We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

591 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 567: English reviews
Start your review of The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality
 Click to rate
Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I was walking on the South Downs Way with a friend and we were looking for a reasonably priced / budget hotel for one night.. Big Sleep met our requirements. We stayed in single rooms and thought they were small but clean with en suite bathroom. There is a kettle and tea / coffee in each room. All the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynn B
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great hotel. Decor is quirky in the lounge and simple but comfortable in rooms. You get amazing service and very polite staff. Very good location to theatres and local amenities. Reasonably priced. Stay many times and will continue to do so. See you Soon!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheila F
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Check in was easy and quick could not check in until 3 but we were able to park right outside the hotel and purchase a permit for a Pound for the day. We managed to park 2 cars right outside the hotel for the duration of our stay. The hotel was lovely the beds were comfortable and the rooms were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly R
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The room was great with excellent sea view. A little bit dated but nice and cosy and clean. Continental breakfast was plentiful and to good standard. Will stay at this hotel again, cheap but worth it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bodil H
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

room was very nice, we had a suite, staff very friendy and helpful, clean and tidy, room service available, town close by plenty of choices to eat out, beach accross the road, we plan on going back soon

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tonibell79
stratford on avon
Reviewed 1 week ago

Clean hotel breakfast inc but only continental extra £4 for a cookes breakfast but was worth it nice and hot staff very friendly would return location near town just round the corner are some nice restaurants

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patricia f
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Dear patricia f, Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am very pleased to read that you and Teddy enjoyed your stay with us. I also note your comments about staff and breakfast. Thank you for taking...

Province of Alicante, Spain
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I was looking for a reasonably priced hotel, on the seafront, for a night out locally and found a great deal for the Big Sleep. As if £69 for the night wasn't good enough we were given a massive suite on the 2nd floor with the most amazing views of the seafront. This is a hotel to sleep in rather...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alwaysonthemove62
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Dear alwaysonthemove62, Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I also note your comments about staff and breakfast. Thank you for taking the time to...

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Room was like a sauna even when radiator was turned off and window open bed was like a brick pillows much the same carpet with damp and filthy! Light coming thru curtains and under door noise from the road and passers by as room was right on the street couldn't sleep so left at 12.30am?!! Have never left a hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sara-Jane H
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Dear Sara-Jane H, Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay with us. It is very unusual for that room to be hot like a sauna, it is...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Not impressed by this hotel at all! The first tip off should have been the blue fake fur curtains. Heavily stained carpet and mouldy bathroom...But the beds were awful too.... After checking for bugs found most of springs were stuck up... The radiator is stuck on full with no means to turn it down. Absolutely awful night Definitely wouldn't come...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Traceywaye
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Dear Traceywaye, Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay with us. I note your comments about curtains and appreciate they are not to everyone's liking. I have...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

on the whole the hotel was good it has a great space downstairs for the kids which is a plus with teenagers, Staff lovely and helpful, rooms need a refresh beds a little lumpy and soft furnishings a little tired... just needs refresh

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peweeee
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Dear peweeee, Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am very pleased to read you enjoyed elements of your stay with us. I also note your comments about staff. The hotel has got an on-going refurbishment programme...

177 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (139)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.3 km away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 42 in Eastbourne
2,653 reviews
0.4 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#21 of 42 in Eastbourne
1,224 reviews
0.9 km away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 42 in Eastbourne
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#8 of 42 in Eastbourne
418 reviews
1.4 km away
BEST WESTERN York House Hotel
0.3 km away
Congress Apartments
Congress Apartments
#34 of 42 in Eastbourne
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A 50 bedroom designer limited service hotel on Eastbourne's seafront, offering fantastic value for money, great sea views and exciting new horizons in interior design. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality

Address: King Edwards Parade | King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Price Range: $70 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Hotel
The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne By Compass Hospitality England
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for seaview”
 of 5 bubbles bodilh700, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sea view are great”
 of 5 bubbles Malachite11_13, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Sea view suite would be my choice again.”
 of 5 bubbles Paulrich150, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you have a room with a view expect some traffic noise early in the mornings.”
 of 5 bubbles chrisnS34QV, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Have only stayed in a Suite, both Suites were excellent”
 of 5 bubbles FluffyBunny2017, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5