We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

758 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang
See the most recent reviews
Showing 676: English reviews
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Reviewed 29 March 2015 via mobile

Checked in to this hotel 2 days back & I can say I won't return to this hotel anymore. Hotel staffs were not proactive at all. The shower in my room has no hot water. TV channels were not compatible with the tv guide provided. Safebox was locked so I'm not able to use it. No more returning.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shin85
Flamingo2009, Front Office Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Your feedback are valuable to our teams. Currently we are working on the issues you have mentioned to us. I do trust that your next visit will be a different experience. If you need assistance with your room reservation please feel free to contact me directly. Thank you Best regards Suresh Kumar Nagaiah Front Office...

Reviewed 26 March 2015 via mobile

Be prepared to be blown away when you step in the lobby. It is huge and spacious and you can feel the sea breeze gently caressing your face as you check in. The room is standard, but the real deal is the buffet breakfast! Amazing choices with friendly staff. Try the nasi lemak special, you won't be disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Glyn H
Flamingo2009, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us this feedback. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are always working towards providing better travel experience for you and you will definitely notice a difference on you next visit. We trust you have a pleasant journey home and we look forward to having you again in...

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 21 March 2015

Very nice hotel overall. Went with my family and had a little mix up at first, they put me in a smoking room when I clearly said non smoking in my reservation. Finally they put me and my mother in non smoking room on 15th floor and my niece and her family in a smoking room two floor below us....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Warsi G
Flamingo2009, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us this feedback. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are always working towards providing better travel experience for you and you will definitely notice a difference on you next visit. We trust you have a pleasant journey home and we look forward to having you again in...

Reviewed 21 March 2015

I'm Not going to mention some of the previous review niggles,except to say that the hotel is in Asia and therefore different to what Europeans expect,that apart we found the hotel clean,the staff friendly and helpful, the only issue we had was the price of the drinks in the bar,,otherwise we would recommend this hotel,getting there from the airport could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dawnprix
Flamingo2009, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us this feedback. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are always working towards providing better travel experience for you and you will definitely notice a difference on you next visit. We trust you have a pleasant journey home and we look forward to having you again in...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2015

we have been here a few times, it's always a magical place to visit,sandy beaches offering a variety of activities.The hotel is wonderfully clean and the staff are very happy and welcoming,they can't do enough for,you. Anyone going there for the first time would certainly not be their last.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eleen c
Flamingo2009, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us this feedback. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are always working towards providing better travel experience for you and you will definitely notice a difference on you next visit. We trust you have a pleasant journey home and we look forward to having you again in...

Voorschoten, The Netherlands
Reviewed 18 March 2015 via mobile

Nice hotel, fully sprinklerd, but... When the elevators are very busy we always check the fire stairs. At level two the escape was blocked by tables, chairs, boxes and administration. That's not what you want in a 4* hotel, with 17 levels. Manager, do something about the mindset of your personnel.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RKBDK
Flamingo2009, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you found the hotel to be nice. I will share your feedback with my team and work towards improving the areas you have mentioned. We trust you have a pleasant journey home and we look forward to having you again in Flamingo Hotel by the beach Penang. Thank you Best regards...

Reviewed 17 March 2015

good location hotel close to the beach,but about 20 minute away from town, nice large clean room can be a bit noisy depend on the side of the room your in. good choice of breakfast with friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keithlee1959
Flamingo2009, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us this feedback. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are always working towards providing better travel experience for you and you will definitely notice a difference on you next visit. We trust you have a pleasant journey home and we look forward to having you again in...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 March 2015

Just returned from my second visit ( 28 nights ) to the Flamingo hotel. Since last year the reception, lounge, bar area and shops have been totally renovated and look superb. This is a mid priced hotel on the beach at Tanjung Bungah situated at the north end of the island. The staff are superb, friendly and helpful. The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Brian R
Flamingo2009, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us this feedback. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are always working towards providing better travel experience for you and you will definitely notice a difference on you next visit. We trust you have a pleasant journey home and we look forward to having you again in...

Reviewed 8 March 2015

Nice hotel but needs some update to their info as we asked for a late check out at 2.00 & were told we had to pay after 1.00 , this is not stated in their info, it says until 2.00 is free.Internet very slow but ok.Safes in both our rooms didn't work & had to ask 3 times to get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
Flamingo2009, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take your feedback very seriously and will work towards improvements of what was lacking immediately. We trust you have a pleasant journey home and we look forward to having you again in Flamingo Hotel by the beach Penang. Thank you Best regards Ong Hai Leong General Manager Flamingo Hotel by the beach Penang

Langkawi, Malaysia
Reviewed 25 February 2015

The design of the door closing for the rooms requires that one MUST slam the door to lock when leaving the room. Each floor has 2 wings, each wing has 14 rooms. Slamming a door is noisy, granted security is important but slamming a door is not necessary to achieve this. Since each floor of every wing is tiled sound...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 37BluesMan62
Flamingo2009, Front Office Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Your feedbacks are valuable to our teams. Currently we are working on the issues you have mentioned to us and do apologize on the sleepless nights that you had. I do trust that your next visit will be a different experience. If you need assistance with your room reservations please free to contact me directly....

1,016 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (522)
Viewed
Bathroom (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (85)
Viewed
View from Room (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (122)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (130)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (479)
Viewed
2-Bedroom Suite (88)
Viewed
3-Bedroom Suite (132)
Viewed
Amenities (41)
Viewed
Beach (16)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (43)
Viewed
Pool (35)
Viewed
Dining (58)
Viewed
The Hotel (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanjung Bungah
3.2 km away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
1,628 reviews
0.4 km away
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang
#4 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
718 reviews
1.5 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
755 reviews
3.8 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#4 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
2,098 reviews
4.3 km away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang

Address: Jalan Tanjung Bungah, Tanjung Bungah, Penang Island 11200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Tanjung Bungah
Price Range: $60 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo By The Beach Hotel Tanjung Bungah
Flamingo Hotel By The Beach, Penang Tanjung Bungah
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid Chinese New Year and any other festivals as it can get very busy. Ask for a room on a high floor overlooking the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles BrianR112, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for seaview rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Lovejeep, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Request for rooms on the high floors and directly facing the sea (full view) if not you will get partial view or slightly obstructed view.”
 of 5 bubbles SIanchong, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“near the beach”
 of 5 bubbles PanizAmani, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Do Not waste your holidays and your money here!”
 of 5 bubbles mohatravels, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5