We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Brook Red Lion Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Brook Red Lion Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

350 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 339: English reviews
Kent
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here for two nights in November/ December. Room was small and dingy, and the shower just about dribbled out the rather dirty shower head. Breakfast was poor, served in a soulless room (despite it being historic beams, and ancient fireplace etc), with no background music or similar, so you could hear everyone else's conversation. Bacon greasy, eggs hard! Coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frequent_hotel_user
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked for a 3 night break, lovely little hotel lots of character it has so much potential but was overall a bit disappointed. Room 8 was very small, the bed was a small double and wasn't suitable for 2 people would have been more suited to a single traveller. We couldn't sit and have a drink at the bar because...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanna2909
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful historic hotel. Warm in the room. There the positive ends. Shower was a trickle. Electrical socket cover was loose. Flooring missing behind the toilet. Dining room cold breakfast dried up. No white toast available. Some of the breakfast items missing waiting for a delivery on two consecutive mornings. Staff mainly uninterested. Would not come back again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juligi
DUmmat, Director at Brook Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Juligi Thank you for your comments today. I am naturally disappointed to read that you were disappointed with the efficiency of the shower in your room and our breakfast service during your visit . I will investigate these points with the GM ,Mr Davies to ensure that we do not experience similar issues for future and returning guests. We...

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had booked for afternoon tea using a gift voucher. On arrival there was some confusion amongst the staff about where we should sit, but we were eventually shown to what was described as a 'lounge' but really felt like a corridor! It was a tiny area which only had 3 tables in it, and had a doorway at either...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison W
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a disappointment. Presentation poor. Service awful. Had booked this as a get together with 2 girlfriends. One of which is Gluten intolerant....which I advised when I booked. When we arrived we were given our Prosecco and advised the food will follow shortly. I reminded the waitress of the Gluten free option. ...she went to check and advised Chef had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DAN69LAURA68
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Well the building is amazing a beautiful old coaching inn. Full of beams and character But the menu is stuck in the 1980's The food was awful !! It's been many years since I've experience such awful food. No imagination and was cold My friend sent hers back twice then gave up The service is woeful too Best avoided

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jenny M
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were given a voucher valued at £34 for afternoon tea. This was about to expire, so we decided to use it while doing our Christmas shopping. This was the only place in Colchester on the deal, and it was clear that they were expecting a large number of voucher customers. Now this is a restaurant where you can have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shandy526
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 2 nights, its a lovely old Tudor hotel, room was lovely and clean, bed and pillows were comfy, even got complimentary biscuits as well as tea and coffee, the staff were welcoming and polite. The only issues I had was, the heating was on constantly and there was no knob on the radiator to turn it down,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vikkimccabe
DUmmat, Director at Brook Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear vikkimccabe I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at The Brook Red Lion Hotel and I would like to thank you for taking a moment to share your wonderful comments for us on this site today. It is always very rewarding and a great boost for Mr Davies and his team to...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Treated to tea by friends but the experience wasn't as special as we'd hoped it would be. The waitress was busy and stressed, and everything felt very rushed. They had "run out of cake stands" so the food was plonked on the table on plates. We had to remind her to bring our drinks. I can't fault the food but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Loraine D
DUmmat, Director at Brook Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Loraine D Thank you for your comments today and I am sorry to read that you left the Hotel disappointed with our service levels on this occasion. We do have a very strong and dedicated team at the hotel and I can only apologise if our staffing levels left us stretched at the time of your visit. Thank you...

colchester
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I went there on a groupon voucher which was 3 courses for two for 20 pounds. Usually these deals have either really limited choice or some other drawback. It is a historic building and as we showed some interest the waitress brought out some literature on it. My husband had home made wild mushroom soup and I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pennyrColchester
DUmmat, Director at Brook Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear pennyrColchester I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent Sunday lunch in the historic setting of our Parliament restaurant. The new General Manager , Mr Davies, Chef and the restaurant team have worked closely on the new menus and it is wonderful to read that you appreciated their efforts. Thank you for taking a moment to review...

124 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colchester hotels
0.1 km away
George Hotel of Colchester
George Hotel of Colchester
#20 of 24 in Colchester
533 reviews
1.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester
0.3 km away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#7 of 24 in Colchester
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Blue Ivy Hotel
Blue Ivy Hotel
#9 of 24 in Colchester
84 reviews
0.4 km away
GreyFriars
GreyFriars
#5 of 24 in Colchester
102 reviews
7.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Red Lion Hotel was built in 1465 and is in the centre of Colchester, Britain's oldest recorded town. The historical building has original Tudor features, including wooden beams.The Red Lion Hotel is one of the oldest inns in the area. The hotel is a short walk from the shops and Colchester Town Rail Station is 500 metres away. Hotel Rooms: 24 ... more   less 

Additional Information about Brook Red Lion Hotel

Address: 43 High Street, Colchester CO1 1DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Price Range: $93 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brook Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Brook Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Colchester
Colchester Red Lion
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Brook Red Lion Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Essex, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Brook Red Lion Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid the front rooms, High Street is like a war zone at night!”
 of 5 bubbles Frequent_hotel_user, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't choose room 8, had I have known they had a larger room with a 4 poster bed when I was booking I would have chosen 1 of them”
 of 5 bubbles Joanna2909, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a comfy bed!”
 of 5 bubbles Juneska, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you want boring go to the back , if you want the character oldy Worldy ones ask for the older rooms at the front”
 of 5 bubbles harry357uk, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Just used the restaurant, didn't stay at the hotel so can't comment on that side of the business”
 of 5 bubbles c0ffeebar0n, 19 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay