We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mount Somerset Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Mount Somerset Hotel
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

594 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Mount Somerset Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 589: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2015

My partner and I live in London and we took advantage of a hot tub getaway offer here at the Mount. The room was incredible, comfortable crisp bed with views out of three windows. There was a sofa, champagne and chocoltes on arival... The hot tub was a delight too - expecially after dark with chilled champagne... :-) The restaurant... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
MSHManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andrew H, Many thanks for your kind review, I am delighted to read that enjoyed your stay with us & especially found the dinning experience memorable. I do hope that you decide to come back to the Mount Somerset again soon, we look forward to welcoming you. Kind Regards More 

Bridgewater, CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2015

We spent one night at The Mount, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel itself is a beautiful old house, and our room was stunning with the most glamorous bathroom ever. Lovely views from our windows of the grounds. Dinner was delicious, and the service was prompt, courteous, and efficient. We had breakfast delivered to our room, and it arrived... More 

Helpful?
Thank hrh2u
MSHManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear hrh2u, Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay with us. We are happy to read that you liked the hotel & enjoyed the food. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards More 

Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2015

A peaceful hotel with lovely views and classy decor. Very comfortable bedrooms with all the facilities one needs to relax and enjoy your environs. The food is very good,superbly cooked with subtle flavours using quality ingredients.The breakfast compote was particularly enjoyable,bursting with flavour. It would have been nice if all of the staff had name badges .It is so much... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank isla001
MSHManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear isla001, Many thanks for your kind review of the hotel, we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Mount Somerset. We will look into the idea of having name badges for the staff for the future. Kind Regards More 

York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2015

It was a disaster from the booking errors to the breakfast and then when they put discount on the bill they added instead of subtracting. Emma was excellent and Dean did his best to sort it out but there are some serious problems here. Not writing it off completly so the in laws are going to try again in a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rosiehylda
MSHManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rosiehylda, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the hotel. My apologies again for the issues you had throughout your experience with the hotel, I am glad you & your other guests took the time to speak to me before you left that morning. I do hope that you give the hotel another try sometime... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2015

My wife and I were spending time in Somerset based around a business meeting so made a weekend of it, and decided to stay at the Mount as a treat. The room was well furnished and clean, the bar food was excellent, and throughout the hotel staff seemed keen to help out as much as they could. Cooked breakfast was... More 

Helpful?
Thank wf1968
MSHManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear wf1968, Many thanks for your review of the hotel after your recent stay. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay, thank you for letting us know your views on some drawbacks that you found we will look into your comments to see if we can make any changes to improve future guests experience. I hope you... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2015 via mobile

Went here for a friend's birthday, we did the 4 hr spa session and afternoon tea. The afternoon tea was ok don't think it was worth £18.50 though. The spa was ok for £15 was small and not many facilities, would of felt crowded if more people were there, (there was 2 of us plus 2 other couples there) Staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank Becky1505
MSHManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Becky1505, Thank you for taking the time to review your time at the hotel, I'm glad that you found the hotel nice & also the staff. Sorry that you felt the afternoon was pricey. Unfortunately the spa is only large enough for the facilities we have, as much as we would love to have more at the moment there... More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2015

We had a business meeting in the room to the right of the front entrance - roomy and clean with period decor. It all felt very authentic. Service was attentive, unobtrusive and diligent. Food good. Would go again for similar or lunch/dinner with my wife.

Helpful?
Thank nickthompson001
MSHManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear nickthompson001, Thank you very much for your kind review of your time spent at the hotel recently, It's nice to read that even though you visited us on business you had the time to appreciate the hotel a little. You should come back for a visit again & maybe treat your wife to a spa day!? Kind Regards More 

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2015

Much about this hotel could qualify as 'luxury grade' and it is very attractive. However, there are aspects that just do not measure up and that is the reason I have, reluctantly, given it only an average rating. I have read some of the other reviews and generally agree that more could be done to upgrade facilities. Reception was somewhat... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Davidk64
MSHManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Davidk64, Many thanks for your review of your stay with us. I am glad to read about the areas & points of the hotel that you enjoyed. Sorry to hear that you have found some problems in other areas. We will be looking at your comments with our teams to rectify the issues that you have highlighted & to... More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2015

A really lovely hotel, fantastic guest room with a Nespresso machine, great restaurant, the food was amazing. The grounds are also really nice, a really great stay. This was a business trip and the conference room facilities worked really well for our team of ten or so attendees.

Helpful?
Thank Alex B
MSHManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alex B, Great to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the hotel, I hope that you get to return to us again either for a meeting again or just for a relaxing stay. Kind Regards More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2015

We visited this hotel last September for a 'baby-moon' and to celebrate our 1 year wedding Anniversary. We were looking to get away from work and relax for a few days but this is not what we got. The hotel is nice to look at and the rooms are very beautiful but the hotel was advertised as a spa getaway... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Felicity L
MSHManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Felicity L, Thank you for your review of your stay last year with us, we have taken on board your views & comments regarding your stay with us & will use them to review our current practices to see where we can make improvements for the guest experience during their stay with us. I hope we can welcome you... More 

510 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (123)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (62)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (350)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Barrington (41)
Viewed
Corfe (39)
Viewed
Donyatt (43)
Viewed
Durston (35)
Viewed
Langport (31)
Viewed
Pitminster (37)
Viewed
Dining (51)
Viewed
The Hotel (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taunton
3.8 km away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
4.8 km away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
574 reviews
5.3 km away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 km away
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wellington
252 reviews
7.1 km away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
126 reviews
3.3 km away
Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
The Mount Restaurant
The Mount Restaurant
Cuisines: British, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mount Somerset Hotel and Spa in Taunton, Somerset is a stunning Regency country house hotel, set in four acres of beautiful grounds. This grand dame of a building sits high upon her mount, cradled in between the Quantock and Blackdown Hills, affording guests some of the best views in Somerset. With its high ceilings, sweeping spiral staircase, opulent decor and a feeling of gentle elegance and luxury, The Mount Somerset has all the characteristics of a quintessential English Regency mansion. Well established as one of the finest luxury hotels and restaurants in the region, The Mount Somerset has won a host of awards including two AA Rosettes for outstanding cuisine and four AA stars for comfort and hospitality, making it the perfect venue for a dinner, a weekend away or a wedding in Somerset. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Mount Somerset Hotel

Address: Lower Henlade, Taunton TA3 5NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Price Range: $185 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mount Somerset Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Mount Somerset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Somerset Hotel
Mount Somerset Taunton
The Mount Somerset Hotel Taunton
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
#7 Business Hotel in Taunton
#8 Family Hotel in Taunton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Mount Somerset Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Mount Somerset Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We did not stay overnight so can't comment on the rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles carolynp24598, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book your meal in advance, ask for a garden room if pos”
 of 5 bubbles MissHRaw, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“It looks like there is a newly refurbished wing - no doubt the bedrooms there would be warmer with double glazing etc.”
 of 5 bubbles 904Marrakech2014, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had a deluxe room which had a beautiful bathroom, bed amazing and looked out onto the garden, I think all rooms are a good standard!”
 of 5 bubbles nevillejoinery, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Select a suite for sheer luxury”
 of 5 bubbles beckinghammrkeithb, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay