We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bay Burlington Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bay Burlington Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

757 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bay Burlington Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 756: English reviews
Blackpool
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a return to the Burlington Hotel and I was very disappointed. The room we had was very nice and looked newly refurbish, with a lovely double walk-in shower and lots of hot water. It was the resturant which was the great disappointment. The service was very bad, having to wait 35/45 minutes for our main meal, and with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ladyoflleisure
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Love the tag ladyofleisure! What a pity you did not enjoy your return stay with us. Your comments regarding the service and the food will be discussed with the head of both the departments. I would like the opportunity to show you this may have been just a blip on this occasion, as you state you have always been happy...

Croydon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having done many Shearing breaks over the years, we decided to take our dad for a break on the 1st weekend of January. Despite asking for a room with disabled access, the room had a small step leading into it. Also, the toilet and shower had no handrails so it was quite difficult for our dad as he is used...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Norma R
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Norma for your very informative review. Pleased to read you enjoy the flexibility and choice now offered at breakfast. Sorry to read that dad had some issues. The wheelchair access is through the dining room and most customers do find this easy to use once settled in. I have looked into your booking and can see a single...

Driffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Bay Burlington Hotel Eastbourne January 2nd to 6th had a good time no complaints. Clean & friendly Hotel meals were good with a very good choice of menu We stayed in room106 really nice & clean , Entertainment was great Mark the entertainment compare was Brilliant really friendly chap will definitely be going again Mr &...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pamc44
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Very short and very very sweet! Many thanks Mr and Mrs Chapman our first five star review for 2017.

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Returned to the burlington, we had a bargain 5 day break, with national holidays this time. Once again no complaints whatsoever. Our journey down to Eastbourne was quick and easy, no hold ups or delays and the same on our return although bad weather had been predicated. As always experienced in our previous visits we had a good time. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sheila G
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

And we hope to see you soon Sheila G. Your fantastic review really did put a smile on our face. Just what's needed in January. Many thanks.

Ilkeston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2017

The Burlington is supposedly the best hotel in Eastbourne however it is sadly in need of some serious money spending on it since internally it's really sad and in dire need of brightening up. I can't fault the food in the restaurant; both the breakfasts and the three-course evening meals offered enough choice to satisfy the pickiest eater and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ann S
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Ann S for your review, I was so disappointed to read that your sleep was disrupted. You are quite right to mention the deco and this is being currently reviewed. Thank you for your kind words regarding the food chef will be delighted, but will take note of your feedback regarding the temperature. We are due to carry...

NORTHFLEET KENT
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We stayed four days & had no hot water or heating we wasn't inform by staff we were told by other guest , manage not helpful sound bored when talking to you, We had a Sea view room which we paid for was very nice & clean very dull in decor Food was ok not much choice, waiter was rushed...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank JULIE E
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you JULIE E for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay. It was a challenging time over the New Year period due to the lack of water/heating. I personally chatted with many guests during this time and I can honestly say bored was not an emotion I was feeling. Concerned, worried, apologetic yes and more...

Reviewed 29 December 2016

Just returned from this hotel our first time with Shearings and first time at this hotel, our room was overlooking the back of the hotel we were on the 4th floor not a very inviting room décor was very bland and the hotel was painted in gun metal grey everywhere rooms, corridoors, toilets, no warm feelings at all, even the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Carol W
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Carol W for taking the time to post a review. I am disappointed to read you were not entirely happy with you stay, yet you gave us a4 star review. Our breakfast buffet service is in all our hotels and our customers are enjoying this more relaxed style. I am unable to comment on a 50s holiday camp...

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2016

Just spent a Christmas break with Shearings. Our first time at the Burlington. We updated to a Sea View Room (319) which was a lovely big room with a shower. Couldn't fault the hotel at all - good food - brilliant entertainment - friendly staff. Would definitely go there again. I do agree with some other comments that the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank littlemo75
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Another great five star review from littemo75. Really good suggestions will keep in mind. Refurbishment will continue in 2017 with 18 more bedrooms and bathrooms being started in March. Our public areas are under review also. Thanks again for leaving the review all the very best for the coming new year.

Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2016

We have just come back from a fabulous holiday. When we got there given room to far from lift and very cold. I asked if we could move. Not long later Carla came and offered us too new rooms we took 126 at back of hotellovely room step in shower bath twin beds. On floor one. The holiday was great...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Janet J
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks to Janet J. So pleased to read my wonderful team were able to get the room best suited to your needs. Have to agree was a great Christmas and I look forward to seeing you next year, if not before.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 December 2016

Four day break in Eastbourne at the Bay Burlington Hotel,first view of the hotel is very impressive on the sea front.... lovely views...Reception was first class... rooms were very good and warm...,food was excellent and very well served...pleasant lounge to relax in and entertainment every night which was very good and of course we had bingo...the break was very relaxing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mavis D
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Mavis D and Girl friends for the fantastic five star review of a recent stay So pleased you and the girls enjoyed yourselves Thanks for your custom this year. Keep us in mind for 2017.

210 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (188)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.7 km away
Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel
Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel
#32 of 42 in Eastbourne
490 reviews
0.9 km away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 42 in Eastbourne
1,445 reviews
0.3 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#21 of 42 in Eastbourne
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 42 in Eastbourne
2,520 reviews
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN York House Hotel
0.8 km away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Boasting Grade 2 listing status, The Bay Burlington Hotel is a grand and impressive hotel, ideally situated on Eastbourne’s picturesque seafront. The hotel overlooks the spectacular Carpet Gardens and Victorian pier and is within comfortable walking distance of the town’s wide variety of shops and local theatres as well as the seafront. One of our largest hotels, the Burlington has 159 bedrooms including many with spectacular sea views and the opportunity to upgrade to a Superior or Premier room. The restaurant has been recently refurbished and there is also a well appointed bar and coffee lounge serving refreshments throughout the day. Located at the base of the beautiful South Downs, Eastbourne has enough to keep the most enthusiastic visitor busy with abundant history, numerous scenic castles and lots of places of interest to see. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Burlington Hotel

Address: 26-34 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Price Range: $100 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Burlington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Eastbourne
Bay Burlington Hotel Eastbourne, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Burlington Hotel staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question
Runcorn, United Kingdom
South Shields, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Sheffield, United Kingdom
over a year ago
las vegas
over a year ago
Buckinghamshire
over a year ago

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Burlington Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“407 is a big room with a great view”
 of 5 bubbles 856raymondo, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Top floor quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 771jenwal, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms probably quieter at back of hotel”
  • Bedroom
  • Bedroom
 of 5 bubbles B7152FJpeterw, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Pay the extra for the sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles hythehoney, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Check water pressure and hope the cieaners have been sacked.”
 of 5 bubbles louisedimes, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5