We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Post

Agoda.comUS$103*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$140*
US$103*
US$140*
US$103*
US$140*
US$103*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Post
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

490 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 201: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Post
 Click to rate
Winterthur, Switzerland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is within a walkable distance from all main interest places (100m away from Scwedenplatz). The staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast is good, but it is basic and always the same, so after three days you start thinking about going to a bakery. The bedrooms are clean and big, but if you don't have a bathroom inside your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank otnamol
Reviewed 20 April 2017

One week! I did not receive any official apology from the hotel !! I booked an en-suite twin room for 9 days, and I have already paid full price before I went there. However, I did not receive respect and I felt a little discrimination!! It was 13 April, while I was taking shower in my bathroom, the cleaner came...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yafan Z
fraihs, Manager at Hotel Post, responded to this review

Well as much as I remeber we met together in the hall and I apologized because of that. Also the facility manager talked personally to you because of that. So I ones again only can say sorry. Best regards Peter Fraihs

County Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Rooms excellent. Food was really great, and all staff were brilliant. Location is superb, in the old quarter of the city. I would certainly recommend a stay here. Within an easy walk of the city, which has so many attractions.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
Cantab girl
Reviewed 20 March 2017

This hotel could be fabulous. Marvellous location, quiet street, near the Ubahn and St Stefan's Platz, wide corridors and huge rooms. Absolutely immaculate bathrooms. Service was adequate, breakfast fairly average in pleasant room which wasn't quite big enough at peak times. Someone cooking eggs would have been a big help as the scrambled eggs were awful. We paid extra for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jadefish
fraihs, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Post, responded to this review

Dear Jadefish, thank you very much for your positive comments. Because of the scrambled eggs I'm very sorry to read that, and we will change that immediately. We do have different business rooms, some with Shower, some with bathtube, and some also having a bidet. As the building is around 110 years old, all rooms are a bit different, but...

Blackburn, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Booked this hotel initially through booking.com and thought we had bathroom facilities bug when printed off page before travelling discovered we had to shard facilities with a whole floor. Tried to change before we left but to no avail. On arrival the manager was so helpful we changed to private facilities for two of our nights on our stay. Apart...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ian G
Belgrade, Serbia
Reviewed 19 February 2017

My friend and I were looking for cheap hotel at Vienna city center. Hotel Post came out as a good deal. It is a very basic hotel but very clean and most importantly just few minutes walk from Stefan platz and other city attractions, restaurants, tourist buses etc. If you plan to spend all day exploring Vienna, this hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarinaC_bg
Moscow, Russia
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights there. Good service, friendly stuff, nice breakfast. Wonderful location near the center of the city for great price. On the other hand I highly recommend you to take slippers because it was really cold once.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SelmoudRU
Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

Excellen location, walking distance from the Stephansdom, very polite staff, nice breakfast. Had a problem with the heating in the room - the staff kindly moved me to a much more spacious room. Clean and comfortable bed. I recommend it and definitely will stay here again when in Vienna!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MLKrstevska
Brighton
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Stayed here for two nights on a leisure trip to Vienna and cant really find fault. Had a superior room with bathroom which was fine and had everything required for a couple of nights. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice, mainly cold but a few hot offerings. Price was very reasonable considering how close the hotel is to many...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JMH123
doha
Reviewed 16 January 2017

The hotel is perfectly placed to explore Vienna. Close to the shopping district, cathedral and river. Ideal location to hop on the Big Bus tours (red, blue, night routes, plus boat and walking tours). Staff were helpful, efficient and knowledgeable. Room was compact, but comfortable and has everything you need.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank justine o

125 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (114)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Old University Quarter
Alma Boutique-Hotel
Alma Boutique-Hotel
#116 of 361 in Vienna
250 reviews
Inner City
Pension Neuer Markt
Pension Neuer Markt
#188 of 361 in Vienna
323 reviews
Inner City
Pension City
Pension City
#129 of 361 in Vienna
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old University Quarter
Kaerntnerhof
Kaerntnerhof
#69 of 361 in Vienna
239 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#22 of 361 in Vienna
1,238 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Wandl
Hotel Wandl
#180 of 361 in Vienna
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old University Quarter

Neighbourhood Profile
Old University Quarter
North of St. Stephen’s Cathedral, Vienna suddenly turns small, winding and medieval, opening up to legendary places such as the Basilisk sculpture at Schönlaterngasse, as well as glamorous baroque façades, courtyards and churches. Take 45 minutes for a casual stroll through Bäckerstrasse, Sonnenfelsgasse, Köllnerhofgasse, Grashofgasse, and Schönlaterngasse. This quarter is packed with stories and legends that will enrich your Vienna experience.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A central location with some nice tradition: Here was formerly the Gasthaus Zum white oxen, it was in later times known as Hotel Zur Stadt London. A house that counted personalities such as Mozart, Joseph Haydn, Friedrich Nietzsche, Richard Wagner, Frédéric Chopin and Leos Janacek to his regulars. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Post

Address: Fleischmarkt 24, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Old University Quarter , Innere Stadt
Price Range: $128 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Post 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel Vienna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Post staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Post staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for the rooms with private bathroom. If you don't, there is only one shower per floor for more than 15 rooms”
otnamol, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go for the superior rooms. Very spacious, and a great big bed !”
S4578AFmartinb, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one in the front. It is a quiet street.”
jadefish, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you request private facilities”
531iang, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Hotel is situated in a very quiet street so you won't have trouble to sleep after exciting day in Vienna”
MarinaC_bg, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$103* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$103
TripAdvisorUS$103
HotelQuicklyUS$140
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates