We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Berkeley Guest House

Save
Traveller (26)
Room & Suite (5)
Pool & Beach (1)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good22%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“attic room”(12 reviews)
“black pudding”(9 reviews)
“nice guesthouse”(4 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Pets Allowed
Free Parking
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveller rating
186
57
13
3
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
186
57
13
3
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsattic roomblack puddingnice guesthousefull englishsea frontwarm roomtown centremain bedroomfluffy towelsfresh fruit saladbreakfast was excellentgreat showerparking permitfamily roomminute walkan ideal locationon arrival
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 270 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed our stay, parking is a bit hit and miss and some of the furniture in the rooms a little tired but it is a big place and seemed like it was an on going process of keeping things renewed. A nice little sitting...More

Thank Lynsey B
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Spent 1 night over the 1st bank holiday in May, wasn’t disappointed with the location, Parking a bit of a problem tho and with being disabled was more an inconvenience than anything else, The Room Spacious Comfortable Carpet had seen better days so had the...More

Thank Mark B
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was supposed to be a very special 60th Birthday celebration. See my review of the hotel September 2013. We loved the place. We were so disappointed that our experience in 2018 was such a contrast. There was no warm welcome, rather a demand for...More

1  Thank Doraexplorah
Response from Ian M, Manager at The Berkeley Guest HouseResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. Firstly I would like to know why you felt it appropriate to be so rude to my young member of staff in the restaurant, that she actually didn't come in on the last morning you were here because of the...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room provided was minute, just a bed with crumbling headboard, no chair so no where to sit other than on the bed. The bathroom was disgusting. The toilet seat was wood and falling apart and the shower was filthy and needed a complete refit....More

2  Thank SurreyCaroline
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have been to this lovely place many times. Daniel the owner is warm and friendly can't do enough for you. Very clean beds really comfortable don't want to get up breakfast good and lots of it everything about this place is great can't wait...More

Thank Linda C
View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Eastbourne
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Breakfast included
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Details
Price range
US$67 - US$129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$67 - US$129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (26)
Room & Suite (5)
Pool & Beach (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Doraexplorah
186458Tony
22 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Joanne G | Reviewed this property |
Not at the guest house but lots of bars and restaurants nearby.
0
Votes
MissCalius
9 May 2017|
Answer
Response from Sue C | Reviewed this property |
Hi Only just seen this... sorry I have no idea!
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Do not choose room 2"
Read review
"If you have trouble climbing stairs make sure you tell the hotel when booking."
Read review
"lots of stairs for upper floors"
Read review
"Can't comment on other rooms ground floor rooms dark"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing