We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Volsdalen Camping

Booking.comUS$54*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Volsdalen Camping
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 15: English reviews
Start your review of Volsdalen Camping
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed for a night in early season. The two young guys have only recently taken over the campsite, and when we asked them about the bad reviews they acknowledged there had been difficulties with the previous owner but that they're trying their best to make the necessary improvements. We could have a look around the campsite before deciding whether...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elisa R
Reviewed 20 September 2016

The service building was not clean at all!!! From very helpfull receptionist we got a lot of tips about Ålesund. We came there at night and it was difficult to find reception because almost no lights . Must to make some sigh on the entrance. Takk for oss!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NataliaV1
Management response:

Thank you for Your feedback. We just took over this campsite, and Your feedback is very valuable tu us. We will definitely work on cleaner facilities, more lights and better signs. Thank you - Ole Henrik

Europe
Reviewed 3 August 2016

If you like the gipsy style camping, rush to the Volsdalen Camping. With only 8 dirty, out-dated showers and toilets, a nauseous dark and grey water disposal, Romani and migrants roaming the campsite’s facilities and extensive promiscuity between motorhomes or caravans (sometimes less then a meter), it has it all. There’s a women-only toilet, but also used by men. Using...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TeamDetour
Management response:

Thank you for Your feedbak. We have just taken over this campsite and Your feedback is very valuable for us. We acknowledge the challenges you describe and are working hard to adjust them. I do sincerely hope that you enjoyed Your visit to Ålesund despite what you describe her. Thank you- Ole Henrik

Orebro, Sweden
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We were a little unsure about staying here after seeing some of the reviews but we are super glad we did stay. We set up our tent where we had a clear, uninterrupted view of the fjord, just stunning! Sure we had 2 other tents beside us but we were in the only campground in one of the most popular...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ChrysalisMegan
Management response:

Thank you for Your feedback. I do hope we can get some more area for tents til next summer, as we see an increase in happy campers every year. I will give Kristoffer a shout out from you. Thank you and welcome back- Ole Henrik

Trondheim, Norway
Reviewed 23 July 2016

Initially put off by a lot of bad reviews, we still decided to try this place as it's the camping closest to Ålesund and it's a long drive to the next closest. It's narrow. It's cramped. It's busy. But still we feel it's far better than it's bad reviews. We came with at 8.5m caravan. That's pushing the limits for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruslefot
Management response:

Thank you for Your feedback. We take the safety very serious and will make the spaces better marked next summer. I hope you had a great experience of Ålesund :) Thank you- Ole Henrik

breda
Reviewed 23 June 2016

We rented a simple cabin cath. B. The price was higher than usual and the cabin was not very well maintained. The shutters were brooken en everything was a bit shabby. The camping is well situated on walking distance of the centre of the town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wilhelmusBreda
Management response:

Thank you for your feedback. We have recently taken over this campsite and Your feedback is very valuable to us. I acknowledge all our shortcomings you mention here, and we are dedicated to do better next summer. I hope you had a great experience of Ålesund. Thank you- Ole Henrik

Uppsala, Sweden
Reviewed 14 October 2015

So, this trailer park is for the most part inhabited by alcoholics, prostitutes and hard drug addicts. As good as none of the appliances work here. One of the four laundromats is sometimes possible to use, one of the males toilets works (the 20+ others are locked up to save on cleaning resources, one has had a broken light for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alex11111112013
Oslo
Reviewed 27 July 2015

I wish to contribute to a better score than already given. We have a caravan and really enjoyed the stay. The place is crowded, so make sure you get the required minimum of three meters between the units. It will be wise to arrive not to late. The camp has a big living room and sufficient toilet and shower capacity....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OlaOslo
Ireland
Reviewed 16 November 2014

Brilliant location - short drive from the town. Great views over the water, with access to the water too and a small beach and diving boards. We put in our sea kayaks from the campsite and paddled into Alesund, left the kayaks at the steps by the water across from the museum and wandered about the town for the day....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Maggiebui
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 12 November 2014

We have travelled around Norway with a tent quite a few times. This was maybe the worst place to camp for a tent. Very very limited place for tents. A small shelf actually. The tents are so close that the strings on the tents cross each other! The fire regulations are definitely forgotten her! One tent door almost open up...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank EmNaMi

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (15)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alesund hotels
2.1 km away
First Hotel Atlantica
First Hotel Atlantica
#7 of 12 in Alesund
283 reviews
2.3 km away
Scandic Alesund
Scandic Alesund
#4 of 12 in Alesund
563 reviews
1.9 km away
Scandic Parken
Scandic Parken
#2 of 12 in Alesund
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Best Western Baronen Hotell
2.2 km away
Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
1.9 km away
Scandic Scandinavie
Scandic Scandinavie
#8 of 12 in Alesund
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Volsdalen Camping

Address: Sjoemannsvegen 1, Alesund 6008, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Alesund
Price Range: $78 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Volsdalen Camping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Volsdalen Camping staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are no reservations here, but call ahead and ask if they have a spot. Furthest inn is quieter and still close to the facilities.”
Ruslefot, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
1 of 1
Booking.com
US$54* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$54
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates