We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Novotel Ipswich Centre Hotel

Save
Share
Greyfriars Road, Ipswich IP1 1UP England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
US$80
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
NovotelUS$89
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (206)
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (21)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 16/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Novotel Ipswich Centre Hotel
Updated 16/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 18 hotels in Ipswich
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
The Novotel Ipswich is ideally located in the thriving town centre of Ipswich. Offering 101 newly refurbished rooms including 10 Executive and 15 Superior rooms, the hotel is perfect for a business trip or conference in Ipswich with a business centre, Six meeting rooms as well as Free high speed WiFi Internet access. At the end of an eventful day, relax in the hotel bar and enjoy a meal in our Elements restaurant, which also offers 24 hours room service. Onsite pay parking for your convenience.
Read more
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Paid private parking on-site
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Business
Languages Spoken
English
1144Reviews10Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 369
  • 480
  • 193
  • 65
  • 37
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sunshine323989 wrote a review 18 Oct
Exeter, United Kingdom1 contribution
The hotel website still says that breakfast will be a package whereas the breakfast is back to normal. It also says all bedrooms have showers. i had to ring to find out that some have a bath. This is a waste of staff time and mine. It ought to say some also have baths. Staff were good but a request for porridge seemed to throw the kitchen into confusion! It took 25 minutes to arrive
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Nuwan Jayasena, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich Centre Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Sunshine323989. Thank you so for your review. I am sorry for the conflicting information on the website about breakfast. I will get this rectified asap. Thank you for the positive feedback abut staff. They are the most wonderful assets i have. Apologies for the delay in your breakfast porridge, i will address this with my kitchen team and will speed things up. This will help for any of our future guests and hopefully on your next visit you will experience a much more quick service from us. Look forward to welcome you soon Kind Regrds Nuwan Jayasena General Manager
Read more
Nicholas F wrote a review 17 Oct
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom12 contributions6 helpful votes
A dreadful first impression, greeted by an unwelcoming reception member who said there was no parking as last night's guests left their cars on site whilst at the football match. Asked where else I could park for 24 hours I was told there was nowhere. We would need to try and park when the match finished. We paid £10 to park offsite and then later when we found a space at Novotel we're told that we had to pay for 24 hours there too. Very distressed at all the time wasted over this, finally a duty manager agreed to waive the fee. Such a shame because otherwise we thought the hotel standards were excellent.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Nuwan Jayasena, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich Centre Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear 257nicholasf Thank you very much for taking time to leave a review. First of all apologies for the undesirable first impression from my team member. Parking could be an issue sometimes and mainly on weekends with home football on. We do not reserve parking to any guests as its on prime location, its on first come first serve basis. There are few parking places within 100 meters from hotel if you were to visit again and cannot find any spaces at hotel. The closest NCP has parking available most of the time. Also Cardinal park is £1 for 6pm-8am. I hope this information will be useful. Looking forward to welcome you again soon Kind Regards Nuwan Jayasena General Manager
Read more
Jon S wrote a review 15 Oct
1 contribution
Didn't use this hotel, but did use the public electric car charging point. When those vultures called ParkingEye wanted to fine me £100 for parking illegally (whilst charging my car!!), and after my direct appeal was unsuccessful, I called this hotel and Susan provided a fantastic prompt service and ensured my fine was cancelled. Thank you Susan for resolving an unnecessarily stressful situation for me - very much appreciated.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Nuwan Jayasena, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich Centre Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear jonsF2255DK. Thank you so much for your review and feedback. Sorry to hear you encountered issues with parking eye. I am delighted Susan managed to sort everything for you this time. If you do use the charging point in future, please make sure you register at reception for free of charge. Kind Regards Nuwan Jayasena General Manager
Read more
patB3597NY wrote a review 13 Oct
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
I had stayed in different Novotel hotels before and not have any issue with cleanliness but until I got into my room at Novotel Ipswich Centre, it seemed like no one have stay in that room for a long while or the housekeeping had not done a upto standard job. Hair on the bathroom wall and floor, dust around the ventilation valve above the toilet, black dots and dust on the beddings and bath towels. When I read the letter which the receptionist handed to me during check-in, I noticed one line `During your stay we will only be serving your rooms on request this can be arranged at reception the evening before.' So if you only stay one night that you will have to arrange your room to be serviced the evening before you check in or else will get a room like what I got ???
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Nuwan Jayasena, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich Centre Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear patB3597NY. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Ipswich Centre. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations on this occasion; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I have I have noted your comments about cleanliness and since have addressed with my housekeeping team, I appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is my hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Thank you Nuwan Jayasena General Manager
Read more
Bathwickdave wrote a review 11 Oct
Leicester, United Kingdom89 contributions57 helpful votes
I’ve stayed here a few times and keep coming back because the staff make it. I have to pay credit to Carla, Monica, Ben, Susan, Shaun and others who all make the stay feel very warm. The manager is often around checking things so he clearly runs the place well. Rooms are clean and comfortable so I love going back. My only complaint is that the bedroom doors slam shut so if you’re a light sleeper you can be woken early. Parking is £6 a night but it is in a prime spot so not surprising. Thanks for looking after me.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Nuwan Jayasena, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich Centre Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Bathwickdave. Wow 5*. lovely review to read and really pleased you happy on our services. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Very much appreciate your comments and staff are delighted as well with there personal mentions. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind Regards Nuwan Jayasena General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$67 - US$113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
novotel ipswich hotel ipswich, ipswich novotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaSuffolkIpswich
NUMBER OF ROOMS
101
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Novotel Ipswich Centre Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Novotel Ipswich Centre Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Escape Ipswich (0.4 km), Ancient House (0.4 km), and Arcade Street Tavern (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Novotel Ipswich Centre Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Novotel Ipswich Centre Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Novotel Ipswich Centre Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Novotel Ipswich Centre Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ocean Fish Platter, Takayama, and Mariners.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Novotel Ipswich Centre Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Novotel Ipswich Centre Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Ipswich.
Are any cleaning services offered at Novotel Ipswich Centre Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Novotel Ipswich Centre Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Novotel Ipswich Centre Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Novotel Ipswich Centre Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St Peter's by the Waterfront (0.08 km), Pykenham's Gatehouse (0.6 km), and Jean Ingelow House and Archway (0.4 km).