We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Scandic Alesund

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Scandic Alesund
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

550 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Scandic Alesund
See the most recent reviews
Showing 258: English reviews
Taiwan
Reviewed 3 September 2015

The room is big and comfortable and clean. Some of the rooms face the sea view. The staff is friendly and helpful. One thing i want to complain about is the check-in procedure. I've arrived at the hotel at 1300, and the staff told me to come back at 1500 because my room wasn't ready. I've come back to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Josephine W
Los Altos Hills, California
Reviewed 1 September 2015

This is a nice, clean, average place to stay with a great breakfast and at least some rooms overlooking the harbor. It unfortunately seems to cater to the tour buses, so you have to deal with the ebb and flow and clutter associated with that. I would go back, unless some other review caught my eye!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K80User
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nuno K
Silje Viken S, General Manager at Scandic Alesund, responded to this review

Jerusalem
Reviewed 31 August 2015

We reserved a superior room in this hotel because of the view. the view was beautiful but in order to see it we had to sit in front of the window and there was only one chair and a very low coffee table. every thing else was even worse. When we arrived we asked for a trolley to get our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tlinit
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewed 27 August 2015

I'd give this hotel 3.5 stars if I could. I'd say t's above a 3, btu not quite a 4. To start, I would definitely stay here again. But...there are definitely opportunities for improvement. Pros: 1. We stayed in a Junior suite that overlooked the harbor. This made for great view of the water and stunning sunsets. The room had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie255VT
Reviewed 25 August 2015 via mobile

This hotel was a good first hotel to the start of our trip. Located on the edge of town, easy walk and beautiful views of the waterfront. Our room was located on the higher floor with a rounded window alcove, windows from floor to ceiling, very unique and interesting. The hotel was a standard, easy hotel, no frills and nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Frans V
San Diego, California
Reviewed 22 August 2015

Can I please have a bath mat, wash rag and bar of soap? Room not the cleanest. Sheets frayed. Old flat pillows. No shampoo, hand cream, bar soap, bath mat or wash rag. Holes in the wall. Slow check in - only one person for 5 parties checking in. No parking. Great view, pulled dirty chair over to window, sat...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Pablo B
Silje Viken S, General Manager at Scandic Alesund, responded to this review

Dear guest. Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. I am sorry to hear that the stay did not live up to you expectations, and that the room came across as dirty. This is not how it is supposed to be, and I have taken your feeback to the roomcleaningdepartment. Due to our enviromental commitment we...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 17 August 2015

Scandic Alesund is a great value for a family vacation in the beautiful city of Alesund. We arrived right before six and the check in was prompt. We were starved at the time and was pleased to find complimentary soup served till 6 pm. The room was spacious and clean for the three of us (parent and one child). The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jimmy C
Heist-op-den-Berg, Belgium
Reviewed 14 August 2015

I stayed overnight in this hotel, the room was really good, nice view , however most things around where closed in summer, the parking I tried but there was a problem with the ticketing machine. But the worst is when I went to dinner, a guy next to me ordered a burger and fries, got served withing 10 minutes. Me...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hagar2791
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 13 August 2015

Again, if you just want to sleep, you will be satisfied. Nice cozy room, boil water, instant coffee, tea are on the table. Bed were comfortable, shower was fine. Corridor of the hotel is a bit old fashioned, we took the wrong elevator so we ended up at the second floor, but we had the rooms on the 5th. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank preszi

236 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (210)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (99)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alesund hotels
0.1 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen
0.4 km away
Scandic Parken
Scandic Parken
#2 of 12 in Alesund
402 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Brosundet
Hotel Brosundet
#5 of 12 in Alesund
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund
0.3 km away
First Hotel Atlantica
First Hotel Atlantica
#7 of 12 in Alesund
277 reviews
0.5 km away
Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Scandic Ålesund! Stay at the Scandic Ålesund hotel overlooking the harbour in central Alesund.Unwind in the sauna and enjoy the waterside views from our bar and restaurant. Close to the commercial district, the hotel has 8 meeting rooms. The Alesund Museum is just 5 minutes' walk away and the Fjellstua view point 2,4 kilometers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Scandic Alesund

Address: Moloveien 6, Alesund 6001, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Alesund
Price Range: $125 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Alesund 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Alesund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Alesund Hotel Alesund
Scandic Alesund Ålesund
Scandic Alesund Hotel Ålesund
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Alesund
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Scandic Alesund staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Scandic Alesund staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the 4th and 5th floor with harbor view are excellent to stay”
, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't trust the images on their website.”
768bencef, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go at the weekend!”
Mandles2014, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Aks for a room with a view of the harbour. It's worth it!”
Elfworld, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Take one from the upper floors, facing the dock.”
SariT795, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5