We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Express Stevenage

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Stevenage
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

503 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 483: English reviews
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

First visit to Stevenage and first time at a Holiday Inn Express.Hotel in conveniently located in the town centre,booked here for excellent rate (£65 for a family room) There are two highlights here. The staff, and the condition of the hotel. Everyone I spoke with was very friendly and helpful. The reception/bar/breakfast area is smart, our room a good size,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SeveBallesteros
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for a week whilst working in the area. The staff are friendly, the place is clean and the bar reasonably priced. The only downside is the lack of a proper restaurant - hence docking one star. The room is ideal for those of us who work away and will be doing paperwork in the evening - a decent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
Kirsty T, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Steve W. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Holiday Inn Express Stevenage. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed the layout of your room and you found our staff friendly and the cleanliness of the hotel! I do apologise that we do not...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for two nights recently, stranded HIE but have to say the staff were friendly and the guy checking in and out was professional i traveled on teh train and the location for the station is good but not sure i would have been so keen on parking as you have to use a retail park car park. On...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank teifion h
Kirsty T, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review

Thank you Teifion H for your feedback. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly liking the friendliness of the staff and our proximity to the train station. We look forward to your next stay with us. Kind Regards Kirsty DGM

Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arriving late evening after a 5hour drive in horrible weather we received a warm friendly welcome. Our room was clean and comfortable, well lit (many hotel rooms are so dimly lit) with smart showeroom and very comfortable bed. Breakfast was good and the hot selection of sausages,beans and scrambled eggs certainly put a smile on my husbands face.We found the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank poppycatNewcastle
Kirsty T, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It's great to hear that you were able to relax after your long drive, that you found the room comfortable and that you enjoyed the selection at breakfast. I'm especially glad that you found the staff so welcoming, helpful and agreeable. We hope that you'll be in the area again soon so that you can...

York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is where I always stop whilst on business in Welwyn Garden City. All the staff are very happy to help. My room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was fine. I parked over the road in the Matalan car park which costs £5.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John M
Kirsty T, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review

Thank you John M for your fantastic comments! I'm so pleased you enjoy each stay you have with us finding the staff very happy to help and your room comfortable. It's also great you enjoy our Express Start breakfast and took advantage of our parking arrangements with Matalan. We hope to see you on your next business trip! Kind Regards...

Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were very impressed with this hotel. We stayed 2 nights as we were attending a wedding nearby so location was very convenient. Our room was very good, everything in good working order and spotlessly clean. Reception staff were extremely helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisuingram
Kirsty T, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I'm glad that the room and cleanliness were good for you and especially that you found the staff so helpful. We hope that you'll be back in future and that you'll think of us when you are. Simon Beal (Guest Service Manager)

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Have stayed a few weeks here over this year. Breakfast is always the same but worth the stop. Staff is good. Floors are numbered funny, 1st floor rooms start in the 200s. Easy location for train and bus station access. I used the gym next door with the Hotel discount was 3 pounds. Fully equipped.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oldinventor
Kirsty T, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review

Thank you Oldinventor for your feedback. Thank you for returning to us on your trips to Stevenage! I'm pleased you enjoy our breakfast during your stays and take advantage of our discount with the gym next door. I will pass on your comments to the team. We look forward to your next arrival! Kind Regards Kirsty DGM

Winchelsea United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Our room 104 was a good location for us being close to the Breakfast facilities and front desk. It was very cold to begin with and we could not get the air conditioner to heat the room. We rang reception who apologised that they had still got it set on summer and shortly after, the room became warm. The basics...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnnRachlin
Kirsty T, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some of the amenities provided. As I'm sure was explained to you, the air conditioning works from a master system that controls each room, so it was possible that the guest before yourself preferred a lower temperature. I will be passing your comments on about the...

Guernsey
Reviewed 12 October 2016

We just came back from a two nights' weekend stay via booking.com. It was a late check-in on Saturday night and, probably due to the lateness, we did not find the individual on duty at the Reception particularly helpful. That person apart, the rest of the team were ok. The complimentary breakfast consisted of choices of cold continental and hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Guerndonkey
Kirsty T, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm very sorry to hear that some of the staff were not as friendly as they should have been and that the bed wasn't quite as big as you were expecting. I'm also sorry that you didn't find as many toiletries as you expected in the bathroom. We do have a selection of other toiletries...

Gladstone, Australia
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

The main reason for selecting the Holiday Inn Express was that we needed a base for touring around the South of England. We got a very good deal direct from the website. Parking was available for $5 per day at the Matelan car park between 2pm and 10 am only, or the NCP car park for $4 per visit. Alternatively,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim4680
Kirsty T, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Tenterfield_Saddler. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We are also glad to hear that you found our location very convenient. I do apologise that you experienced some problems throughout your stay. However I have made several notes about your review and will be handing this over to...

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stevenage hotels
0.7 km away
Premier Inn Stevenage Central Hotel
0.2 km away
Ibis Stevenage Centre
Ibis Stevenage Centre
#9 of 14 in Stevenage
441 reviews
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Stevenage
Holiday Inn Stevenage
#5 of 14 in Stevenage
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Novotel Stevenage
Novotel Stevenage
#4 of 14 in Stevenage
639 reviews
1.9 km away
Archways Lodge Hotel
Archways Lodge Hotel
#2 of 14 in Stevenage
207 reviews
1.5 km away
Cromwell Hotel Stevenage
Cromwell Hotel Stevenage
#7 of 14 in Stevenage
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Express Stevenage is located off Junction 7 of the A1(M) and is situated in the heart of Stevenage town centre. This Stevenage Hotel is within easy access to bus and train links providing a fast direct rail service to central London and around Hertfordshire, making the hotel an ideal location for both business and leisure travel. If you are travelling on business the Holiday Inn Express, Stevenage is within easy walking and driving distance to some of the local companies within Stevenage such has DuPont, MDBA, Fujitsu and Glaxo SmithKline. London Luton Airport is only 13 miles from the hotel. With the hotel being located within the heart of Stevenage a number of good restaurants and pubs are all within walking distance. If you're looking for that short weekend break or time to relax again the hotel is an ideal choice. Offering family rooms, why not explore the local area and attractions such has Knebworth House, Hatfield House, Welwyn Garden City, cathedral city of St Albans. Take a show at the Gordon Craig Theatre or visit Stevenage leisure Park. Visit London or Cambridge Stay at this excellent Stevenage hotel and ask about our low rates. The hotel also offers 4 meeting rooms. All rooms are newly refurbished, en suite, fully air conditioned with free Wifi and freeview TV. We have a small car park with limited spaces for disable guests, but local parking at discounted rates is available. Guests also benefit from a buffet breakfast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Stevenage

Address: Danestrete, Stevenage SG1 1XB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Stevenage
Price Range: $84 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Stevenage 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Stevenage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Stevenage Hotel Stevenage
Holiday Inn Stevenage
Stevenage Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Stevenage staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Stevenage staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ground floor is good to avoid crowded lifts and to be near to the restaurant/reception area”
 of 5 bubbles AnnRachlin, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We asked for a quiet room and it was.”
 of 5 bubbles stokersam, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“top floor away from lifts”
 of 5 bubbles yvettelisab, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Depending on a travellers needs, ask to check rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 1574, 3 Jul 2016 | Read review
“There is a ramp for wheel chair access”
 of 5 bubbles starlite1959, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay