We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grand Hotel Cravat

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grand Hotel Cravat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

556 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Cravat
See the most recent reviews
Showing 323: English reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2015

Well located close to the central square, but on a relatively busy road so very noisy at night. Facilities are very outdated and the hotel clearly hasn't been refurbished in years. Would not recommend staying here for business purposes unless being centrally located is your key criteria.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexander W
CarloCravat, Gérant at Grand Hotel Cravat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the time you took to put your comments and I am sorry to read that you did not like the style of our hotel. Fortunately we have other nice properties in the City of Luxembourg that might please you. All the Best and have a nice stay in our fabulous City next time you come...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 22 October 2015

The hotel was centrally located making it easy to walk all places in the city center. The room was decorated in funky retro style, and clean. The price was great and the front desk was very helpful. Parking was a bit of a hassle though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
CarloCravat, Gérant at Grand Hotel Cravat, responded to this review

Good morning dear Guest, Thank you for your comments that are so true. I hope they will help futur guests to chose my hotel and feel at home like you did. Best regards, Carlo Cravat

Luxembourg City
Reviewed 16 October 2015

This hotel is located right in the centre of town and is close to all the shops and restaurants. My room had been recently renovated with touches of light wood and a new bathroom. It was perfect for a short business stay and I was able visit the town at night. The restaurant/brasserie was brand new. Staff at the front...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
CarloCravat, Gérant at Grand Hotel Cravat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your nice comments and I will forward your positive input to my staff. Looking forward to welcoming you very soon again at the Grand Hotel Cravat in Luxembourg, Carlo Cravat

Reviewed 14 October 2015

Room was nice but slightly threadbare. New upholstery and towels would make a big difference. Loved the old elegance of the place, the bar is magnificent looking and the dining rooms also, but was not impressed by breakfast (although I loved the uniformed staff, so elegant!). Queried the barman and was told the hotel is run by a fifth generation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerstin C
CarloCravat, Gérant at Grand Hotel Cravat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments and we are constantly doing turnover of our linen and the towels. Last month I changed the whole third floor's matresses and we have now instead of blankets the german eiderdown system. Hope you will enjoy even more next time. Best regards, Carlo Cravat

Kilkenny, Ireland
Reviewed 21 September 2015

Do not stay here. The rooms are small, outdated and dirty. Felt grimey the whole stay.Old fashioned blanketson the bed in neeed of a good wash. Couldnt sleep properly for fear of mice.Stayed out of the room as long as possible so I didnt have to spend too long in the room. I wouldnt give it 2 stars. Distrubingly bad....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cat1234_13
CarloCravat, Gérant at Grand Hotel Cravat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your time to write these lines. Sorry that you did not like your room nor your stay. Luckily there are other fine hotels in Luxembourg that will please you next time you come to Luxembourg. Best regards, Carlo Cravat

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2015

We were very pleased to be able to check in early. We booked an executive room, spacious and airy with windows open onto the square and valley. Good size bathroom... don't expect everything to be new but if it works (and it does) enjoy the old style feel. The American Bar is wonderful for evening cocktails, extensive list and great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janafield
CarloCravat, Gérant at Grand Hotel Cravat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive commetns. I'll see what we can do with the egg boiler or next time just ask for a boiled egg. I am pretty sure that my staff will cook it the way you like it. Best regards, Carlo Cravat

Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

The hotel is overlooking a beatiful view, rooms are big , hotel is in the city center. The hotel has the oldest elevator in Luxembourg . Staff are extremely freindy and kind, willing to help you all the time The only flaw was the furniture was old

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dalalsep1985
CarloCravat, Gérant at Grand Hotel Cravat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanky our for your nice comments and I hope that we will soon see you again at the Grand Hotel Cravat. Kind regards, Carlo Cravat

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2015

Having looked at several hotels in the city we ... or rather I ... chose this one based on my research and yes, I'll be honest because the photo showed a room which I thought looked particularly nice and spacious. I was sadly disappointed ... On arrival we were 'greeted' by quite a rude chap on reception. He at first...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sabine E
CarloCravat, Gérant at Grand Hotel Cravat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I thank you for your feed back and I was sorry to read that the option with the third bed was not executed properly. I have not later then this morning done a meeting with the housekeeper in order to fix this situation. Thanks to you I hope this will not happen again. Concerning the receptionnist at check-in...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2015 via mobile

An Ideal location close to the Hotel de Ville but also with views across the spectacular gorge. The hospitality of a bygone era. Has a certain 'Wes Anderson' style and charm. Genuinely hope they never change it, one of the coolest spots in Luxembourg (thankfully they don't seem to know it). Let's keep it to ourselves.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndrewPhillipsRIBA
CarloCravat, Gérant at Grand Hotel Cravat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, This is for me the nicest gift you could make me. Talking of my hotel as a gem. This shows defenately that I have my own clientele and my staff and myself will endavour to please this kind of guests. Hope to see you back soon and have a nice autumn. Carlo Cravat

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 7 September 2015

I stayed here for a weekend and it is located in an extremely convenient place with the major sights of Luxembourg all within walking distance. The services provided by the team there was also exemplary. I would like to highlight the efforts of Monsieur Betin at the front desk who was really helpful in helping point out the various highlights...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zodakr
CarloCravat, Gérant at Grand Hotel Cravat, responded to this review

Dear Guest from an international Town, Thank you that you appreciate our service and our hotel. It is nice to see that even guests used with modern facilities and air-conditionning can enjoy our hotel and our service. Thanks to you it gives us the power to go on in that direction. Best regards, Carlo Cravat

253 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (228)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.5 km away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#4 of 51 in Luxembourg City
680 reviews
1.2 km away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#1 of 51 in Luxembourg City
1,442 reviews
0.9 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 51 in Luxembourg City
993 reviews
0.7 km away
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
0.0 km away
Hotel Simoncini
Hotel Simoncini
#11 of 51 in Luxembourg City
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Cravat

Address: 29 Boulevard F-D Roosevelt, Luxembourg City 2450, Luxembourg
Region: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Price Range: $139 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Cravat 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Cravat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Luxembourg City
Grand Hotel Cravat Luxembourg/Luxembourg City
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Hotel Cravat staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Reading, United Kingdom
Seattle, Washington
2 months ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Hotel Cravat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great location”
 of 5 bubbles CMGroovy, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a front view, to the Pont Adolph and Constitution square.”
 of 5 bubbles gabrielam628, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask at reception :)”
 of 5 bubbles viorex, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Maybe worth upgrading from standard room to get quieter room.”
 of 5 bubbles 235JohnW235, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“the view to the Roosevelt road is just amazing”
 of 5 bubbles , 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5