We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

First Hotel Marin

Expedia.comUS$200*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$233*
US$200*
US$208*
US$233*
US$200*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
First Hotel Marin
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,196 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for First Hotel Marin
See the most recent reviews
Showing 783: English reviews
Oslo
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice hotel, with nice rooms. Great location in the heart of bergen. Very friendly staff. The rooms with seaside view is great. Breakfast is ok. Limited selection of hot and cold dishes. Small gym and sauna in the basement.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Atle S
Ingrid N, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review

Dear Atle S, Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding your stay at First Hotel Marin. Our guests' feedback is very important to us, and I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are continuosly striving to improve our product, so please contact me directly if you have any further comments regarding the breakfast....

Stavanger, Norway
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First Hotel Marin in Bergen is a Easy choice for me on my business travel's. Value for the money. Nice and friendly staff, Parking is very close to the hotel.Good typical Norwegian Hotel buffet breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 752kjetilj
Ingrid N, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review

Dear 752kjetilj, Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding your stay at First Hotel Marin. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and felt well taken care of by our staff during your stay with us. I will naturally share this positive feedback with my dear colleagues. I look forward to wish you welcome back...

PRATO
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent location. Hotel chosen because ivery close to the start/finish line and the expo of the Bergen City Marathon which is in Bryggen (Old town). It's not on the seafront (50 m far) so it's quiet too. Bus stop to/from airport is very close too. Room was very clean, breakfast good (no croissants or other pastries). Mattress average.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank LorenzoFM
Ingrid N, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review

Dear LorenzoFM, Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding your stay at First Hotel Marin. Our guests' feedback is very important to us, and I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We offer rooms with adjustable mattresses, and would be happy to assign you one of these on your next visit. I look forward...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. It's conveniently located 1 block from the historic Bryggen wharf area, and within easy walking distance of many central Bergen attractions including the fish market, the Hanseatic Museum, Bergenhus Fortress, the Bryggen Museum, the Floybanen incline railway, and many other sites, shops and restaurants. The staff were all extremely friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ERFSU82
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

wer near Bergen centrum, out room had a view to Fisketorget. The first day there where to low capasity on the brekfast - empty plates for several food types. The day aftyer it was OK. Some noise from Fisketorget, but thats the price you have to pay to get a view.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 56gisleb
Ingrid N, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review

Dear 56gisleb, Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding your stay at First Hotel Marin. Our guests' feedback is very important to us, and I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry that the breakfast ran out of certain items on your first morning, I have brought this to the attention of...

Hamar, Norway
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We chose superior room With harbour view , view was Nice otherwise room was ordinary , bathroom Inventory was inadequate for a superior room . Bathroom was too small for the room of suoerior qyality. No restuarant for dinner in hotel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tripssr
Ingrid N, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review

Dear tripssr, Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay at First Hotel Marin. I appreciate very much that you took the time to evaluate us. Please do not hesitate to contact me should you have further comments to your stay or to help us improve our product. We are currently planning refurbishment of the restaurant, and we...

Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice location near the town centre, but car park prices were some of the most expensive we experienced in Norway! Great breakfast buffet, you can make your own waffles, what a treat! Helpful staff and free use of computer in reception if you have "smashed your tablet"!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham T
Ingrid N, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review

Dear Graham T, Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding your stay at First Hotel Marin. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and felt well taken care of by our staff during your stay with us. I will naturally share this positive feedback with my dear colleagues. I look forward to wish you welcome...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Central hotel in the heart of Bergen. Very comfortable beds in spacious rooms, liked the bath tub! Strange for a chain not to manage to offer bacon with the eggs in the morning, apart from that: I slept very well and will probably be back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 719tone
Ingrid N, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review

Dear 719tone, Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay at First Hotel Marin. I appreciate very much that you took the time to evaluate us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your bed and the bath tub. I am sorry that we did not offer bacon during your stay, we had some issues with our...

Kristiansand, Norway
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beds had clearly gone through several years of various usage - they should have been dumped 10 years ago.. Breakfast was a very disappointing experience, With only the basics. Management should take a study trip and see what other Norwegian hotels offers in 2017!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Iver H
Ingrid N, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review

Dear Iver H, Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay at First Hotel Marin. I am sorry that you did not have the experience you had hoped for during your stay, and I thank you for the oportunity to rectify these matters. We will start renovations of the hotel in October, for public areas as well as...

Sydney, NSW
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed in standard room, once again with sliding ceiling like First Hotel Mayfair of Copenhagen but room here was much bigger Single room's bed is like folded extra bed in many hotels. I couldn't sleep and I am having a back pain now which is not a good to get especially when I am going to Norway in nutshell...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ajit_from_Australia
Ingrid N, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review

Dear Ajit_from_Australia, Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay at First Hotel Marin. I appreciate very much that you took the time to evaluate us. I am sorry to hear that your bed was not comfortable. We do offer rooms with an adjustable mattress, and we would be happy to asign you one of these should you...

253 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (224)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (91)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 46 in Bergen
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
The Hanseatic Hotel
#11 of 46 in Bergen
577 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#4 of 46 in Bergen
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
First Hotel Marin is a classic hotel situated in the city center of Bergen. The unique location of the hotel is on the famous "Bryggen" in Bergen which is on UNESCOs world-heritage list. Marin have well-equipped rooms, conference facilities as well as steambaths, sauna and a gym. Our rooms are charming and welcoming, some with wonderful views over Bryggen. Treat yourself to a little luxury and enjoy our spacious suites and come home to some extra comfort after a busy day. First Hotel Marin is a perfect match for both business and pleasure. Welcome to First Hotel Marin in Bergen. Centrally located and renovated 2013/2015 Rooms with view of the harbour Parking Free WiFi Free Breakfast ... more   less 

Additional Information about First Hotel Marin

Address: Rosenkrantzgaten 8, Bergen 5003, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Price Range: $200 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Marin 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your First Hotel Marin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Marin
First Hotel Bergen
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from First Hotel Marin staff and other travellers.
28 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from First Hotel Marin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best views are over the harbor. Really nice at night with the lights”
amms2012, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“The suite is amazing if you want to splurge”
sarav788, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“All rooms should be fine”
ANorway, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try 6 floor facing the Mountains”
marcelb425, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get a room overlooking the harbor.”
280rayt, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$200* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$208
Orbitz.comUS$200
ElvolineUS$233
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates