We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bay County Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Bay County Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

623 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bay County Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 623: English reviews
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2015

I returned yesterday from my second visit at the County with Shearings. Fantastic fellow travellers and a lovely driver,Mike, made this another brilliant holiday. The hotel itself was just as welcoming and friendly, our rooms were ready when we arrived at around 14.30 which was a nice start. I actually stayed in the same room as I stayed in April... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Janice H
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JaniceH We have TV's high on our list for 2015 and we are working our way through it so I'm confident that on your next visit that will be done. I really appreciate your positive review and your recommendation. Kind Regards Andy Travis General Manager More 

Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2015

my friend and i have just returned from a mid week break booked through shearings.very good first impression will be back.very polite and friendly staff,nothing too much trouble.Nice twin room overlooking the sea.Food was excellent and good choice and plenty.two excursions out were made very enjoyable by the witty steve our learner driver and bill on thursday,laughed at his jokes... More 

Helpful?
Thank clarehurd78
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ClareHurd78 What a brilliant review it sounds like you had a great time. I remember many years ago when I first heard Bill and Steve's jokes they were very amusing now they are still telling the same ones but I'm glad you enjoyed them. Kind Regards Andy Travis General Manager More 

Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2015

My partner and I made this trip with Shearings Travel,we booked in at the County Hotel for 3 nights.Our suitcases,once loaded onto the feeder coach,we're not seen again until we arrived at our room.Reception was friendly and very efficient,Our room (110 )with sea view was quite roomy,the bed comfortable,the only criticism was the size of the ensuite,access to the sink... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank pammytammy
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PammyTammy I'm not sure that your photo fits your name but it's lovely to get such a fantastic review for both the hotel and the resort thank you. Kind Regards Andy Travis General Manager More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2015

We stayed in the County Hotel recently, our room was in the basement which was a great disappointment. We asked to move to a room above ground level but was informed that none were available and that was the only room because the hotel was full. The room was dark, dingy and smelled like a used toilet. You could not... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Pentraliv
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pentraliv I'm really sorry for your disapointment with your room. If we can help guests by moving thier rooms we are only too happy to do so but as we did explain we were full for the weekend and so we couldn't. Kind Regards Andy Travis General Manager More 

Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2015

This was my second visit to the hotel and enjoyed every minute of it. the rooms were small but very comfortable and the bathroom was spotless. Very clean rooms. it also had a new TV with freeview built in was a bonus. handy light for reading above the bed. Reception staff were very polite and had no wait on check... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank commanderstraker
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CommanderStraker After reading your review I have just spoken to Nikki and passed on your praise she is delighted and sends her thanks. Many thanks for a wonderful review. Kind Regards Andy Travis General Manager More 

Manchester
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2015

Stayed one night in single room. Room was tiny but comfortable. No complaints about hotel or room but the food was very poor quality both evening and breakfast. I suppose for the price that's what you get but have had better on other National holidays

Helpful?
2 Thank NWLadyManchester
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear NWLadyManchester I,m really sorry to read how dissapointed you were with the food. You stayed with us two months ago so it's a little hard to look into it now but I will pass on your comments to our Chef. Kind Regards Andy Travis General Manager More 

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2015

Our third break at the County and still good value for money. The four of us stayed again for the weekend of 13th to 16th February 2015. Clean, comfortable and a good choice at mealtimes. The staff are friendly and helpful and particular thanks to the manager and staff who were of great help and understanding when one of our... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelBros
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MicaelBros Thank you for your review I'm really pleased to read how much you enjoyed your third visit to us. I'm especially pleased to know that the lady who took ill is ok and got home safe and sound many thanks. Kind Regards Andy Travis General Manager More 

lancs
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2015

Just returned from weekend shearing break at this hotel. Warm welcome quick check in. Very very disappointed to be allocated basement room, I had requested via email not to have basement, I did tell lady on reception but she said hotel full and no other room available. ( I have fear of underground rooms, cellars, basements etc). We had no... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 1nathanj
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nathanj Thank for your review which raises some interesting issues. Your room is not underground it is actually on groud level and is serviced by our lift. My apologies about your hairdryer I do hope that it was changed immediately. As I have remarked several times in the past entertaiment is a personal preference and we do get mixed... More 

Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2015

Just returned from yet another Shearing Coach Holiday as a foursome but the first at this hotel. Andy you have got it running like a well maintained engine!! It was completely relaxing, in a warm and welcoming atmosphere. Everything was as promised by Shearings, cheerful, courteous drivers (Taffy feeder driver), (William excursion driver), (Steve tour driver) and the hotel staff... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Veronica P
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear VeronicaP I can't thank you enough for your fantastic review I'm delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable holiday with us. Thank you for mentioning so many of us I will pass on your compliments. Kind Regards Andy Travis General Manager More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2015

myself and my wife have just returned from a midweek break at this hotel we were picked up on time by the feeder coach and taken to the interchange by a very pleasant shearings driver.then transferred to the hotel by another coach to the hotel we arrived at the hotel at 12am only to be informed check in was 3pm.... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank jimwhin1
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JimWhin1 My apologies for the initial hassle you had with your room and I'm glad to read that we did sort it out for you. I'm delighted to know that this didn't spoil your stay with us. Kind Regards Andy Travis General Manager More 

126 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (98)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.8 km away
Bay Marine Hotel
Bay Marine Hotel
#35 of 60 in Llandudno
725 reviews
0.0 km away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
559 reviews
1.1 km away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#15 of 60 in Llandudno
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#30 of 60 in Llandudno
404 reviews
0.5 km away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#34 of 60 in Llandudno
451 reviews
0.8 km away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoying a magnificent site of the Promenade with stunning views of both of the Ormes, this lovely Victorian hotel offers guests a friendly Welsh welcome. Tastefully furnished throughout, and retaining many of the original Victorian features throughout, the hotel’s bar and lounges provide the ideal locations in which to relax. Laid back days can be spent enjoying the beach, strolling the pier or shopping in the newly opened retail development by the main shops. Alternatively, take a tram ride up the Great Orme or discover the numerous sporting pursuits that are on offer locally, too. For a getaway discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you couldn’t be better placed than in Llandudno. A small car park is located at the rear of the hotel, or there is unlimited free parking at the front of the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay County Hotel

Address: East Parade, Llandudno LL30 1BD, Wales (Formerly The County Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Price Range: $131 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Llandudno
County Llandudno
Bay County Hotel Llandudno, Wales
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay County Hotel staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question
Birmingham, United Kingdom

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from Bay County Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“beware of the underground rooms because the noise from up above is intolerable”
 of 5 bubbles fishbine, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 214 had a side sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles Suse1826, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms only have baths not showers, so check if you specifically just want a bath or just want a shower. Ground floor rooms very small.”
 of 5 bubbles N4966VNlisah, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Not ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles LynneM253, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There is only one lift and this only takes two people so a lower floor may be advisable.”
 of 5 bubbles chrishI5841BT, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay