We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.
Save
Share
High Street, The Royal Town of Sutton Coldfield B72 1UD England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (56)
Dining (28)
Room & Suite (12)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Updated 28/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Townhouse Hotel
Updated 28/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#10 of 10 hotels in The Royal Town of Sutton Coldfield
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Townhouse Hotel is a fine example of a traditional Georgian house, set in the town center of Sutton Coldfield. We offer great food, drinks and live music,and a bed to rest your head all in a super comfortable and relaxed environment.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Nightclub / DJ
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Outdoor furniture
Show more
Room features
Desk
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
233Reviews0Q+A28Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 39
  • 43
  • 38
  • 36
  • 77
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
fimonkey wrote a review Dec 2021
uk88 contributions131 helpful votes
The good. My facemask broke, I got one 4 for free. The shower is hot & powerful (don't look at mould on shower head), mattress is comfortable. Bad: Receptionist did not inform me of checkout time, nor give a wifi code, or receipt. Only forthcoming after I asked & other guests were served in the meantime. When you book you are told about noise until 3am. They are NOT joking! This was booked by someone else so I was unaware. It is incredibly loud! Screeching, bass, banging on walls: The nightclub is at the foot of your bed. It closes at 3am but the noise of 'guests' leaving continues to 3.45am. Even earplugs won't help. Windows are single pane and no ventilation. The windows do not open, nor could we turn off the heater. There is a ridiculous amount of condensation so lots of furry mould on the windowpanes. Disgusting and a health hazard. The bathroom window opened, but conversely didn’t lock when shut and there was a fire-escape, flat roof, and chair next to this window, therefore the room is NOT secure. The handle to the door is wobbly, the carpet was filthy with onion skin on it (who takes onion into a hotel room?) We fell asleep at 4am, rudely woken at 10am by the cleaner letting themselves into the room. There was no knock on the door beforehand and they said that they hadn't been provided with a list of which guests were in the rooms or checked out. I have travelled a lot; this is easily the worst place I have ever stayed! Made my unhappiness known as I checked out.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Alex Suburban Inns, Marketing at The Townhouse Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hi there, we're really sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with us. If you wish to discuss it further please get in touch at hello@thetownhousesutton.co.uk
Read more
Katherine E wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
Decided to pop in to the Townhouse on friday for some drinks. We were thoroughly impressed with the service, our drinks arrived quickly and the staff we're really friendly. We will definitely be coming back in the new year!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Alex Suburban Inns, Marketing at The Townhouse Hotel
Responded 5 weeks ago
Thank you Katherine! We look forward to seeing you again soon
Read more
Carl Jenkins wrote a review Dec 2021
Birmingham, United Kingdom1 contribution
Went out with friends for a Christmas night out and heard live music so had to go in! Mother Popcorn were great and the drinks were reasonably priced. Service was great and was thorughly impressed, would go again
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Alex Suburban Inns, Marketing at The Townhouse Hotel
Responded 5 weeks ago
Thank you Carl :)
Read more
LouiseAlisonzzz wrote a review Nov 2021
Solihull, United Kingdom52 contributions53 helpful votes
I booked this place 2 months before the date as wanted food with friends before a gig at The Townhall which is behind this place. Nightmare had LOADS of emails off them to ask if I still wanted the booking? I replied each time to say I did. Then had emails stating if I didn't pay a deposit they would cancel my booking? Plus we had to pre order food? This was 19/11/21. I spoke to Pola on the phone who confirmed the above. Best of it was the booking was for 4 people at 5.00 pm? There was NO ONE in there? What was all the faff? Jokers would not bother again. Big con to get more money out of you.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Alex Suburban Inns, Marketing at The Townhouse Hotel
Responded 3 Dec 2021
Hi Louise, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We're sorry you had a negative experience with your booking! Please email us at social@suburbaninns.co.uk if you wish to discuss your experience further
Read more
Johnathan P wrote a review Nov 2021
6 contributions1 helpful vote
Headed from Derby to Sutton with work and found this place online, it’s totally unacceptable for this place to be described as a Hotel! A hotel has to offer basic things, one being…….customer service. Rude staff from the moment we arrived then poor food, lacking standards of any kind with a dirty environment and even for the low room rates it was disgusting. Old rotten windows, dirty bathrooms with mouldy sealant complete lack of care of any sort. Breakfast was an ‘added extra’ I say this in inverted commas as it was again poor, overcooked greasy and cheap sausages with dry bacon and over cooked egg. Shocking by all accounts and the owner/manager should hang their head in shame at calling this a hospitality business. I would never return and since reading the other reviews and seeing this is part of a group I will never visit the others within the group either. Disgusting
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Avoid the Townhouse
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alex Suburban Inns, Marketing at The Townhouse Hotel
Responded 22 Nov 2021
Hi Jonathan, We'd like to express our apologies for the service you received on your visit to The Townhouse, this really is not the kind of experience we strive to deliver to our guests. Could you please email social@suburbaninns.co.uk with some more information about your experience so we can investigate this further? Thanks, The Townhouse
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$88 - US$112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Royal Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandWest MidlandsThe Royal Town of Sutton Coldfield
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Townhouse Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Townhouse Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Sutton Park National Nature Reserve (0.4 km), Sutton Park Sutton Coldfield (0.4 km), and The Pint Pot (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Townhouse Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Townhouse Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to The Townhouse Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bashundora, Simpsons Gin Bar, and Asian Grill.
Does The Townhouse Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a banquet room and conference facilities during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to The Townhouse Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Middleton Hall & Gardens (7.3 km).