We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Thon Hotel Polar

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Thon Hotel Polar
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

536 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 276: English reviews
Start your review of Thon Hotel Polar
 Click to rate
Norway
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Partially upgraded and renovated hotel. Coffee machine in the lobby. Integrated with external restaurant. Central, decent breakfast, partly weak wifi coverage, failing to submit an room service, elevator intermittently working.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kvalitetsreise
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Just had standard room since travelling alone - room was small so ok for one. Room was clean and had everything needed. Breakfast was great!! Better variety than seen elsewhere on my trip. Hotel was well located just off the Main Street of Tromso making it close to shops, restaurants and tourist info centre.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank liz C
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We booked a superior room for our 4 nights stay. On arrival it was cold in the room and hot water was not readily available,the phone did not work and wi-fi connection was poor. Despite we told the receptionist about the phone,nobody every fixed it. By the way,the room was clean,space was enough,hotel position is perfect and breakfast is varied,fresh...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andreste2012
Minnesota
Reviewed 1 week ago

Amazing place to stay for a bit, central location, and easy to find on the bus route from the airport. The breakfast buffet in the morning was amazing. That alone would be a reason to stay. Best buffet we have ever seen traveling the planet. Keep up the good work. Once again, thanks for making the trip to the arctic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank obonga
Trondheim
Reviewed 1 week ago

Quick and efficient check inn. The room was spacious with filled up minibar, large TV screen with both TV channels as internet. Good bed. Bathroom ok, but not very clean (hairs in the shower and really dirty glasses in the bathroom). The breakfast was great. Great choice of bread, cereals, vegetables, eggs fish fruit etc. They also made me a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tomtomnor
Grimsby
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Could not fault the hotel in any way whatsoever. Everyone was super friendly and helpful. The included breakfast was amazing. The rooms were spotless and well appointed. The hotel was well situated right in the centre of the town and the airport bus stops just around the corner. Thoroughly recommend this to anybody.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, it is very nice to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I'm glad you liked our hotel and all our facilities. Thank you for pointing out the breakfast and evening meal. We always wish to serve all of our guests Norwegian high quality products, I'm glad you enjoyed it....

Longyearbyen, Norway
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is conveniently located in Tromsø centrum, close to many attractions, which is why I have stayed there many times. It is a "discount" hotel, offering a reasonabe place to stay at reasonable prices. On my most recent visit in February 2017, it was one of few hotels in town with rooms available, so the room rates were extremely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review of your stay with us. We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with certain aspect of the service we provide. You can be assured that your remarks concerning your last stay have been discussed with the people concerned and appropriate actions have been taken in order to avoid such...

Bergen, Norway
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As a Thon Gold member I have visited a lots of Thon hotels in Norway. Thon hotel Polar in The Artic Capital Tromsø is one of the very best I have ever visited! The hotel is situated in downtown Tromsø, and all the main sights are just a few minutes away. The airport bus stops right outside the hotel. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Svein-Magne_Tunli
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review

Dear Svein-Magne Tunli, Thank you for your top rating and for taking time to write a review after your stay with us at Thon Hotel Polar. I’m happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our location has been convenient for your visit to Tromso. Glad that our breakfast was able to amaze you and...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent base for our stay while my husband ran in the Polar night Half Marathon on January 7th. Very clean and practical accommodation and very good value for money. A very tasty and plentiful breakfast buffet. Especially liked the direct access to Egon restaurant which was superb! Easy access to local places of interest and the harbour etc Mike will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CathAllen
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review

Dear CathAllen. Greetings and many thank you for sharing your experience with us. I'm happy to hear you had a good stay at Thon Hotel Polar. Thank you for pointing out our location, facilities and not to mention the Egon Restaurant. Happy to hear that Mike and his son is coming back for Midnight sun Marathon in june:) Welcome back!

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very central hotel, with basic amenities. Very clean. The staff were very friendly, particularly Christian, the night receptionist. He could not have been more helpful. Offered us lots of help and advice. Nothing was too much trouble. Would recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank The-New-Yorker-Guest
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review

Dear The-New-Yorker-Guest. Thank you so much for your kind review! I'm so happy to read you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Especially pleasing are your comments about our staff and particularly Christian, ther are truly amazing and it is a pleasure working with them every day. We hope to see you again, welcome back!

167 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (143)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.7 km away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.5 km away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#4 of 18 in Tromso
657 reviews
0.4 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0.7 km away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.6 km away
Thon Hotel Tromso
Thon Hotel Tromso
#8 of 18 in Tromso
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Polar

Address: Groennegata 45, Tromso 9008, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Price Range: $184 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Polar 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Thon Hotel Polar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Tromsø
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Tromso
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thon Hotel Polar staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
1 month ago
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Thon Hotel Polar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room on a high floor away from the streets if possible.”
  • room no 637
  • room no 637
  • room no 637
  • View from room no 637 - artic light at sunset.
 of 5 bubbles Svein-Magne_Tunli, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“1st floor - you don't need the elevator from the lobby and and breakfast / gym is on second floor, also just a few steps.”
 of 5 bubbles iGex, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Breakfast is served on 3rd floor so 2nd floor is perfect.”
 of 5 bubbles mummyjade87, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for a polar bear room... love that waallpaper :-)”
 of 5 bubbles frodelaggo, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Check the room first, because they are very different, but mixed up allover the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Penguin888, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5