We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grove Guest House

14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Grove Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Grove Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 46: English reviews
South Ockendon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2015

This was my first visit to ipswich and the grove guest house, I stayed here for the one night on the 30 the may, 2015, the room a superior double was of an exceptional standard, it was spotless, the bathroom was exceptional, I was very pleased with the high standard combined with the homely feel to it, it was like...

Thank Deborah H
carolGR, Owner at Grove Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. I'm very pleased that your first trip to Ipswich was made comfortable by your stay with us. Perhaps we will see you again in the future.

Reviewed 20 May 2015

The Grove Guest House was overall a lovely experience - very comfortable and accommodating with nice extra touches (the stocked breakfast fridge was particularly appreciated). The owners were very accommodating with our arrive and check out times, and even had a US-UK travel adaptor to lend. The room was quite spacious and very well stocked. Overall an excellent experience.

Thank Kaleigh M
carolGR, Owner at Grove Guest House, responded to this review

I am very pleased you had a comfortable stay with us. We try and provide everything our guests need during their stay and sometimes a little bit more. I have many adapters that I have purchased or other guests have left behind. It is surprising how many times they are borrowed! We also try, where possible, to be a little...

Reviewed 14 February 2015

I stayed at the Grove guest house for a week in Jan and had the most pleasant experience! Carol was very friendly and helpful. I stayed in room 5, a double bedroom upstairs which was extremely clean, comfy and FULLY equipped with everything I would need for a stay. Included was a TV, Wifi, fridge, microwave, toaster and kettle, lots...

Thank Sarah M
carolGR, Owner at Grove Guest House, responded to this review

What a great review. Thank you so much. I am pleased you enjoyed your room and breakfast and that we supplied everything you required during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Reviewed 2 February 2015 via mobile

Well thank you Carol for a wonderful stay, back in Leeds now after a very comfortable nights stay here, using this as a base to visit my Sister and family, place is very clean and tidy and ye Breakfast in the room is a wonderful idea, and free parking, will be back again Carol, Many thanks Richard and Linda x

Thank richard c
carolGR, Owner at Grove Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time out to review Grove Guest House with such positive words. I am happy that your night here was comfortable and with family close by we hope to welcome you back another time.

Reviewed 6 January 2015

Not the nicest part of town, but this b&b is just great. Contact with Carol before we arrived was polite and efficient. She provided all the information we could ask for. We had the use of a private car park- another plus-. Our room,(no.4), is on the first floor and has a big bay window. It is well furnished, has...

Thank Joe P
carolGR, Owner at Grove Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay. We have had a very good response to the breakfast arrangements here. We feel we offer a different strand to some establishments and choice is all about selecting the product for you. Our close proximity to town outweighs the residential streets, if being near to local amenities and the waterfront is...

Reviewed 14 December 2014

This guest house was lovely, clean, comfortable, friendly accommodation, variety continental breakfast, booked 1 night, couldn't fault anything, would definitely recommend this place. Free parking is an advantage, inside the room is a list of things to do, comfy nights sleep.l

Thank Julie O
carolGR, Owner at Grove Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for adding to our numerous positive reviews. I'm pleased that everything was in place to enjoy your brief stay. Would welcome your return in the future. Many thanks.

Weedon Bec, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2014

I stayed for 1 night in a double room when I was working around Ipswich. The guesthouse is in a reasonably quiet area & free private parking is possible on site which is a huge plus. The accommodation itself is of an excellent standard - my room was located on the first floor & was really clean with a great...

1Thank Bubbles73uk
carolGR, Owner at Grove Guest House, responded to this review

It is always nice when guests take the trouble to leave a review...thank you so much for your positive comments on your brief stay with us. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back when you are next working in Ipswich.

Oldbury, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2014

Before I start, I hope that I do the place justice in the review, truth be told I can't put into word just how fantastic the Grove Guest House is. When booking the hotel, Carol was friendly and courteous. I received a text message with the door code the day before my arrival and found the room immaculate. The parking...

Thank luxton_9
carolGR, Owner at Grove Guest House, responded to this review

Wow what a fantastic review you have left for us. We keep striving to maintain a high standard of customer experience and it seems like we are achieving this! It's good to know that guests have enjoyed their stay, as you clearly did, and all their needs are catered for. Look forward to welcoming you again if you are ever...

Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights . The room was clean and very comfortable. We were told Tea & Coffee facilities in the room but we had much more than we expected ........ a toaster aswell as a kettle . Bread with butter and jam or marmalade in the fridge. Breakfast cereal with milk . Orange juice . Fruit and biscuit...

2Thank Lia D
carolGR, Owner at Grove Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the trouble of leaving us a positive review. I never get tired of reading all our reviews as it is an endorsement of what we are trying to achieve. Obviously all guests have different ideals and expectations but it is good to know when we have reached or surpassed them. Look forward to seeing you again...

Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed for 1 night and were so happy with our room, Carol & Alan think of everything....the variety of items for breakfast was amazing, the room was spotless, the bathroom was lush with huge soft fluffy towels! Carol had even left hand written directions to where we needed to be! you dont get service like this in the big...

Thank 18wendy
carolGR, Owner at Grove Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for rating us 'perfect'! I'm glad we were able to convert you to the personal touch of smaller establishments and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (13)
Room/Suite (7)
Bathroom (2)
Dining (2)
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (8)
Room/Suite (1)
Other (7)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ipswich hotels
2.0 km away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#6 of 18 in Ipswich
447 reviews
1.2 km away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#4 of 18 in Ipswich
805 reviews
0.8 km away
Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
4.4 km away
Premier Inn Ipswich (Chantry Park) Hotel
0.9 km away
The Old Times Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Four Star(Visited England)rated Guest House. Central position in Ipswich. Within short walking distance of town centre, Waterfront, University Campus Suffolk, Regent Theatre, Wolsey Theatre, Ipswich Town Football Stadium. Suffolk Show Ground and Foxhall stadium are a few minutes by car.All ensuite rooms with In-room continental breakfast included in the price. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grove Guest House

Address: 14 Grove Lane, Ipswich IP4 1NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Price Range: $83 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grove Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Grove Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Grove Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 4, where we stayed, had a great view out from the bay window. Also very little noise despite its location near a busy road junction!”
normanm791, 10 May 2016 | Read review
“Room number 4 is on the first floor and has a lovely big bay window.”
joe72p, 6 Jan 2015 | Read review
“I had room 5 which was brilliant, just at the top of the stairs for easy access”
luxton_9, 1 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Oops sorry no pool ticked in error, room choices I think I would prefer the upstairs as downstairs is near front door and the coming and going of others may be a disturbance, however people seemed to respect the quiet.”
rosemarybuzzacott05, 6 Dec 2013 | Read review
“I had room 5 on the second floor. I had a good view from both windows and they allowed for very good ventilation. Nice and quiet.”
2004Retired, 1 Jun 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates