We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Taunton House Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Taunton House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Taunton House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 162: English reviews
Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Very pleasant hotel . Has everything you require , breakfast was good, rooms and bathroom very clean. Good car park , great location to town , helpful, accommodating. friendly staff. A little on the pricey side if I'm totally honest. Would stay again if visiting the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 230K123
General M, Manager at Taunton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review, we are very pleased you enjoyed you stay and your breakfast, we do our upmost best to provide customers with excellent service. The price is down to the season in the summer, please keep a look out on our website your find the best rates and lots of offers coming up.

Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Good location for the town center and events at the park with ample hotel parking. Very limited options for breakfast, which was poor. Room was dated. Service lacked professionalism. Poor value for money compared to some B&B's we have stayed. Would stay elsewhere if in the area ever again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MGliau81
General M, Manager at Taunton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review, we are please you liked our excellent location in the town and our free car parking, we are saddened you did not enjoy the breakfast, we offer fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurt, museli, a cooked breakfast cooked to order with local fresh produce, choice of eggs etc. I'm sorry if this was not to your liking, I...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

This was our second stay We find that Taunton House is good value as a b&b. Comfortably furnished, kept clean and with friendly helpful staff (not only did we not check in until nearly midnight, but we also arrived for breakfast after it was closed, but the staff were happy to accommodate us on both occasions) Bathrooms are adequate but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dmashala
General M, Manager at Taunton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay, and that you enjoyed you breakfast. Staff do their up most best to ensure customers enjoy their stay in Taunton. Breakfast is cooked using fresh local produce to an excellent standard.

Altrincham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

We were four of us in two superior double rooms for four nights during the cricket festival week at Kings College school, just about one mile up the road. This hotel is well located for the town centre which offers a large variety of restaurants. The hotel standard was very good. An excellent breakfast but limited for evening meals. Rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steven B
General M, Manager at Taunton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and our great location. We hope your enjoyed the Cricket festival, we hear it is very popular from all of our guests. We provide light meals in the evening either in our bar, restaurant or your room, we always modernise our rooms and keep everything up to date.

Northlew, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 July 2016

The Taunton House Hotel is a centrally located hotel with its own parking. It has recently been redecorated and the rooms are spacious and well furnished. The breakfast was served swiftly and was pleasant. The staff on site are friendly and polite. We travelled as two couples, staying one night, in upgraded rooms, paying on arrival to save time on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Holly D
General M, Manager at Taunton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to write a review, we apologise for the plumbing problems we had that night, unfortunately this was out of our hands, this happens very rarely if ever, the staff did their best to try and resolve the problem as quick as possible with a plunger and a plumber was called straight away, unfortunately the plumber...

Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

Our stay was very enjoyable, however disturbance in the night by a passerby was a bit disturbing, apart from speak to others staying in the hotel nothing was mentioned by owners which was disappointing. Excellent breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannah R
General M, Manager at Taunton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to write a review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay, we are sorry to hear about the disturbance in the night as this was out of your hands, we have a duty manager on site 24 hours if needed for such problems. We are pleased you enjoyed your breakfast.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Quite disappointed with the hotel overall - while the room was quite spacious and the bathroom was pretty modern, the bed was absolutely terrible. The mattress was just worn out and sagged in the middle. For the price of a weekend night I was expecting a bit more but sadly it just didn't meet expectations.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
General M, Manager at Taunton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to write a review. We are saddened you did not enjoy part of your stay. All of our bedrooms and bathrooms are spacious, modern up to date and very clean. We apologise for the mattress we have since replaced the mattress in that room, if you said during your stay we would of moved you...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

Arrived and went to check in. Went to check in desk which was not staffed and there was a message to ring the bell. When someone arrived they "greeted" me with a monotone voice and absolutely no welcoming at all. I was asked to fill in my details and was reminded that there would be a £50 charge if I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kevinmck
General M, Front Office Manager at Taunton House Hotel, responded to this review

I have to write to express my amazement having read your review. On your check out, you asked for a refund or least discount due to the hot bedroom and not having received a fan due to very warm weather. We did not offer a discount as the room was perfectly in order. The staff politely explained due to the...

Reviewed 19 July 2016

Whilst this hotel offers a great location and the rooms are good there was no one around. It was deserted. There was a bell to ring but it didn't seem to summon staff readily. I would choose this hotel over the dreaded Holiday Inn any day but they need to up their game in customer service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tomlondon80
General M, Front Office Manager at Taunton House Hotel, responded to this review

I apologise that you did not receive an immediate response to ringing the bell. During those peaks times the staff could have been on the telephone or dealing with a customer. I'm pleased to hear that you liked your bedroom when you stayed.

Reading,
Reviewed 17 July 2016

We stayed for just one night whilst visiting family. We wanted somewhere close to Taunton town centre. This was perfect. We had room 10 which was a lovely 4 poster room. Large comfy bed, good shower, tea and coffee and really quiet until the seagulls dawn chorus! lovely breakfast and great service from Tasha who couldn't have been more helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Debbie R

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.9 km away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
351 reviews
0.4 km away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
574 reviews
0.8 km away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#14 of 17 in Taunton
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
2.1 km away
Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel
1.0 km away
Blorenge House
Blorenge House
#10 of 17 in Taunton
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Victorian Family Owned Hotel well located in the Town Centre. Built in the 1850's the hotel has retained many gothic features including arched doorways, stained glass windows and a fine oak staircase.The well proportioned bedrooms all en-suite are tastefully designed for your comfort whether corporate or leisure guest.Four Poster and ground floor rooms available. Free internet access Car Park. Licensed Bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Taunton House Hotel

Address: 14 Billetfield, Taunton TA1 3NN, England (Formerly Salisbury House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Price Range: $150 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Taunton House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Taunton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury Hotel Taunton
Taunton House Hotel Somerset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Taunton House Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Taunton House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I stayed in a superior room and it is well worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles sim0nfreeman, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get to breakfast early in case the chef decides to clear off early.”
 of 5 bubbles , 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I would not stay at this hotel again.”
 of 5 bubbles hollyd992, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
“rooms to rear of hotel are quietest”
 of 5 bubbles strobelet, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
“quieter rooms at the back. No lift rooms on three floors”
 of 5 bubbles 988nigelb, 11 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay