We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Kaiserin Elisabeth

Weihburggasse 3, Vienna 1010 Austria
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (446)
Panoramas (41)
Room & Suite (456)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 28/06/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Kaiserin Elisabeth
Updated 28/06/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#37 of 391 hotels in Vienna
Travellers' Choice
You will find the HOTEL KAISERIN ELISABETH directly in the city center of Vienna, just next to the famous pedestrian zone the Kärntnerstraße and the Graben, only a few steps from St. Stephan`s Cathedral.Our 63 non-smoking rooms are located on four floors. Each room provides bathroom/shower and WC, and is equipped with satellite-TV, flatscreen TV, telephone, radio, minibar, roomsafe, internetaccessW-Lan (free of charge for our guests), and air-condition. Smoking is allowed in an own separate area in our breakfast room.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Baggage storage
Paid private parking nearby
Coffee shop
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Taxi service
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Finnish and 2 more


Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
461Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
239Attractionswithin 0.5 km
1078Reviews21Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 701
  • 299
  • 46
  • 21
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Tripperound wrote a review Sep 2021
Mumbai, India135 contributions40 helpful votes
One of the main plus points of this hotel is its location. Right in the heart of the old town, just steps away from St.Stephen’s Cathedral, yet on a side street that’s not too noisy. The metro is also a couple of steps away so it’s great for connectivity. Being in the heart of the city, there’s also tons of restaurants, take-aways & supermarkets nearby. Check in was quick. The room was large with a powerful air conditioner and a mini fridge. There was no kettle in the room, but after requesting one from reception, it was sent up shortly. The bathroom and toilet are weirdly located at opposite ends of the room. The room key is a fob which is attached to a huge, heavy, clunky keychain which can be annoying to carry around. Maybe the hotel should consider something more convenient. Overall a pleasant and convenient stay. Staff were very polite.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Response from Andrea Bernhauser, Marketing at Hotel Kaiserin Elisabeth
Responded 6 Oct 2021
Dear hotel guest! Thank you very much for your message. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Vienna and especially with us. Unfortunately, due to the anonymity of the rating, I cannot find out which room type you stayed in, either a double room or a superior double room ? I would like to mention that a kettle, including a coffee, tea set and a Nespresso coffee machine is offered as standard in our superior double room ... we are happy to provide a kettle in the double room on request. Our key rings are chosen on purpose. We try to encourage our guests that it would be better to give the key to the reception when leaving the hotel. As our front desk is manned around the clock, 24 hours a day, this is not a problem ... Sure, I can understand that it seemed strange to you because the keychains are really heavy :-) We hope to welcome you soon again , and beg to remain with kindest regards from Vienna HOTEL KAISERIN ELISABETH Andrea Bernhauser Marketing & Sales
Read more
Traveler O wrote a review Jun 2020
Washington DC, District of Columbia625 contributions436 helpful votes
Being our family's first time to Vienna, we wanted to stay in a central area with access to the sights and metro. This hotel had the best location, affordable rates, and professional staff. We had to reserve two rooms due to the size of the group (4 adults, 2 kids) and everything was taken care of ahead of time with roll-away beds and the room setups. Easy booking and great communication with hotel staff beforehand and during our stay. We inquired about tours and concerts, and each time were promptly given detailed options and they took care of booking several outings for us. They made it painless. Very high level of customer service and professionalism on the part of the staff. Location was great. You step outside and you can easily catch an Uber/taxi, walk to the metro or directly to a number of tourist sights, restaurants and shops. Best location for a walking vacation. Very convenient. Rooms were well taken care of and breakfast was good too. Have to pass on special recognition for one of the receptionists, whose name escapes me now but was from one of the Baltic countries (Latvia or Lithuania I believe). He along with Mr. J. Pour and Mr. M. Garofalo were excellent, as were all the staff during our stay. Very grateful for their professionalism and accommodation. Our family had a great visit and hope to come back soon. Highly recommend staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
2 Helpful votes
Response from Andrea Bernhauser, Gästeservice/Empfang at Hotel Kaiserin Elisabeth
Responded 9 Aug 2020
Dear hotel guest! Dear family! Thank you very much for your detailed summary. We are pleased that you were satisfied with our service and our team. It's nice to know that we were able to make your stay that pleasant. Of course, I will also pass on your positive feedback to my colleagues in the breakfast service and to our front desk. Thank you very much for your kind recommendation, you know the personal impressions of our guests are the best advertising we can get. With this in mind, we hope to see you again soon ! On behalf of our entire team we are sending kindest regards from Vienna HOTEL KAISERIN ELISABETH Andres Bernhauser Marketing & Sales
Read more
annelyse wrote a review Feb 2020
Singapore, Singapore6 contributions29 helpful votes
my family and i stayed at hotel kaiserin elisabeth for 4 nights. it was our first time to vienna, so we were all very excited. the hotel has an excellent location, right by the pretty shopping streets! room was nice, clean and spacious. breakfast served was good too, enjoyed it very much. and the lobby is stunning! would be happy to come back to this hotel if we do visit vienna again. thank you for the great experience! :-)
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Response from ABernhauser, Marketing & Sales at Hotel Kaiserin Elisabeth
Responded 14 Feb 2020
Dear hotelguest ! Thank you very much for booking the Hotel Kaiserin Elisabeth for your first visit to Vienna. Obviously, according to your description, you chose the right hotel. We are very happy to receive our kind review. Yes, Vienna has a lot to offer, so you will definitely need another stay, to discover even more :-) We are already looking forward to it and hope to see you again soon. On behalf of our entire team we are sending kindest regards from Vienna. HOTEL KAISERIN ELISABETH Andrea Bernhauser Marketing & Sales
Read more
VSAdventurer wrote a review Jan 2020
Half Moon Bay, California33 contributions20 helpful votes
I’ll start with the positives: Great central location, functional spacious and clean room with high ceilings, breakfast buffet was decent. The front desk staff were generally nice and helpful. Now the weaker points. I noticed the servers at breakfast were slightly nicer and more attentive to “certain guests.” If you’re not Caucasian, and you are shy, or easily triggered, you may not be comfortable here. The front desk staff were generally nice, but the manager, Mr Pour, and his staff, Mr Garofalo, did not handle their mistake in a professional customer oriented manner. I was given a quote for a car to take me and 6 other people to the airport at 5:00am. When I made my inquiry, I was clear that the 6 other people were to be picked up approx one mile away at their AirBnB. I wrote the address on the email to be absolutely clear. Mr Pour confirmed the price of €68 for the van as well the pickup address for my travel mates. This was all documented on the email. When the driver picked me up, he didn’t know about the 6 people and different pickup, so he charged me €22 extra for the pickup. I was flabbergasted because I didn’t have time to call for an Uber. Since I didn’t want to be late for our flight, I ended up paying €90 plus tip for an extra one mile pickup. Unbelievable. The next day, I asked to speak with Mr Pour about the issue. He was not available. After I returned to the States, I finally received an email from another person on behalf of Mr Pour. They stated they spoke with the driver about the matter. Just them speaking to the driver and the email showed they knew I was taken advantage of. They reiterated the €68 was for pickup at the hotel only. And the additional pickup was the cause for the extra charge. BUT I was clear about the pickup arrangement when I inquired about the price. This was written in black and white on the confirmation email. Then they added insult by saying I was 15 minutes late for pickup and my other guests were 15 minutes for the pickup. Wrong. I was texting my son while all this rapid exchange was going on. I can document what time I met the driver and what time my guests were picked up. Someone was lying, and it wasn’t me. Bottom line, the low level customer service was ver disappointing. In their eyes “the customer is always wrong.” I would NOT recommend this hotel. There are plenty of nicer hotels nearby that I will stay at when I return to Vienna.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
2 Helpful votes
Response from ABernhauser, Marketing & Sales at Hotel Kaiserin Elisabeth
Responded 28 Jan 2020
Dear hotel guest! Dear Mrs. V. S. ! We have already communicated directly with you in several emails and commented. Our last mail from January 5th, 2020, however, remained unanswered on your part, we only receive finally your message on Tripadvisor, that's too bad. However, this message does not resolve your issue. In this mail we apologized again for the misunderstanding, and informed you that we will immediately credit the requested EUR 22.00 to your account. So far unfortunately you have not given us your credit card details ... I try to keep it short, of course I spoke to my colleagues in all departments, in order to investigate. We are proud to welcome a wonderful mix of nationalities to our hotel every day. I can personally assure you that every guest will be spoiled equally. We are sorry that you got a different impression here. YES, regular guests who have been our guests for many years, and further come several times a year, also know our long-standing employees very well. So YES, when they meet each other again, it ends up in a warm welcome, or even in an embrace. It's a shame that you felt that differently, but we are sorry for that as well. We can now politely request you again to send us your credit card details in order to resolve this matter. We are looking forward to your reply, and beg to remain with kindest regards from Vienna HOTEL KAISERIN ELISABETH Andrea Bernhauser Marketing & Sales
Read more
Liz P wrote a review Jan 2020
16 contributions10 helpful votes
I randomly (& luckily) chose this hotel for an overnight layover in Vienna without much research. My husband, our pet yorkie & I were more than pleasantly surprised. Location was absolutely perfect...we walked out the front door, made two rights & bam the most gorgeous cathedral was in front of us. The front desk staff was friendly (pet-friendly!), welcoming & helpful. Our room was very clean, spacious & updated. Toiletries are delish (very important to me!). We can't wait to visit Vienna again to spend more time at this lovely hotel. Dankesehr! xo
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
2 Helpful votes
Response from ABernhauser, Marketing & Sales at Hotel Kaiserin Elisabeth
Responded 21 Jan 2020
Dear Mrs. Lizpavlou ! What a great coincidence that you found us - "Servus aus Wien" Even better if this coincidence was more than positive for you, we are very happy about your compliments and that we were able to surprise you that much :-) Yes, we are a dog-friendly hotel, we even have 2 dogs in our office, nice that you appreciate that. Recently we have exchanged our toletries - the new series is called "The Perfumer`s Garden" (Green Tea & Ginger) - current feedback is particularly important for us here, thank you ! So we look forward to welcoming you back soon, and beg to remain with kindest regards HOTEL KAISERIN ELISABETH Andrea Bernhauser Marketing & Sales
Read more
US$131 - US$241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
kaiserin elisabeth vienna, kaiserin elisabeth hotel vienna
AustriaVienna RegionViennaInner City
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Kaiserin Elisabeth
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Kaiserin Elisabeth?
Nearby attractions include Historic Center of Vienna (0.2 km), The Hofburg (0.5 km), and St. Stephen's Cathedral (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Kaiserin Elisabeth?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Kaiserin Elisabeth?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Kaiserin Elisabeth?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Kaiserin Elisabeth?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Kaiserin Elisabeth?
Conveniently located restaurants include Paul, Loca, and Al Borgo.
Does Hotel Kaiserin Elisabeth have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Kaiserin Elisabeth offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hotel Kaiserin Elisabeth located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Vienna.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Kaiserin Elisabeth?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Kaiserin Elisabeth?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Kaiserin Elisabeth?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Finnish.