We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel du Vin Poole

TravelocityUS$134*
View Deal
#5 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$149*
US$134*
US$149*
US$149*
US$134*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel du Vin Poole
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,114 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Vin Poole
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,103: English reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

Recently visited as a couple for a night including dinner and breakfast. We were very pleasantly upgraded from the most basic room to a deluxe upon arrival due to availability which was a very nice gesture. All staff were courteous and helpful throughout our stay. Our room was large with a gorgeous bath to seat 2 and walk-in shower. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Panderys
Clare R, Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete your recent feedback. I am so pleased the team were helpful throughout your stay and I have passed these comments on to them. Next time you stay with us please ensure you request a room on a high floor to make your stay more comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back...

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 May 2016

Ok booked a deal of sharing seafood platter. Great platter was supposed to have come with a glass of bubbly that didn't happen !! Ordered the crab platter arrived really nice. Howevere no crab forks or crab cracker supplied. When asked for some was provided with crab forks but supplied with some nut crackers for claws not satisfactory really.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisb1233
Clare R, Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete your recent review. I appreciate your feed back and have ensured the Bistro Manager has ordered the correct utensils for the crabs on our sharing platters. I am so sorry you did not receive your champagne. Please contact me directly when you are next in the bistro or on the terrace and...

Reviewed 30 April 2016 via mobile

Been there so many times for family occasions. Food is amazing. Staff are amazing. Will continue to go there again and again. The proper posh but casual dining experience. Highly recommend. Service is so quick considering how busy they always are!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bethany E
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 April 2016

I have often dined in Hotel du Vin Bristol and have always had a good experience, unfortunately Poole was very different. I was visiting the area with my cousin for a few days and thought the Hotel Du Vin would be a mid way treat to the break. I phoned at around 3 pm and booked a table for that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 999jamie
Clare R, Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent feedback, and the opportunity to discuss this further. Once again I am sorry we did not live up to our usual high standards.

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Two nights away - caravan at local site or hotel? Difference in cost £16 extra for the hotel. Check in at reception was pleasant, friendly and warming, assistance with luggage from car to room. All room amenities explained and questions answered. Breakfast was excellent. Plenty to choose from, hot food on hot plates. Polite and friendly staff with time to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CPH2016
Clare R, Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review, I am delighted you had a lovely stay and have passed your comments back to the team.

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2016

I visited with a group of four on Monday 18th April for our Ruby Wedding, the food, service and atmosphere were all excellent, nothing was to much trouble. I did not stay in the hotel but definitely will look to book in the future, my only concern would be the hotel only has 8 parking spaces, so you would need...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley M
Clare R, Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to complete your recent feedback. I am so pleased you enjoyed your dining experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel du Vin Poole again soon.

Ringwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2016

With a party of six this evening. I had lamb - not much meat, disproportionate amount of fat, although flavour of what there was was good. Wife had pork belly - not good either. For dessert I had rum baba. Not like any I have had before. Like slightly stale brioche and not much sign of rum. In fairness they...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Trevor G
Clare R, Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am so sorry we have not got things right for you, there seem to be a few teething problems with some of the dishes on the new menu. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you personally if you would like to contact me. dgm.poole@hotelduvin.com 01202 785570

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2016 via mobile

Great couple of nights in the hotel. Amazing service from all of the staff. The receptionist Katie was extremely helpful and I would recommend to friends. Great stay with family and friends. The location is amazing as there is lots to do in poole.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex W
Clare R, Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this review

So pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us and that the staff looked after you during your stay. I have passed your comments back to them, and in particular Katie. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel du Vin Poole in the not so distant future.

Reviewed 15 April 2016 via mobile

A beautiful reception on arrival; gentleman who checked us in walked us to the door of our room, offering to carry our luggage for us. We were in a little building just off from the main hotel which offered beautiful views of the Quay, privacy & a quiet sanctuary to retire to at the end of each day. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Georgia-Mai A
Clare R, Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this review

Dear Georgia, Thank you for your 5* review. I am pleased you had an restful stay with us in Poole and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel du Vin Poole soon. Kind regards Clare

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2016 via mobile

Very friendly staff and the rooms are beautiful, although parking is not great it is worth the short walk from the multi storey as it has a cute and quaint location with very comfortable beds, breakfast is good and the reception staff are very helpful. Dog friendly too which is nice and the rooms are very clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
Clare R, Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this review

Dear Karen, Thank you for your lovely review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and will pass your comments back to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel du Vin in the not to distant future. Kind regards Clare

193 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (174)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
4.5 km away
Harbour Heights Hotel
0.5 km away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
846 reviews
4.4 km away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#9 of 13 in Poole
1,623 reviews
1.4 km away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
0.5 km away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Hotel du Vin Bistro Poole
Hotel du Vin Bistro Poole
Cuisines: European, British, French
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Formerly the Mansion House Hotel, situated close to Poole Quay, Hotel du Vin will open in the Summer of 2008 offering 38 bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and two meeting/dining rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Poole

Address: Thames Street | The Quay, Poole BH15 1JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Price Range: $203 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Poole 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Poole
Hotel Du Vin Poole Dorset
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Poole
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poole
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poole
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel du Vin Poole staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
9 months ago
Rhyl, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
over a year ago
UK
2 months ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel du Vin Poole staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“be careful of the stairs in the annexe”
Edna6, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“An upgraded room proved very worthwhile and is to be recommended.”
I1645NYanneb, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Annexes great for flexibility but back on to the (quiet) road”
joel_marie-helene, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“just ask the staff for the best ones”
andy007007, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“we dined at Hotel du Vin did not stay there”
Nicolelucie, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$134* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$149
TripAdvisorUS$134
Hotwire.comUS$149
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates