We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel

Save
Share
Belstead Road, Ipswich IP2 9HB England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
3 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$77
View deal
Booking.com
US$66
View deal
Hotels.com
US$77
View deal
Trip.comUS$77
TravelocityUS$77
ZenHotels.comUS$84
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (671)
Room & Suite (223)
Dining (112)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 06/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
Updated 06/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#13 of 18 hotels in Ipswich
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We are an 88 Bedroom Hotel set in our own grounds but only a 5 minute Drive into Ipswich Town centre. The Manor House section of the Hotel is the original part of the building dating back to the 16th century and a lot of the original fittings still remain and this is also the location of the Restaurant . We also have the leisure centre which is free to use for all guests this includes Swimming Pool, Steam room, Jacuzzi, Gym and treatments are available by prior arrangement.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
1520Reviews22Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 485
  • 449
  • 284
  • 163
  • 142
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Joan W wrote a review Yesterday
Glasgow, United Kingdom18 contributions29 helpful votes
We spent two nights here as we were attending a wedding at the hotel. Our twin club rooms were clean and comfortable with a nice view of the brook and little bridge. The grounds of the hotel are nice and we spotted several squirrels. The room had a trouser press as well as an iron and ironing board which was handy. The buffet breakfast had a good choice of both cereal and cooked items. Although the hotel has a spa and swimming pool we unfortunately did not have enough time to use these facilities.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Service
Helpful
Share
PaddyBrentwood_Essex wrote a review Yesterday
Brentwood, Essex69 contributions42 helpful votes
Booked here for two nights and this is night one, we have a garden room, I thought that meant we would have a nice view of the garden, there is white film on the patio doors so you can’t even see out! There are two garden chairs that didn’t have covers, I had to walk to reception to ask for them as the phone wasn’t working, they did bring cushions down but they look dirty so I’m not sitting on them. A guy came to fix the phone but we have unplugged it as it makes a continuous buzzing sound. The room has a musty smell so I’m guessing it’s not used much, the carpet is stained and the room is extremely run down, massive wardrobe and only three hangers! It did only cost £99 a night B&B but they should warn you that you are getting a room that hasn’t been refurbished since it was built, putting mint chocolate crisps on my pillow isn’t sweetening me!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Naomi C wrote a review Yesterday
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed here once before so knew what to expect in terms of tired decor etc. I returned this time with my mum for a murder mystery dinner experience which was separate to the hotel. This was great and I cannot really fault it. We arrived early afternoon for a massage and to use the facilities, again a bit tired and outdated but noting to complain about. Massage ladies were lovely. Our room was smaller than before and very dated. There was a hole in the bedroom door where the spy hole should have been. This was plugged with a terry chocolate orange wrapper and toilet roll left tailing down - just looked awful. The lamp shades were filthy. Upon return to our room after dinner there were people in the coridoor right next to our room playing the piano in the hallway. This was near midnight. It was funny to start with but then got really annoying as they got louder and louder. I phoned reception and this was dealt with quickly. My mum woke up this morning to bites all over her arm, the origin of which we never found. To top it off we were then called to say there was an outstanding balance to pay for a meal that we never had. All in all i feel very disappointed. The outside area is beautiful and i really feel the hotel could be great with some attention and care. In definite need of modernisation. Unfortunatley will not be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Christine S wrote a review 13 Oct
6 contributions
2 day stay with family before/ after my sons wedding. Lovely rooms, great food , excellent manicure and massage helpful and friendly staff. I thoroughly recommend this hotel and restaurant. Couldn't brevity earlier as I'd already reviewed in July.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from MGM Muthu Hotels, Owner at Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Christine S, Thank you for such a lovely feedback and the recommendation. We are very pleased to note that you enjoyed your treatments as much as you enjoyed your stay and your meals. It is our topmost priority to ensure all our guests have a memorable experience and a rewarding stay with us. It was our pleasure to serve you and we will be looking forward to having you back with us again whenever your travels bring you to Ipswich. Best regards, Belstead Brook Team.
Read more
Alice P wrote a review 10 Oct
1 contribution
I had booked a night for my husband and I for our anniversary and was pretty disapointed as the website and reality were on opposite ends. While the grand entrance looks amazing with its nice furniture and marble floors, the rest is a different kettle of fish. The outside bungalow we had been allocated were straight out of the 80s, carpet and curtains still smelled of old tabacco. While it was clean, the smell was pretty bad an followed us home through our clothes. The pool which looked dreamy was ok, but building work were going on, not much zen there. Although, the worst part was the changing rooms. First of all no warning that you needed a padlock rather than a pound coin to use the lockers. Then, the Ladies changing room stunk (like a sewer) and the shower separation panels were filthy, I felt dirtier when I left that I did when I got in. Overall, still more work to be done to bring it to the 21st century. On a positive note, the breakfast was ok.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Avoid the old bungalows outside.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from MGM Muthu Hotels, Owner at Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear W1688OBalicep, Thank you for your valuable feedback and your mixed bag of compliments. We are happy to note that you enjoyed your breakfast. It however concerns us that you were not satisfied with your experience in the leisure club. Your comments have been noted and these will be looked into. We clean our changing rooms every two hours but we are looking towards increasing the same in less interval of time. We do apologize for the inconvenience you had to face and we hope to have another chance to serve you and better your experience with us in a not-so-distant future. Best Regards, Belstead Brook Team.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$59 - US$233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
belstead brook ipswich, hotel belstead brook
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaSuffolkIpswich
NUMBER OF ROOMS
88
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Ipswich Escape Rooms (5.0 km), New Wolsey Theatre (3.1 km), and Ipswich Transport Museum (5.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ocean Fish Platter, Takayama, and The Red Lion.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St Peter's by the Waterfront (2.9 km), Pykenham's Gatehouse (3.4 km), and Jean Ingelow House and Archway (3.0 km).
Is Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.