We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

340 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand
See the most recent reviews
Showing 183: English reviews
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
106 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2014

The Caledonien hotel is not what it used to be. It was a monument in the city of Kristiansand, but today it is totally out of date. The hotel should have been degraded and priced in a lower range. Everything is worn and uncozy. Even the bed was worn, and looked like a flat tire. On the positive side, the... More 

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Jarle T
patrickadolfsen, Sales Manager at Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand, responded to this review

Dear CharlesSummer. Thank you so much for your review. I regret to read that your stay with us was unsatisfying for you. We have lately done som renovation work and this will continue to maintain the standard we want to. I'm glad to read that you enjoyed our lovely view. On behalf of my team here I hope that we... More 

Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2014

I have just stayed at the Caledonian for 4 weeks the location is very good for everything, The Restaurant serves really nice food I ate here most nights and the menu changes, the lobby and Telford bars were both fine with friendly helpful staff, the bath rooms in the main hotel are a little short of space, the annexe rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike T
patrickadolfsen, Sales Manager at Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand, responded to this review

Dear Cheekochow, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review after your long stay with us. I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. The fact that you stayed for so long and really tested our hotel makes me even happier to read that the review is so detailed and positive. Thank you... More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2014

Pro's: Nice location and sea view from several rooms. Close to the nice (and expensive) seafood market and 5 min's walk to the main shopping street which is surrounded by dozens of fine restaurants. 15-20 minutes from the airport in a taxi. The reception staff is as friendly and helpful as the breakfast staff is not.... Con's: The whole hotel... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
patrickadolfsen, Sales Manager at Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand, responded to this review

Dear MIchael M, Thank you so much for leaving us a review after your stay. I regret to read that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We work every day to meet and exceed our guests expectations and will use your review in this work. I hope that you will give us another chance in the future... More 

Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2014

Nice location in the towncentre of Kristiansand, ok rooms and friendly staff. Very good breakfast but poor parking-area. Had to park my car another place, and with 3 kids I would really prefer an outside parking near the hotel.

Helpful?
Thank ThmzG
patrickadolfsen, Sales Manager at Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand, responded to this review

Dear ThmzG, Thank you for your review after your stay with us. I'm glad to read that liked our location, rooms and staff but regret to read that the parking facilities nearby the hotel was not up to your hope and expectations. Parking is availiable outside the main entrance, but unfortunately this one is very popular. The indoor parking house... More 

Twinsburg, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Spent three nights at this hotel due to the convenience to our meetings and what is a good location in town. The lobby at first would lead you to believe the hotel is fairly new, however the rest of the hotel tells the true story. The rooms were a C- to be very fair. Bathroom was straight from 1970 and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank William2014
patrickadolfsen, Sales Manager at Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand, responded to this review

Dear William2014, Thank you so much for writing a review after your stay with us. I'm glad to reaad that you enjoyed our central location. I regret to read that we did not meet your expectations regarding the rest. I know that we have had an inspection from the WIFI provider regarding the problem with internett and we will improve... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Radisson idealy placed to marina and for exploring the many town resturaunts. Lovely town and surroundings marina, town center sometimes having free music shows and activities. Try the whale meat at Sorensons resturaunt opposite church in the center.

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank ellwoodt
patrickadolfsen, Sales Manager at Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand, responded to this review

Dear ellwoodt, Thank you so much for leaving a review after your stay with us. I'm glad to read that you enjoyed Kristiansand and our convenient location. We look forward to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Patrick Adolfsen Sales Manager More 

Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Good location next to the seaport, especially if you travel by boat. Rooms are a bit outdated but spacious and cozy. Very efficient reception and convenient parking. Breakfast was ok quality. Overall recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank U1traviolet
patrickadolfsen, Sales Manager at Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand, responded to this review

Dear U1traviolet, Thank you so much for your review. I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we can welcome you back to us when your travels brings you to Kristiansand again. Sincerely, More 

Ardrishaig, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed for one night after a long day out at the zoo. The room was a bit tired (trims damaged, floors and walls marked etc.) but it was clean, the bed was comfortable and we had a superb view over the water. Breakfast was tasty and there was a good variety. The staff were friendly and polite and Kristiansand... More 

Helpful?
Thank BettyPlatypus
patrickadolfsen, Sales Manager at Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand, responded to this review

Dear BettyPlatypus, Thank you for your nice review. I am glad to read that you liked our central location and breakfast. I hope we can welcome you back to us when your travels brings you to Kristiansand in the future. Kind Regards Patrick Adolfsen Sales Manager More 

kristiansand, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had booked this hotel because it was cheap, now we understand why. The hotel was old and noisy, on the web site we booked the room it was claimed that the rooms were soundless, but this is not the thruth, the discotecs was almost in the room. We asked the hotel reception 2 times, and they replied ok they... More 

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence F
patrickadolfsen, Sales Manager at Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand, responded to this review

Dear Lawrence F, First of all, thank you for writing a review after your stay with us. I regret to read that your stay with us was not as pleasant as we want it to be. I can see that we several thing to work with here and please note that I will forward them all to the correct departments.... More 

Travellers are raving about these Kristiansand hotels

Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Radisson Caledonian Blue Hotel Me and My a Lovely wife visited Kristiansand for 3 days and we have decided to stay Radisson Caledonian Blue. This Hotel is been there for over 40 years ,so is bit old but still Rooms were quite comfortable. Stuff in the hotel were really nice,friendly and helpful They rent us bicycles with free of charge... More 

Helpful?
Thank MarcinBujo
patrickadolfsen, Sales Manager at Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand, responded to this review

Dear MarcinBujo, Thank you so much for your nice review. I am so pleased to read that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us. On behalf of everyone here at Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, welcome back. Best Regards Patrick Adolfsen Sales Manager More 

142 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kristiansand hotels
0.4 km away
Comfort Hotel Kristiansand
Comfort Hotel Kristiansand
#3 of 17 in Kristiansand
480 reviews
0.2 km away
Clarion Hotel Ernst
Clarion Hotel Ernst
#2 of 17 in Kristiansand
542 reviews
0.8 km away
Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
#4 of 17 in Kristiansand
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Norge
BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Norge
#7 of 17 in Kristiansand
207 reviews
0.6 km away
Yess! Hotel Kristiansand
Yess! Hotel Kristiansand
#5 of 17 in Kristiansand
305 reviews
0.4 km away
Sjoglott Hotel
Sjoglott Hotel
#8 of 17 in Kristiansand
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel is situated by the seafront down town Kristiansand. The hotel is full of atmosphere and reflects a high standard and service throughout. Come and join us. Experience something different. We are not just an ordinary hotel. We can taylor anything from rock climbing to boat trips or salmon fishing. We suggest - You approve - We arrange it. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand

Address: Vestre Strandgate 7, Kristiansand 4610, Norway
Region: Norway > Southern Norway > Vest-Agder > Kristiansand
Price Range: $123 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Kristiansand
Kristiansand Radisson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best views would be on the higher floors and facing the water.”
 of 5 bubbles LinziO, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Fantastic view at 11th floor front door!”
  • Early morning, after a heavy rain shower!
  • Night darkness, July, 2016!
  • Against to harbor area, evening hours
  • Against to harbor, late evening
 of 5 bubbles RenginKutbayYazitas, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a view towards the marina”
 of 5 bubbles Knudsen_P, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
“try to ask for top floor with sea facing rooms”
 of 5 bubbles RajendraRane, 2 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Best location in Kristiansand”
 of 5 bubbles peanmo, 31 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay