We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Belmond La Samanna

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Belmond La Samanna
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,053 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Belmond La Samanna
See the most recent reviews
Showing 887: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Gorgeous property nestled beside a cliff with abundant lush gardens. The property is stunning and certainly has many amenities such as tennis courts, snorkel gear, and excursion opportunities. The SPA was lovely although the rooms were tiny and cramped. It is slightly run down in the rooms (paint, walls, trim), walkways, and paths. The food was amazing at the beach...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank happyplaces5
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review

Dear happyplaces5, Thank you very much for taking time to review your recent stay with us. I was very happy to read it, and we hope to welcome you back soon to our little slice of heaven!

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 12 January 2017

After a long trip, we arrived in our room to find the bathroom had not been cleaned; while the hotel took care of it right away, it wasn't a great way to start out.Then, except for one time, our keys did not work at the door to our room which meant constantly trekking back to the front desk (which was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank SnoopyKonijn
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review

Dear SnoopyKonjin, I would like to thank you for taking time to review your recent stay. I want to apologize for the unpleasant stay you had with us. The keys unfortunately can sometimes demagnetize when they are in contact to cell phones or credit cards, I am sorry for the inconvenience this caused. The odor you smelled stems from the...

Dix Hills, New York, United States
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Expensive, lacking attention to basic needs of guests.. 1. I took a suite. Nice layout but maid service for daily care and evening turndowns very erratic and disappointing. Requested several times for early making up of room and 7pm turn down. Until 4th day, requests went unnoticed. 2. We had two TV sets that incoming signal would freeze and you...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Howard D
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review

Dear Howard D, Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay. I am very sorry to hear that the hotel was a disappointment to you. The TV issue we are having is one we are well aware of and are in the midst of rectifying. I do believe our Front Desk Manager met with you regarding the issues...

Somerville, New Jersey
Reviewed 10 January 2017

first the good. Excellent people - especially Maylis (management) & Julie (concierge). Also, beautiful setting - a fortunate accident of geography. Our room (H16) had a bedroom & a bathroom. The bedroom was far too small; the bathroom far too large. Barely room to go between foot of bed & the dresser. Not a single mirror except 1 in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kalman B
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review

Dear Kalman,. Thank you for your review, I apologize that the hotel did not please you. Regarding the size of our rooms, the sizes are stated on our website, we do not try to convey a different image.The seclusion of the hotel is one of the many values that our hotel guests value, we do not want the hustle and...

Reviewed 5 January 2017

It’s been awhile (25+ years) since I’ve stayed at a Caribbean resort but my memory of most of them was disappointment at the lack of cleanliness, superior service and beautiful décor. Belmond’s La Samanna Resort on the Caribbean Island of St. Martin changed my perception. We picked St. Martin because of the ease of flights from Seattle (just one connection...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mimiseattlelite
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review

Dear mimiseattlelite, Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am so glad that you picked the Villas at Belmond La Samanna for your vacation. It is great to hear that the service you encountered be it at the villas, the breakfast or the spa was friendly and accommodating. We are certainly lucky to be situated on Baie Longue....

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 31 December 2016

La Samanna is a very pricy posh place, with all the benefits of it. Friendly staff, (amazing beach!!!) Comfort, good food, stylish surroundings. The international design can make you wonder whether you are in st.Tropez, Ibiza, or Miami, but if you accept that, you will have a great day. Especially because the staff and clientele are so much nicer than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roelandf
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review

Dear Roelandf, Thank you very much for your time in reviewing us. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found both the staff and the resort satisfactory. We hope to welcome you back on our beautiful beach. Thank you again.

San Carlos
Reviewed 30 December 2016

We are from the San Francisco area, vacationing in St. Martin to get much needed relaxation. From 12/24 to 12/27 we had the opportunity to rent a private villa (Karukera) at Hope Hill residences which was wonderful. We had booked 12/27-12/30 to stay at Caye Blanche guest house in Anse Marcel, but when we arrived, it was completely abandoned. This...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jason G
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review

Dear Jason G, Thank you for taking your time to write such a detailed review of your recent stay with us. To address the CONS you brought up, please keep in mind that we are on an island therefore, all the food products are brought in be it from France/Europe or the U.S.A. If you compare our prices to those...

Alexandria, VA
Reviewed 27 December 2016

We stayed at La Samanna in April this year for 5 days, after selecting this Belmond resort after outstanding stays at both the Inn at Perry Cabin in MD and Keswick Hall in VA (when it was still Orient Express/Belmond). La Samanna was very nice, but based on competition in the Caribbean as well as price for the experience, it's...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alexandria Traveler
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review

Dear Alexandria Traveler, Thank you very much for posting a review of your stay back in April with us. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Thank you for your comments regarding the food, please rest assure that the Beach Bar does not serve frozen food, nonetheless I will share your comments with the Chef....

Reviewed 23 December 2016

We arrived at La Samanna to find a very beautifully decorated lobby for the holiday season including several Christmas trees. We had just spent 3 lovely nights in St. Barthes which left us very impressed and setting the bar quite high. Once we got to our room, we realized that the accommodations at La Samanna was not going to beat...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alexandra C
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review

Dear Alexandra C, I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am terribly sorry that we did not make a good impression on you and your husband, We are working on resolving our TV system problems. Thank you again for your time.

Santiago, Chile
Reviewed 22 December 2016

We stayed at La Samanna for four nights in december 2016, and we got a standard beachfront room on the ground floor. The room wasn't very big, but why would you remain in the room anyway! The view was perfect, beautiful without losing any privacy, and you could walk right out from the room to the little terrace outside, where...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Zipo42
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review

Dear Zipo42, Thank you very much for your review. I am very happy to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. Thank you for your suggestions on the noise levels and housekeeping follow ups, we will definitely look into this. Again, thank you for taking the time to review us, we hope to welcome you back soon.

1,669 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (776)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (148)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (126)
Viewed
View from Room (72)
Viewed
Dining (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (131)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (231)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (888)
Viewed
Amenities (103)
Viewed
Baie Rouge Suite (128)
Viewed
Beach (44)
Viewed
Infinity-Edge Pool (56)
Viewed
Main Pool (61)
Viewed
One-Bedroom Ocean View Suite (128)
Viewed
Dining (142)
Viewed
The Hotel (81)
Viewed
Villa (145)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terres Basses
13.0 km away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
10.8 km away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,713 reviews
12.8 km away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
12.5 km away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
2,131 reviews
13.1 km away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in Oyster Pond
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Belmond La Samanna nestles amongst lush gardens overlooking 55 acres of spectacular beachfront. A complete resort in itself, Belmond La Samanna offers a spectacular private beach, two poolside terraces, 83 luxurious rooms and suites and 8 recently renovated 4600sq. ft. villas with private pools. Enjoy its sophisticated food offerings and award winning wine cellar, indulge in its European Elysees Spa, or simply enjoy the privacy and relaxation of this sophisticated and sensual French-Caribbean enclave. Gourmet dishes are served in the elegant Trellis, and Baie Longue Bar offers pool-side dining and views of Baie Long Beach. Dine on your private terrace and later enjoy a drink from the wine cellar. Belmond La Samanna is everything you could wish for in a Caribbean hideaway. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Belmond La Samanna

Address: Baie Longue | PO Box 4077, Terres Basses 86200, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Terres Basses
Price Range: $720 - $2,597 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Samanna 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Priceline, West Indies, Belmond, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond La Samanna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Samanna By Orient-Express Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
La Samanna Hotel
La Samanna Resort St Martin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Belmond La Samanna staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from Belmond La Samanna staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Suites overlooking the ocean and with a private plunge pool, covered rooftop gazebo and amazing views”
 of 5 bubbles RichP135, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Do not get a room too far from main building...but not too close either!”
 of 5 bubbles CMSCLS, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms with porches allow easy beach access”
 of 5 bubbles Dufferme, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stay in a room away from the main hotel for a more intimate/quiet experience. Watch out for sand fleas and mosquitoes.”
  • Caribbean Sunset
  • Complimentary planters punch on arrival enjoyed on our lovely terrace.
  • View from the roof deck of our suite
  • View from our roof deck
 of 5 bubbles malibuu1, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher floor away from staircase, noise travels thru the stairwell”
 of 5 bubbles Amimil, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5