We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

First Hotel Marin

Save
Traveller (272)
Room & Suite (125)
Dining (8)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent27%
  • Very good39%
  • Average19%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“great location”(150 reviews)
“fish market”(89 reviews)
“family suite”(13 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Suites
Bar/Lounge
Fitness centre
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,400)
There are newer reviews for First Hotel Marin
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
903 results
Traveller rating
267
333
165
92
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
267
333
165
92
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationfish marketfamily suitespacious roomcentral locationbuffet breakfastfree coffeenice staybryggen areacomfortable hotelfew minutes walkdouble bedtop floormini barwafflesairport busmacon
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
241 - 245 of 903 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Nicest hotel and best value in Norway, The rooms were huge the staff was extremely friendly and helpful we had stayed in a Radisson the night before and now I wish we had stayed at first hotel Marin both nights in Bergen.More

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com
Thank markgY1733XM
Response from Bjørghild F, General Manager at First Hotel MarinResponded 29 September 2016

Dear markgY1733XM, Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding your stay at First Hotel Marin. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and felt well taken care of by our staff during your stay with us. I will naturally share...More

Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

Torn carpet, battered paint, shower over bath which sprayed more on the floor than you, poor housekeeping as in dirty, and car noise made this hotel a poor choice in Bergen. Plus was helpful staff and great location but no way compensates for the negatives....More

Thank debOz56
Response from Bjørghild F, General Manager at First Hotel MarinResponded 28 September 2016

Dear debOz56, Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay with us at First Hotel Marin. I really do appreciate that you took the time to evaluate us, and I am very sorry that you did not have the experience you had hoped...More

Reviewed 23 September 2016

The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were 6 family members traveling, and we had 3 rooms. The rooms were very nice, and we had a quiet stay. The central location was great for everything we wanted to do. We also enjoyed the breakfast...More

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com
Thank tpalermini
Response from Bjørghild F, General Manager at First Hotel MarinResponded 27 September 2016

Dear tpalermini, Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding your stay at First Hotel Marin. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and felt well taken care of by our staff during your stay with us. I will naturally share...More

Reviewed 23 September 2016

My basic requirements for a room is that it is quiet and that the bed is comfortable. My room met neither of those requirements. It was located on the second floor next to a bar and restaurant which remained noisy until about 11:30pm. It was...More

Thank Larry W
Response from Bjørghild F, General Manager at First Hotel MarinResponded 26 September 2016

Dear Larry W, Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay with us at First Hotel Marin. I really do appreciate that you took the time to evaluate us, and I am very sorry that you did not have the experience you had...More

Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

This place is really nice. The rooms are spacious,clean, and comfy. The breakfast is outstanding. The rates are reasonable. It is centrally located to shopping, bars, and the heart of Bergen. A great choice if you are planning a trip to Bergen.More

Thank Stendel
Response from Bjørghild F, General Manager at First Hotel MarinResponded 26 September 2016

Dear Stendel, Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding your stay at First Hotel Marin. Our guests' feedback is very important to us, and I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to wish you welcome back...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Bergen
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Breakfast included
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Business Centre with Internet Access
Breakfast included
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Things to do
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$169 - US$315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$169 - US$315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (272)
Room & Suite (125)
Dining (8)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Stephd167b
10 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Rob M | Reviewed this property |
Anne Madam is nearby, very casual, reasonably priced and food was fine. We also ate at Ruccola, it was more formal, dearer, but also great food.
1
Vote
David G
4 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Chris37111 | Reviewed this property |
You can also get the light railway to the city centre
0
Votes
ruchirricky
22 December 2017|
Answer
Response from Trek-Always | Reviewed this property |
If you ask at the train station this is easy to find out. I don't remember numbers and names, especially in Norwegian. Have fun.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Ask for a room with a harbor view, bur it still will be dirty and dusty, I assume...."
Read review
"6th floor rooms have a partially sloping ceiling, which may not be ideal if you are tall!"
Read review
"go for one of the rooms on the higher floors for the best view"
Read review
"Rooms in the Bryggen section have nice views of the harbour."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing