We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2 Firbeck Avenue, Skegness PE25 3JY England
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 13 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (132)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (6)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#5 of 74 Speciality lodging in Skegness
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
We extend a warm welcome to all our guests staying at the Monsell Hotel. We are an hotel offering a friendly service in a quiet residential area of Skegness. We are situated within a 5 minute walk from the beach, promenade, shops and many local attractions. Skegness coach and train stations are only a ten minute walk away. All our bedrooms are fully en-suite with free Wi-fi and flat screen TV. Our bedrooms are newly decorated and furnished and have been designed with your comfort in mind. Free tea and coffee facilities are available in all rooms. We have a large separate dining room and offer an option of a free continental breakfast. The Monsell has a key fob door entry system and a large car park. We also have a large comfortable bar/lounge with TV.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Car park
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Highchairs available
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Express check-in / check-out
Wifi
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
336Reviews4Q+A56Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 198
  • 55
  • 27
  • 15
  • 41
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Col B wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
I recently stayed at the Monsell Hotel The staff were very welcoming and friendly from the time we arrived to the time we left. The room was clean and tidy with onsuite facilities and the food was great too. The hotel is situated within two minutes walk from the sea front and the many shops and bars that skegness has all there's left to say is exerlent I wiould definitely recommend the monsell and will definitely use again .
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Karen W wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
Weekend away with my son, can't praise the place enough and looking forward to returning, thanks for a lovely break and Tom has promised to brush up on his darts for a return match with Paul. Great family atmosphere and so welcoming we made a point of getting back to the hotel to spend a few hours every day with our new friends
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Monsell Hotel, General Manager at The Monsell Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, thank you for your superior review, it is so nice to have real genuine nice guests like yourself give reviews. We really enjoyed your company at the Monsell hotel and look forward to welcoming you back any time you wish as it was a pleasure having you stay at the Monsell Hotel and we hope to see you again soon, once again thank you.
Read more
Carol J wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
We were very warmly welcomed at our recent stay at the Monsall Hotel Lovely room. Very clean & extremely comfortable beds. The Breakfast was superb. Plenty of it! As much tea/coffee as we wanted. We shall definitely be booking again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Monsell Hotel, General Manager at The Monsell Hotel
Responded 11 Oct 2021
Dear Guest, thank you for your superior review, it is so nice to have real genuine nice guests like yourself give reviews. We really enjoyed your company at the Monsell hotel and look forward to welcoming you back any time you wish as it was a pleasure having you stay at the Monsell Hotel and we hope to see you again soon, once again thank you.
Read more
Carol M wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
Stayed at the monsel hotel but very disappointed .left after one night stay even though booked and paid for two .beds was terrible .double bed sank in middle ,single bed could feel springs right through to surface.sink seperare to shower in bedroom so have to come from toilet to wash hands in bedroom .pillows hard and very dark room dark .avoid room elaven if you intend to sleep .will not return to this hotel
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Monsell Hotel, General Manager at The Monsell Hotel
Responded 6 Oct 2021
Dear Guest, thank you for your review, we do appreciate you taking the time to do this and we have looked into the problems and grievances that you have had at the hotel. We wish you had mentioned you were not happy before leaving and we could of sorted out your concerns and allocated another room for you. We note you only used the double bed, upon servicing the room you had a suitcase on the single bed and it clearly had not been slept in, so we were surprised by your comments on both beds, also we disagree with your comments about the double bed as the mattress has been checked and found to be perfectly fine. It is quite standard for some rooms in Skegness hotels to have the occasional room with the basin in the room which we unfortunately can do nothing about and we fail to see how you consider the room to be dark. The Monsell hotel is known for giving good value, excellent service and is one of the most frequented hotels in Skegness with many returning happy customers month after month. Once again thank you for staying at the Monsell Hotel.
Read more
susan j wrote a review Sep 2021
17 contributions
Stayed here with our friends for four nights, our rooms were lovely very clean, beds were very comfy, breakfast was fantastic and cheap, we all agreed this was the best breakfasts we'd had in a long time, sat in the little bar in the evenings, prices were extremely reasonable, Paul and Sonia were lovely hosts, nothing too much trouble, location is great, few minutes from shops, would definitely recommend and we will definitely be going back. Thank you Paul and Sonia for making our stay wonderful.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Monsell Hotel, General Manager at The Monsell Hotel
Responded 21 Sep 2021
Dear Guest, thank you for your superior review, it is so nice to have real genuine nice guests like yourself give reviews. We really enjoyed your company at the Monsell hotel and look forward to welcoming you back any time you wish as it was a pleasure having you stay at the Monsell Hotel and we hope to see you again soon, once again thank you.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$51 - US$75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLincolnshireSkegness
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Monsell Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Monsell Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Embassy Theatre (0.5 km), Skegness Aquarium (0.3 km), and Skegness Clock Tower (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Monsell Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at The Monsell Hotel?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Monsell Hotel?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Monsell Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tarantino, Coffee Bean, and Trawler's Catch.
Is The Monsell Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Skegness.
Are there any historical sites close to The Monsell Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Burgh le Marsh Heritage Centre (6.6 km).