We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

YHA Eastbourne

Show Prices
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
YHA Eastbourne
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

30 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 28: English reviews
Start your review of YHA Eastbourne
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The YHA Eastbourne hostel was my last stop after walking 3 days on the South Downs Way trail. The hostel is located close to the trail, and was easy to find. All the amenities you would need were included, and the common area was quite cozy. Would recommend!

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank andriannak123
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My family have stayed in many hostels over the years. We liked it here very much because it was nice and peaceful. It is one of the smaller hostels we have visited, and although there was no restaurant attached, it had a well equipped kitchen. It is also located in a peaceful area, with easy access to walks at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank farahhibberd
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had an easy & relaxing stay at Eastbourne YH. Met interesting real people. Friendly & helpful staff. Lovely South Downs coastal path few feet outside the hostel. Its a cosy home away from home type of hostel.

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2017

This was our 2nd visit to this modern and comfortable YHA. Our private room included a shower and toilet and had an amazing number of plug sockets, we counted 3 for each bed! It has a spacious shared clean and well organized kitchen and a bright and pleasant dining room . The staff were helpful and friendly. This hostel is...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank bluefinch3
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Over a period of 4 days we stayed in a different YHA center each night. the beds where good, the en suite was nice. all modem well laid out a fit for purpose. the living room/ common room felt soulless. However our biggest problem was the heating. Our 9 year old son was very cold the night we stayed there...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 05Jonathan2007
338susanv, Manager at YHA Eastbourne, responded to this review

First of all thank you for writing a review. I am sorry that your son was cold, and that you didn't enjoy your stay. It is unusual in this hostel to get a complaint about being cold as our main comment is that it is too warm due to the great insulation that we have, due to these comments I...

A TripAdvisor Member
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2016

7 men in a room best suited for 4. One corner boxed in as a shared toilet, shower and wash-basin. Add 2 Olympic Snorers, both working locally, using hostel as cheap b no v. Wouldn't be allowed in a prison.

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
338susanv, Manager at YHA Eastbourne, responded to this review

I am sorry that you didn't have a good experience. It must have been full in the hostel to have 7 people in the room as we normally keep the numbers down by transferring guests into other rooms, if we hadn't done that then it must have been full. We agree that it is a better experience with less people...

London
Reviewed 29 October 2016

YHA Eastbourne is small, cosy and located well. It's 1.7 miles out of town but there's a great bus - no 12 that has a stop right outside. This same bus has one of the most scenic rides I've ever been on. There's a small but well equipped kitchen and the dining area serves as reception and a common room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mark_davie_2000
338susanv, Manager at YHA Eastbourne, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time and making the effort to write a review. We do appreciate it and take notice of any problems. We are aware of the timing system in the bathrooms and are in the process of changing the lighting to a pull cord system which will make your shower more comfortable. We are happy that you had...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 28 September 2016

The hostel is a secure and clean facility which is particularly ideal for those with their own transport. Kitchen is equipped with everything you need to store, prepare and cook your own food. Dormitory rooms which have as many as seven beds all have their own en suite where you will find a floor squeegee for use after your shower....

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank CrownsnCabbages
338susanv, Manager at YHA Eastbourne, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your very comprehensive review and your positive feedback. We do appreciate all feedback. There is a bus that stops right outside the hostel that can take you with a 10 minute ride into Eastbourne town centre if walking feels like too much. Otherwise it is a half hour walk into the town, uphill coming back!

Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Modern hostel with well-equipped kitchen to prepare meals. Bedrooms are clean and modern with en-suite bathrooms. Whilst this is handy I do have to agree with a previous reviewer about the horrible smell. Staff were friendly. The lounge/dining room is clean and modern although not a particularly relaxing place. They have added facilities to make hot drinks in the lounge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Goonergraham
338susanv, Manager at YHA Eastbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to make this review, we appreciate any feedback. I am glad that you like the hot drink facilities in the lounge, it has been well received. I am sorry about the unpleasant smell in the bathrooms, we do all we can to diminish this but it seems to be a problem with the drains...

Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 June 2016

Basic, clean, modern accommodation. Myself and two biker friends stayed here for one night in May on the way to France (We were taking the Newhaven ferry which is a few miles down the road) Things are basic but very adequate and economical. The only thing that lets the centre down in the carpark, its not that big but the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George C
338susanv, Manager at YHA Eastbourne, responded to this review

Many thanks George for your review, we do appreciate all feedback and use it for continuous improvements. The car park is a matter that we are addressing with the local council, hopefully in the near future it will be re-surfaced.

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastbourne
YHA South Downs
#3 of 7 in Lewes
105 reviews
YHA Brighton
#2 of 24 in Brighton
340 reviews
YHA London Thameside
#136 of 837 in London
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
YHA London Earl's Court
YHA London Earl's Court
#61 of 837 in London
376 reviews
YHA Littlehampton
#1 of 4 in Littlehampton
49 reviews
YHA Truleigh Hill
#1 of 1 in Shoreham-by-Sea
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Official Description (provided by the hotel)
YHA Eastbourne is great for family breaks on the South Downs. Only one mile from the town centre and seafront, it's the perfect base for a country or seaside holiday. All bedrooms are en suite, with one room adapted for wheelchair users, and there are excellent self-catering facilities available. Eastbourne's famous pier, bandstand, stunning sandy beach and attractions are all within easy reach. For an activity holiday, walk or cycle as the hostel is only 400 metres from the South Downs Way. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA Eastbourne

Address: East Dean Road, Eastbourne BN20 8ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Price Range: $32 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Eastbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your YHA Eastbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Eastbourne England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from YHA Eastbourne staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Few rooms and all back on to trees and the path.”
mark_davie_2000, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Take care in the car park, its very uneven.”
869georgec, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
“I liked the dorm room.”
MurrayS974, 6 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Room 3 right by entrance so could be noisy if the hostel is fully booked.”
881naomit, 8 Mar 2015 | Read review
“The rooms are stand-in showers only (maybe bring flip flops to wear while in the bathroom). No baths (well, for the room I was sharing anyway). There are locked storage spaces in the room for each person to use. Just bring a lock with you, but I think you can buy one from reception. I did not feel like I had to lock mine though as everyone in my room was respectful. :)”
0nga, 17 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5