We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal

Travellers' Choice award winner
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,338 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 669: English reviews
Highland Beach, Florida
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

A great location with views of the old town the sofitel grand ducal in Luxembourg is a great place to stay.‎ The room which faced the valley and old town was average size with good amenities including plugs, wifi, oversize shower, separate wc and tv. The complimentary minibar had several bottles of mineral water. Breakfast on the 8th floor offered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank highlandbeachflorida
England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

All great apart from dinner, over cooked steak, but okay, what is not good was the total blank I had from the waiter when I told him. Also the LED lighting around the bar spoils the view of the city because of the reflections.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S G W
gosport
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

just had a 3 night stay at this hotel and had a great stay its in a really good location and the views from the hotel bar is stunning . the only down side is the price of the breakfast which is a bit over the top , if you could just pop up and pay for a coffee that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GosportBlue
Paris, France
Reviewed 1 week ago

From what I understand, Sofitel Le Grand Ducal is among the best hotels in Luxembourg... I'm afraid that this says a lot about the paucity of the local hotel market, rather than the quality of the hotel. The Sofitel is a modern building with a rather average lobby and dull overall decoration, lacking desperately charm. I have stayed there 3...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elliot B
FLOPEZLENS, Directeur général at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Elliot, Thank you for having taken the time to express your opinion about our hotel. We are sorry to hear that you expected your stay to be different and that we were not able to provide you with the amenities and service you were hoping to get from a hotel as ours. If you decide to come back...

Dublin
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am just back from another great stay (and dinner/bar!) in the hotel, with colleagues this time and as the year is nearly over again, I would like to thank ALL the staff for their help, service, kindness and hospitality during the last year! I have lost count of the many stays I have had at the hotel over the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wimke
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review

Dear wimke, Once again I would like to thank you for your kind words about our Sofitel ambassadors. It is very comforting to hear that you are enjoying your stays so much. If there is anything else you think that we can do to make your stays even better please feel free to get in touch with me during an...

Arvada, Colorado
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you're in Luxembourg City and don't mind dropping a few bucks, do NOT miss an opportunity to stay here. It's simply one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in. The service is of the highest quality and the room was extremely comfortable. We never had a chance to make it to the top floor bar, so hopefully next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 130Doug
FLOPEZLENS, Directeur général at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review

Dear Doug, Thank you for your positive feed-back. I will share it with all the ambassadors. I wish you a great day and I hope to see you soon. My best regards Fernando Lopez Lens General Manager

Overijssel
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a great hotel. The breakfast is truly magnifique. Without a doubt the best breakfast in Europe I experienced. (Asia is hard to beat.) We had a superior room on the 6th floor. It's not very large, but big enough. I like the fact the toilet is in a separate space. A bath would have been nice. Shower was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel_NL
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review

Dear Daniel_NL, Thank you very much for your kind review and for having chosen our hotel while being in Luxembourg. We are always happy to hear when our guests had a great time at our hotel and rest assured that I will share your feedback with the rest of my team. In regards of parking your car you do have...

Hockenheim, Germany
Reviewed 2 November 2016

The place was nicely furnished, the price was reasonable, the location close enough to the old city to be convenient. The staff was very nice and the views from the restaurant were great. My problem was the room layout. The shower with frosted walls protruded into the sleeping area, with no light protection and no real door between the spaces....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DeborahHockenheim
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review

Dear DeborahHockenheim, Thank you very much for having taken the time to tell us about your experience you had at our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the hotel´s location was convenient to you. I am however very sorry that the layout of our rooms was not very convenient to you. In regards...

San Francisco
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Not surprising for a Sofitel, this is a luxury hotel with high end amenities, comfortable rooms and good service. It's not in the old town of Luxembourg, but it takes only about 15 minutes to walk across the bridge nearby into that part of the city. The view from the top floor bar is maybe the best in town. It's...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Equities4me
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review

Dear Equities4me, Thank you for having taken the time to review our hotel. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to experience our stunning bar on the 8th floor. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again. Kind regards, Fernando Lopez Lens General Manager

Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

We were just passing through Luxembourg and we book this hotel.it was such a wonderful experience. We had a car and the hotel concierge was exceptionally helpful in parking it at no expense. The night club and the bar also has a great ambience. And the staff at the hotel is so helpful and the rooms are really luxurious and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank saty2
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review

Dear Saty2, Thank you very much for having reviewed our hotel. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will especially inform our Concierge about your satisfaction. It will be a pleasure to have to staying with us again. Kind regards, Fernando Lopez Lens General Manager

547 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (497)
Viewed
Room/Suite (112)
Viewed
Bathroom (61)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (60)
Viewed
View from Room (38)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (177)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
1.2 km away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#5 of 51 in Luxembourg City
643 reviews
1.3 km away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#1 of 51 in Luxembourg City
1,339 reviews
1.8 km away
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
#4 of 51 in Luxembourg City
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#9 of 51 in Luxembourg City
1,595 reviews
0.5 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
0.1 km away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 51 in Luxembourg City
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
L'ETOILE du Top Floor
L'ETOILE du Top Floor
Cuisines: French, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Overlooking the Alzette and Petrusse Valleys, the luxurious Sofitel Luxembourg le Grand Ducal enjoys stunning views of the historic city centre. The hotel is at the centre of the Espace Petrusse complex, a short walk from major multinationals, embassies, major tourist attractions and shopping. On the top floor of the hotel is a high class restaurant serving gourmet cuisine prepared by a star rated chef. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal

Address: 40 Boulevard d'Avranches, Luxembourg City 1160, Luxembourg
Region: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Price Range: $196 - $534 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lux Le Grand Ducal Hotel Luxembourg City
Sofitel Hotel Luxembourg City
Sofitel Luxembourg City
Luxembourg City Sofitel
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal Luxembourg City
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Luxembourg City
#2 Business Hotel in Luxembourg City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
#3 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
#6 Green Hotel in Luxembourg City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“back room were nice and quite”
 of 5 bubbles GosportBlue, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“rooms on 7th floor are a bit noisy early morning because of Breakfast room on 8th”
 of 5 bubbles wimke, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“One that's inside (i.e., any of them)”
  • Very comfortable room. We hated to leave!
 of 5 bubbles 130Doug, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get one with view of valley”
 of 5 bubbles DeborahHockenheim, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 301 had bad air conditioning”
 of 5 bubbles Gary8147, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay