We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bay Burlington Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bay Burlington Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

782 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bay Burlington Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 781: English reviews
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2015

Good rooms at value for money prices. average food but great entertainment. Locallity is very good close to the pier. Attractive seafront area. Generally very good. Eastbourne has some lovely walking areas.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Roger S
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks go to Roger S for taking the time to post a great review. Much appreciated

Reviewed 15 September 2015

waitress service very poor language barrier Mouldy bread removed when reported to restaurant head waiter Uncooked sausage cooked on one side only raw underneath Brown lettuce served with salad Food temperature cool all food was served only just warm

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank patsy m
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Patsy M for your review. I was disappointed to read the service you received from a member of our dining room team did not meet your expectations. We do receive many excellent comments regarding our staff and I am sorry if you did not experience this. Your comments regarding the food will be reviewed by our chefs. Thank...

Wirral, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2015

There is no air con in our stuffy room. Hotel very hot inside. Only one lift ( holds up to 8 people) for all of the guess and cleaning staff to use. The smaller lift is for hotel staff only to porter luggage. We stayed in this hotel for two weeks and found the menu in the hotel Dinning Room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anne J
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Ann J for taking the time to leave feedback. Your comments regarding some of the food will be looked into by the chefs. As I have mentioned previously all feedback is vital to us to help us develop our hotel and holidays, so you input is very much appreciated.

Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2015

Have done a few Shearing hotels as a self drive, this was no different from most. We were on the top floor no issues for us, lifts a little rickety only used them to go up to our room, used the back stairs to walk down at all other times. Bed was a little hard for us but put up...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Glenn W
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you to 999Tony for leaving a great review of a recent stay. Your feedback is very much appreciated.

Wigston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2015

A very nice Hotel. This was our 2nd visit to the Hotel. Food is a very high standard. Very friendly and helpful staff. We were there the Week of the Eastbourne Air Show, it was very warm and 'Muggy' and the Hotel was very warm. We were supplied with a free Fan for our Room. There are Ceiling Fans in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eddie C
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks go to Eddie C for leaving a fantastic, informative five star review. Very much appreciated.

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2015

Full marks for location, right on the seafront and a stones throw from the pier and shops. There was also a continental market along the gardens for 2 days during our stay and the Museum of shops is worth a visit as recommended by our Shearings driver. Now on to the hotel itself, It's really not very nice having to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank LNC3367
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you LNC3367 for your review of a recent stay. I have read the comments with interest. I will personally review the comments made about the room. Glad to read you did enjoy the food during your stay. All feedback is important to us and thanks are offered again for you taking the time to leave this review.

Kent
Reviewed 2 September 2015

My husband and I along with my sister and brother in law spent bank holiday weekend in the Bay Burlington as a last minute break. Right on the seafront, opposite the pier, the location was perfect, we walked all the way along the coast to Beachy Head, had lunch and came back. The rooms were fine, clean, plenty of hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaye T
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

To quote Kentcouple this review is "Just Delightful" thank you very much appreciated.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Have just a fabulous 7 day break which was so enjoyable that I forgot about the horrible weather. The whole experience gets more enjoyable with each visit. The food gets even better and the service from all staff at this hotel is fantastic. The location is ideal and the surrounding areas are magnificent in all weathers.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank john t
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Five reviews and all five star form John T. Your reviews are very much appreciated. Lets go for Six!!! Thank you finding the time to leave a fantastic review.

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015

We booked a three night stay to take my elderly mum away. We chose the Burlington because it is a Bay hotel and we knew that there would be entertainment which my mum loves. We were not disappointed. The food was very good for the price paid and there was always a good choice. My mum's room had been updated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GinneyRose45
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you GinneyRose for your review. Pleased to read mum in particular enjoyed her stay. Pleased to report both lifts are back in use. If a lift is not in use it is because we have been instructed by our engineers not to use it. We will never take a lift out of use otherwise. Hope this reassures. Thanks again...

Burnley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2015

My husband and I stayed in this hotel from Friday 21st to 24th of August. We were in room 103 spacious and nicely decorated, very comfortable bed, had just been refurbished. Food was excellent, plenty of hot water, good supply of tea sugar ect. nice flat screen television, hairdryer and kettle. Was very hot in the room due to high...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Margaret T
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Another fantastic review from Margaret T. Dionne will be over the moon to read your kind words. A warm welcome awaits your return. Many thanks.

211 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (189)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.7 km away
Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel
Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel
#29 of 41 in Eastbourne
506 reviews
0.9 km away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 41 in Eastbourne
1,504 reviews
0.3 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#25 of 41 in Eastbourne
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 41 in Eastbourne
2,773 reviews
0.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
#9 of 41 in Eastbourne
875 reviews
0.6 km away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Boasting Grade 2 listing status, The Bay Burlington Hotel is a grand and impressive hotel, ideally situated on Eastbourne’s picturesque seafront. The hotel overlooks the spectacular Carpet Gardens and Victorian pier and is within comfortable walking distance of the town’s wide variety of shops and local theatres as well as the seafront. One of our largest hotels, the Burlington has 159 bedrooms including many with spectacular sea views and the opportunity to upgrade to a Superior or Premier room. The restaurant has been recently refurbished and there is also a well appointed bar and coffee lounge serving refreshments throughout the day. Located at the base of the beautiful South Downs, Eastbourne has enough to keep the most enthusiastic visitor busy with abundant history, numerous scenic castles and lots of places of interest to see. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Burlington Hotel

Address: Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 3YN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Price Range: $118 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Burlington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Eastbourne
Bay Burlington Hotel Eastbourne, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Burlington Hotel staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question
Runcorn, United Kingdom
South Shields, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Sheffield, United Kingdom
over a year ago
las vegas
over a year ago
Buckinghamshire
over a year ago

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Burlington Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea view room good. Premier or superior rooms can be worth the extra”
oldtripper32, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for sea view”
cockneypride, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Front facing rooms can be expensive. The rear facing ones overlook a car park”
Yorkshirestar, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Book yourself a standard plus or a premier room with a sea view. However, this will not get you better quality dinners.”
acolytonian, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you want plenty of room and a good sea view room 319 is a good choice.”
PhilBurnett, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5