. Shampoo and soap provided, toilet rolls kept stocked up. Tea/coffee facilities. Excellent A/C unit on wall. We were on B&B basis, can't comment on dinners but breakfast was okay, nothing special....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Raymond B
Sailor89, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. B, Thank you very much for your comments following your second stay with us. At the time being we are accepting reservations for early next year since no building permits have been issued since this is a very sensitive building being over 150 years old, possibly the first building in Sliema but definitely the oldest serving hotel in...

528 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (382)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (117)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (72)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (113)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (146)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (42)
Viewed
Twin Garden View Room (26)
Viewed
Twin Pool View Room (27)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: Rudolph St, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 06, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Price Range: $59 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Sliema
Imperial Hotel Malta/Sliema
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Imperial Hotel staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Imperial Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with pool views are best.”
SidneyJ, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Pool or garden for quiet and good view”
Chrissie54321, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here !”
trifleadviser, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“127 ground floor but close to the road”
  • out side hotel
magician77, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book a room on either the second or third floor....our first room on the ground floor was damp,dirty and very tatty.”
  • Gernal state of the furnishings
  • Gernal state of the finishing
  • Damp hiding behind curtain
  • Bars across the window
JackieT3, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5