We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Strandhotel Alte Donau

Show Prices
#166 of 366 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Strandhotel Alte Donau
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 43: English reviews
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was not cheap, we were there during a work conference at the VIC. However, for the price I didn't think it was good value for money. The hairdryer didn't work, the kettle didn't turn off, and the walls were thin so I had to listen to some noisy people next door. Also there is technically a bar but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
Partik, Geschäftsführer at Strandhotel Alte Donau, responded to this review

Dear “Jennifer”, First of all thank you for taking time to write a review. We are sorry that you haven’t been satisfied with your stay although we cannot really follow your arguments. The period of your stay was in very high season during congress time. Compared with other hotel around VIC our prices have been very moderate. You are right,... More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
197 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2016

I stayed at one of their serviced apartments since their hotel rooms were fully booked by the time I was trying to make a reservation. The apartment was huge and could have easily fit a small family. The furnishings and decor were a bit dated but that added to the homey feeling of the place. Ingredients left by previous occupants... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Talampakan
Pune, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2016

I had a most fabulous stay at this hotel; the staff are caring, helpful, courteous and go out of the way in making you feel at home. The location of the hotel in close proximity to the blue Danube and a short walking distance to the nearest metro station makes life very easy, The breakfast is one big nutritious spread... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SHKapoor
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2016

I really enjoyed my stay in this hotel. The rooms were nice and clean, they have very good beds and the family that runs the hotel is very friendly. The hotel is located at a 5 minute walk from the metro station that brings you to the heart of Vienna in a couple of minutes. A small point of improvement... More 

Helpful?
Thank StevenVerstrepen
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
433 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Located only a short walk from 2 Ubahn stations, you can get to anywhere in Vienna easily. The rooms are clean, and the front desk service is excellent. They have a nice buffet breakfast that will more than satisfy and get you started, I found the internet a bit spotty, with sometimes adequate, but other times it was not so... More 

Helpful?
Thank samtrip12345
Partik, Manager at Strandhotel Alte Donau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, many thanks for your nice review. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Sorry for the internet, the provider had some problems with the performance. We would be glad to welcome you again. Best regards from Vienna. Family Partik More 

Frankfurt
Level Contributor
117 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2016

I stayed here for a couple of nights. The room was very nice and especially the bathroom was not only great re design but also high quality equipment. The standard of the truly quiet room and bathroom can easily be compared or let say tops some of the high class big brand hotels. I liked much that there was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank snokie
Partik, Manager at Strandhotel Alte Donau, responded to this review

Dear "snokie" Thanks for your review - we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay! We would be glad to welcome you again any time (and will also provide heavier blankets for you then). Best regards, Family Partik More 

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2016

Overall I highly recommend this hotel. The hotel is excellent in the following aspects - Location, room, cleanliness, service, facilities, food, front desk staff, parking and hospitality. Excellent value for money. Room heater, safe, 24 hrs hot water, TV, free wifi, parking - all OK.

Helpful?
1 Thank JAYANTA20132014
Partik, Inhaber at Strandhotel Alte Donau, responded to this review

Dear Jayanta20132014, Many, many thanks for your recommondation. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Vienna -hopefully soon. Best regards, Family Partik More 

Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2016

This is a small hotel near Danube river and some rooms have a beautiful river view. The room was spacious, clean and cozy, with comfortable bed, and well equipped bathroom. The buffet breakfast excellent, with wide choice of food. They also have a free parking, if you are with car. The location is quiet, but not far from the city... More 

Helpful?
Thank edobosarevic
Partik, Inhaber at Strandhotel Alte Donau, responded to this review

Dear "edobosarevic", We are glad to hear that you had a nice time in Strandhotel Alte Donau. Thanks for your review! Best regards, Family Partik More 

Montrose, Colorado
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2015

The Alte Donau is just a few short metro stops from the heart of Vienna. It is quiet, modern and spotlessly clean. There is even a nice view of the old oxbow of the Danube out the window. The staff is helpful and very friendly. The room appeard brand new and the breakfast was superb. Best of all, the price... More 

Helpful?
Thank 673jaya
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2015

Although the hotel is not in the center of the city, it is very easy to get to the heart of the city near Stephansplatz and Karlsplatz because the hotel is on the U-1 Underground line. The hotel is about a 6-7 minute walk to the Underground station at Alte Donau, and the subway trains run about every 6 minutes... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AshesToProveIt

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Kaisermühlen
Hotel Lenas Donau
Hotel Lenas Donau
#215 of 366 in Vienna
379 reviews
Wahring
Hotel Park Villa
Hotel Park Villa
#198 of 366 in Vienna
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arcotel Kaiserwasser
#119 of 366 in Vienna
605 reviews
Hotel Donaustadt Kagran
#197 of 366 in Vienna
137 reviews
Kaisermühlen
NH Danube City
NH Danube City
#97 of 366 in Vienna
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Strandhotel Alte Donau is a family-run bed and breakfast accommodation with an emphasis on comfort and warm service. The owners personally attend to guests and the hotel’s professional and friendly staff treat guests’ every request with the utmost care and attention and is always happy to assist them with all necessary information they need on Vienna and the city’s endless opportunities for recreation.Guests have the choice of comfortable non-smoking rooms with thoroughly modern décor and interiors. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Strandhotel Alte Donau

Address: Wagramer Strasse 51, Vienna 1220, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Kaisermühlen
Price Range: $168 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strandhotel Alte Donau 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Strandhotel Alte Donau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#42 Business Hotel in Vienna
#73 Family Hotel in Vienna
#120 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Strandhotel Alte Donau staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Bangkok, Thailand

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Strandhotel Alte Donau staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Colleagues indicated I had the better room in the annex”
 of 5 bubbles T1304YCjenniferp, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room with a view of the river”
 of 5 bubbles Talampakan, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Overlooking the Danube”
 of 5 bubbles SHKapoor, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
“upper floor suggested”
 of 5 bubbles samtrip12345, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“Go for any first floor room with river view”
 of 5 bubbles JAYANTA20132014, 1 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay