We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Culmhead House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Culmhead House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

40 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 39: English reviews
Start your review of Culmhead House
 Click to rate
Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

A really nice and peaceful place. Just what you are dreaming of when you are looking forward to a Devon country side stay. Very nice and very big rooms /apartments with kitchen etc. Clean and prober maintained. All in the right style and atmosphere. Outstanding service and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jørn S
tim r, Owner at Culmhead House, responded to this review

Thankyou for your kind comments...I am so glad the weather improved for you all!

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 21 April 2016

Culmhead house is absolutely stunning! We stayed in Mimosa which was huge for 2 people and baby. We loved it. The breakfast room and grounds are gorgeous. The location is fairly convenient and worth the drive from Taunton as its so quiet and peaceful in the morning. The owners are also lovely and breakfast was good. We would definitely stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shindle
tim r, Owner at Culmhead House, responded to this review

Thankyou for your kind review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope you are having a wonderful time in Portugal and are able to visit us again in the future..

Europe
Reviewed 24 December 2015

My first b&b. I must admit I am always hesitant when staying at other peoples' homes, though a b&b was the only choice in Taunton. Driving through the winding roads, you start to feel separated from the big city/ motorways etc. The innocence and purity of this place is why it is a 5 star. It is just the way...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Martin H
tim r, Owner at Culmhead House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your helpful review. I hope we can welcome you back again in the future.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2015

Very warm welcome from hosts, great care taken to ensure that our time of arrival could be accommodated. Nice style to the accommodation marks it out from the normal B & B. Breakfast good. What more do you need?

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter C
tim r, Owner at Culmhead House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. It really does help

Reviewed 7 June 2015

This was our first visit to Culmhead House though will consider staying again in the future. We were warmly welcomed by the very approachable and friendly team. We had booked the Beech Suite for 2 night stay whilst visiting friends in Taunton. We stayed with our 2 daughters who were very happy with their room with bunk beds! The living...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gareth76
tim r, Owner at Culmhead House, responded to this review

Sorry I overlooked this response! We hope to welcome you back again this summer. We have resolved some issues with the wifi as we have several codes now to access it. Just waiting for some warmer weather to encourage all our rhodedendrons to blossom!

Reviewed 8 April 2015

I stayed here again recently despite some small disappointments experienced on a Previous stay. I was impressed with my room (camellia) especially the excellent walk- in shower room. Well furnished and equipped with good wifi connection. I felt able to relax and had a good nights sleep due to the calm and peaceful atmosphere of the lovely old house and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bob b
Reviewed 28 September 2014

Stayed here on a Saturday night whilst on business in the area. Lovely old country house with great walks in lovely grounds. We had the Beech suite. Bed and breakfast. Good value for two bedrooms full kitchen, lounge and bathroom. Excellent breakfast choices available and presented very well. Cooked English breakfast was a little disappointing in terms of quality and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bob b
tim r, Owner at Culmhead House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. The bathroom was in fact booked in to be re-done the week after your stay and I should have explained this. Also I apologise for the fact you didn't manage to connect to the Wi-Fi. I didn't realise this and would have offered you the use of our hall to connect to BT broadband which...

London, UK
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights as part of a group of 3 people in one of the apartments and it was perfect for our needs; spacious, clean and comfortable with a large kitchen complete with very nice tea and biscuits! The breakfast served by the wonderfully friendly owner was the best you could imagine: fresh strawberries, raspberries, blueberries, all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ThreeHappyTourists
tim r, Owner at Culmhead House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments. I hope we can welcome you back again one day!

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Six members (plus two three year olds) of our family descended on Culmhead House for half term week. Our welcome was warm and friendly, the owners very helpful. Our accommodation was clean, comfortable and the kitchens well equipped. We stayed in 'Beech' and 'Mimosa' a delightful time had by all.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ms_B_Itch
tim r, Owner at Culmhead House, responded to this review

Glad you had such a great time. We hope you can visit again in the holidays and the children can chase the "free range" chickens about!

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Having visited Culmhead House previously, and explored much of the surrounding areas, we were delighted to re-visit as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The weather was much better this time, so we were able to explore the grounds in great detail and make friends with the alpacas / pigs / doves properly! The breakfast is top notch and I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan G

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
8.8 km away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
1.5 km away
Taunton House Hotel
Taunton House Hotel
#17 of 17 in Taunton
172 reviews
1.7 km away
Blorenge House
Blorenge House
#9 of 17 in Taunton
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#10 of 17 in Taunton
128 reviews
2.9 km away
No. 71
No. 71
#12 of 54 in Taunton
40 reviews
1.2 km away
Heathercroft Guest House
Heathercroft Guest House
#22 of 54 in Taunton
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Culmhead House was built in 1850 and offers guests an opportunity to stay in a Victorian Manor House situated 6 miles from Taunton and about 10 miles from the A303 and M5.Our suites are private and spacious and the gardens are there for your enjoyment as well. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Culmhead House

Address: Culmhead, Taunton TA3 7DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Price Range: $166 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Culmhead House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and Travelocity so you can book your Culmhead House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culmhead House Somerset/Taunton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Culmhead House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Suites and rooms are all good quality especially suitable for families wanting multiple bedrooms in the same suite”
 of 5 bubbles N5345JVbobb, 7 Apr 2015 | Read review
“For luxury and romance choose Beech suite four poster room”
 of 5 bubbles michie40, 25 Sep 2012 | Read review
“Speak to the owners and let them help you choose the best room for you.”
 of 5 bubbles Louisgb, 21 Jun 2012 | Read review
3 of 3