We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
27 High Street, Stevenage SG1 3AZ England
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$71
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$71
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/10/22
Agoda.com
US$70
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.comUS$71
TravelocityUS$71
HurbUS$85
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (149)
Dining (47)
Room & Suite (28)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 27/07/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 27/07/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 10 hotels in Stevenage
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The newly refurbished Hotel Cromwell used to be the farmhouse home of John Thurloe, secretary to Oliver Cromwell. The alluring hotel in Stevenage's old town centre combines elements from the past with modern day facilities into a stylish decor. This Stevenage hotel is conveniently located close to the A1. London's Kings Cross station is only a 27-minute train ride away from Stevenage Station, which is just 1 mile from the hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
406Reviews2Q+A64Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 239
  • 95
  • 37
  • 18
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
gpaxton wrote a review Yesterday
Fethiye, Turkey28 contributions14 helpful votes
Check in easy. Room was large and very comfortable. Very clean and well appointed. Bathroom had a bath - bonus! Staff very friendly and informative. Only negatives are that, some rooms are a very long way from reception and timed badly, the car park could be full.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If there are functions happening at the hotel, the car park can be full. If so, there are public...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Caro1972 wrote a review Sep 2022
Bedfordshire, UK23 contributions11 helpful votes
Fantastic night at Th Cromwell - the entertainment was amazing as was the service. So well organised and all staff were lovely and friendly. Highly recommend these events, we shall be back for sure! Look forward to our next visit.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rich Cooksley, Other at Hotel Cromwell
Responded 3 days ago
Hi Carol Thank you so much for your review following your visit to see the Dreamettes recently! I am delighted you enjoyed your visit, and hope we can continue to welcome you to our many future scheduled Tribute Nights. Kind Regards Rich Cooksley Cluster Operations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anne Price wrote a review Sep 2022
Stevenage, United Kingdom1 contribution
We had a family lunch at the Cromwell to celebrate our Ruby wedding. We originally had our wedding reception at the Cromwell. We had a room to ourselves and were served a 3 course meal. The food was lovely and the staff really looked after us. We had a lovely relaxed afternoon. Thanks to the staff at the Cromwell.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rich Cooksley, Other at Hotel Cromwell
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you so much for recently choosing Hotel Cromwell to celebrate your Ruby Wedding and entrusting us in such a special occasion. I am delighted you enjoyed your visit and thank you for your review. I do hope we can welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards Rich Cooksley Cluster Operations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sue H wrote a review Sep 2022
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom356 contributions166 helpful votes
Stayed here with my husband on a two night break. The hotel and all members of staff were excellent, quick easy check in and out. Lovely, well decorated room with a fan, tea, coffe, milk, sugar, biscuits. There were proper glass glasses in the room, not plastic. Bedding and towels were very white and soft. Breakfast was excelent, loads to choose from. They will cook you fried/poached eggs if you ask them, they even did fried bread fo my husband. Parking was easy. All in all a great two nights away. Hopefully we will return next year.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rich Cooksley, Other at Hotel Cromwell
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you Sue for your review and for once again choosing Hotel Cromwell. I am delighted to read that you once again enjoyed your visit and thank you for your comments surrounding the staff, your bedroom and breakfast in the morning! I look forward tow welcoming you back again soon! Kind Regards Rich Cooksley Cluster Operations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sm278 wrote a review Aug 2022
4 contributions5 helpful votes
We are staying at the Cromwell hotel whilst we renovate our house, the staff are so helpful and friendly and are making us feel so welcome throughout our stay. The rooms are well equipped and cleaned throughly all the time. Location is great with a car park provided. The hotel also caters for all and being dog friendly Adds a lovely touch to the warm family friendly hotel vibe.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rich Cooksley, Other at Hotel Cromwell
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Sophie Thanks for your review, and I am delighted that you have been made to feel welcome by the team whilst you and your family stay with us during your home renovations! Whilst we will never be able to fully replicate each individuals home comforts, it is certainly something we will always endeavour to provide! Kind Regards Rich Cooksley Cluster Operations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
emmasholidays wrote a review Aug 2022
Gravesend, United Kingdom835 contributions130 helpful votes
We recently stayed 1 night for a family wedding. I would avoid rooms 132 ,134,136 etc as this part of the hotel and rooms along this corridor were extremely hot, even though the summer heatwave had passed. A fan was provided but this had little effect Also bear on mind the hotel allow dogs to stay, we were woken at 7am by a yapping dog going along the corridor, not what you want on a Sunday morning, we also heard it yapping later when we assume it returned from its walk. We stayed for a wedding and the function room and garden area are nice.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rich Cooksley, Other at Hotel Cromwell
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thanks for your review Emma, and I am sorry that you didn't enjoy all aspects of your stay. Our bedrooms don't have air conditioning unfortunately and we don't advertise as such. We do as you have mentioned provide a fan in all of our rooms which is normally sufficient for our guests. I am sorry that you were disturbed by a guests dog. We are indeed a dog friendly hotel, and as part of this we ask all guests with dogs to be courteous to other guests at all times. Thank you for your review. Kind Regards Rich Cooksley Cluster Operations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark M wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
We had our 10 year anniversary and vow renewal here last week and we couldn’t be happier. Lina and Liz were great throughout our booking and with our face to face meetings. On the day Anthony and the team were fantastic helping everything to go smoothly throughout. We stayed in the Nazeby Suite and the room was beautifully decorated and very clean. A touch warm but given that it is in the listed part of the building we knew there wouldn’t be aircon. It’s perfectly place for the function rooms and had loads of space in the downstairs room for the hairdresser. We love the character and history of the Cromwell, and would definitely recommend here, and the team for weddings and events.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Air conditioning is available in the newer part of the hotel but near in mind if you book into...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rich Cooksley, Other at Hotel Cromwell
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Mark Thank you for choosing Hotel Cromwell to celebrate such a special family occasion. Liz, Anthony and the team were delighted to read your review and I am also delighted to read that everything went to plan! I do hope we can see you again in the not to distant future! Kind Regards Rich Cooksley Cluster Operations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Claire W wrote a review Aug 2022
3 contributions
We decided to stay at the cromwell for our first wedding anniversary. We booked the naseby suite. It is really lovely, and we did enjoy our stay. However, there were just a few little things that let it down. Appreciate we've been in a heatwave, but that suite was ridiculously hot. There was a fan, but it was absolutely useless. Quite noisy and no matter what setting it was on, could hardly feel anything coming off it. The coffee table in the lounge is glass topped and whoever had cleaned it had left it covered in streak marks. The toilet paper provided is a really cheap nasty quality, which you wouldn't expect for the bridal suite at all. Only one member of staff made an effort to interact with us and that was Ryan, when we checked in. He congratulated us on our anniversary which was nice. None of the other reception staff or managers engaged with us at all, and when we checked out we weren't asked how our stay was. Some jewellery was lost (not the hotel's fault at all) but when asked if anything had been handed in, there was no care or concern about it at all, just a straight no. The staff came across as quite cold and uninterested, which was a shame as it was a special occasion for us. Only Ryan made us feel welcome.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rich Cooksley, Other at Hotel Cromwell
Responded 19 Aug 2022
Thank you for your review following your recent stay. Firstly, I am sorry to read that you found your room to be hot during your stay. As you mentioned, we have recently had unusually high temperatures, including when you recently stayed. Due to the age of our building, we don't unfortunately have air conditioning in our bedrooms and normally the fan that we provide is sufficient for our guests. I was surprised to read your comments regarding your interaction with our staff, as we place a high attention of our training with our team towards customer interaction. I am pleased to however read that Ryan made you feel welcome, including acknowledging your wedding anniversary. I have forwarded your feedback regarding the toilet paper, and cleanliness of of the table in the lounge area to our Housekeeping Manager. Thank you for your review. Kind Regards Rich Cooksley Cluster Operations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sec wrote a review Aug 2022
Maidstone, United Kingdom56 contributions72 helpful votes
I stayed in one of the executive rooms on the ground floor and was very happy with the standard of cleanliness and room size. Sitting outside in the sun with a cold beer made for a very nice couple of hours. Breakfast was very tasty and lots of it. Very pleased.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms with a door to the car park are 308, 309 and 310
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rich Cooksley, Other at Hotel Cromwell
Responded 11 Aug 2022
Thank you Stephen for your recent review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us in one of our Executive Rooms. We are extremely lucky here at Hotel Cromwell where we get the sun all day long streaming down on our Terrace, so I am pleased that you were able to take advantage of this with a nice cold beer from our Brasserie, Rump and Wade. I do hope we can welcome you back again in the future. Kind Regards Rich Cooksley Cluster Operations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Discover402411 wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
We had our wedding at this beautiful hotel and it was perfect. The staff were fantastic, polite to all guests and extremely helpful. The whole event was flawless and all our guests said how lovely their rooms were. The food was to die for! We are still getting people tellin us how nice it was. The grounds are well kept and our photographer told us he's got some beautiful photos. The events manager was so supportive and helped me with so much. If your looking for a wedding venue I can't recommend The hotel Cromwell enough, our day was perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rich Cooksley, Other at Hotel Cromwell
Responded 11 Aug 2022
Firstly, congratulations on your recent Wedding Day, and thank you for choosing the Hotel Cromwell to host such a special day. The team here at the hotel, from the planning stage through to the execution are very experienced and I am delighted that this was seen during your day. I am particularly pleased to read how good the food was - something that is a vital and important part on such an event. I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel soon! Kind Regards Rich Cooksley Cluster Operations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$80 - US$122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ramada cromwell stevenage hotel stevenage, ramada stevenage, stevenage ramada
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Clarion Collection Hotel Cromwell Stevenage
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHertfordshireStevenage
NUMBER OF ROOMS
77
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Cromwell
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Cromwell?
Nearby attractions include Bike Stop (0.3 km), Red Lion (0.2 km), and Venue Stevenage (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Cromwell?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Cromwell?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Cromwell?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Cromwell?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lavish Bar & Grill, The Fish & Chip Shop, and El bar de tapas.
Does Hotel Cromwell offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Cromwell?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cromer Windmill (7.2 km) and UK’s first roundabout (6.6 km).
Is Hotel Cromwell accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.