We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Railway Sleeper Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Railway Sleeper Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 89: English reviews
Start your review of The Railway Sleeper Lodge
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Spent 3 nights in room 4 on the upper level. Very well appointed room with a comfortable bed. Experienced noisy young men in room one which disturbed the night in Friday. Following nights no problem. Lovely hot shower to start off the day. Finally most important spotlessly clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol F
Kim D, Owner at The Railway Sleeper Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay with us and we are delighted to hear that you found our place to your liking. We are obviously sorry to learn that one one of the nights fellow guests were noisy and even though we do our utmost to remind guests to consider other guests particularly at night with regards...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great hotel was our 2nd stay can't wait for the next 1.was very clean and warm beds were comfy lovely bathroom . facilities in the room were really good. Great distance from the town and train station also on bus routes

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank foxhayley5
Kim D, Manager at The Railway Sleeper Lodge, responded to this review

Haley Thank you for your your lovely review of our Lodge which will be of great benefit to the travel community in deciding location and comfort within their budget. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Kim

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ideal location to stay. Secure allocated parking. Comfortable room well equipped with good amenities. Very clean warm and quick check in/out self service. Close to train station and A12 Room at the rear of premises very quiet. Will stay again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank swrigh_690741
Kim D, Owner at The Railway Sleeper Lodge, responded to this review

we really appreciate it when guests take time to provide us with feedback and not only through the booking channel booking.com but here on Trip Advisor which reaches such a wide audience. Thank you once again and we look forward to being able to accommodate you again in the future

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2017

I stayed overnight during easter weekend and although it is classed as budget accommodation, the rooms are well equipped and well presented decor, also with complementary drinks (coffee, hot chocolate, squash, bottled water and orange juice)The room i stayed in was a triple room with plenty of space for my two dogs and me, i have stayed in the double...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank occtopussy
Kim D, Owner at The Railway Sleeper Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you ever so much for your detailed feedback which we really do take note of. Its great to hear both you and your dogs had a pleasant stay and we look forward to seeing you and your dogs again in the future.

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

It's self check, so you won't see staff, but that was ok. Loved the complementary water and orange juice in the fridge. It was spotlessly clean. Beds comfy. The power shower was excellent and the towels nice and fluffy. Would benefit from a couple of hand towels though

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui T
Kim D, Owner at The Railway Sleeper Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for feedback which we find really valuable in helping us to maintain and imrove our business - kind regards

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 April 2017

Fantastic place especially for the independent traveller. The management of this accommodation is excellent with all in-room equipment labelled and with instructions where necessary. Lovely little extra touches like water & juice in the mini fridge when you arrive, disposable plate & bowl in microwave & even disposal cutlery! They really have thought of everything! Would highly recommend this budget...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 367cher
Kim D, Owner at The Railway Sleeper Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you ever so much for taking the tiome to post your comments on Trip Advisor, it means a lot to us and and really appreciate your recommendation.

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

When booking this room I had in mind my self and my 4 year old daughter ... I booked a family room as I wanted a bed each now I could of booked a twin if there wa a choice and I wanted a bath for her not a shower ... I booked my family room for them to change...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mum20103
Kim D, Owner at The Railway Sleeper Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor which is so widely used and well regarded. I note this is your 6th review and all of them have been either poor or terrible which I am sorry to say, judging from your comments may be more to do with how you felt at the time than the actual accommodation...

Marbella, Spain
Reviewed 13 February 2017

We stayed at The Railway Lodge for four nights as needed somewhere close to the station every morning. A short walk into town and Asda just around the corner, the location of this little place is pretty good. The room was good, little fridge, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities and other nice touches like free orange juice and water...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alex G
Kim D, Owner at The Railway Sleeper Lodge, responded to this review

Alex thank you for your detailed feedback and I can see that you are a very active reviewer on Trip Advisor which is good to see. We are very pleased to hear of the many good points you have made about your stay and our operation but obviously disappointed to learn of the couple of negative points you have raised....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

I stayed at the lodge in Mile End road following a recommendation. It was great as it was in the same road as my son whom I was visiting . I stayed there with my granddaughter . The room was basic but very clean. Beds were comfortable and shower was great . The room was warm and had wifi. Although...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SuRi148
Kim D, Owner at The Railway Sleeper Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide such informative feedback and we are pleased that we were able to meet your requirements and more and look forward to you staying with us again in the future regards kim

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Very good reasonably price very clean and tidy everything you need is there would definitely go there again well done Close to centre and easy enough to find Quite a steep climb up stairs to first floor so would request lower level if required Great to be able to take dogs too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Kim D, Owner at The Railway Sleeper Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback which is greatly appreciated and we are pleased to hear you and your dog had a pleasant stay. We look forward to being able to accommodate you again some time in the future.

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colchester hotels
2.6 km away
Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
1.6 km away
Blue Ivy Hotel
Blue Ivy Hotel
#7 of 23 in Colchester
115 reviews
1.6 km away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#10 of 23 in Colchester
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Premier Inn Colchester (A12) Hotel
2.0 km away
GreyFriars
GreyFriars
#5 of 23 in Colchester
150 reviews
6.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This is a lodge and is on a room only basis but all rooms have a microwave and a mini fridge located close to the mainline railway station servicing London Liverpool Street and Colchester General Hospital and also very close to Western Homes football stadium. There is ample parking and free wifi unlimited. Not only are there plenty of excellent pubs, restaurants and take-aways walking distance from The Railway Sleeper Lodge. Historic Colchester town offers much more. There are numerous activities such as visting Colchester Castle, the superb Castle Park as well as many other landmark buildings you would expect to find in Britain's oldest recorded town. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Railway Sleeper Lodge

Address: 172 Bergholt Road, Colchester CO4 5AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Price Range: $94 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Railway Sleeper Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Railway Sleeper Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Railway Sleeper Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Boston, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Boston, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Railway Sleeper Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Back of the Lodge is probably better”
  • Great Power Shower
  • All the things you need!
  • Comfortable bed!
466alexg, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“try to ctay at the back away from main road rooms2 and 3”
philiplW3145LB, 3 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Self contained and tidy, quiet location, close to bus and rail stations.”
SFrancis2015, 4 Aug 2015 | Read review
“If you can, request a room at the back of the house, as room one is right by the road and you get a lot of noise from passing traffic”
626natashap, 1 Jun 2015 | Read review
“All the rooms we had were fantastic”
andysK6055XP, 25 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates