We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Brook Red Lion Hotel

Save
Share
Traveller (124)
Room & Suite (243)
Dining (46)
Overview
  • Excellent23%
  • Very good26%
  • Average19%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible20%
Travellers talk about
“resident ghost”(7 reviews)
“afternoon tea”(26 reviews)
“sunday lunch”(10 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Meeting Rooms
Free Parking
3 Star accommodation
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (434)
Filter reviews
420 results
Traveller rating
99
103
80
53
85
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
99
103
80
53
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsresident ghostafternoon teasunday lunchfour poster bedwooden beamssconeshistoric hotelcentre of towngood nights sleepcharacteraliceangelavenueessex
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 420 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed for a recent wedding,although the hotel was nice the manager was rude, swore in front of guests and I think she been drinking!! This lady ruined it for us and should not be working in a customer services role!! Pauline was lovely and very...More

Thank fabricletters
Response from DUmmat, Director at Brook Red Lion HotelResponded 1 week ago

Dear fabricletters I am very sorry to read that you were disappointed following the wedding you attended at the Brook Red Lion Hotel. It is very unusual for me to read anything other than praise for all the staff at the Red Lion , who...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed here back in Feb. Was perfect as we had a party to go to in the town centre so didn't need to taxi anywhere. Parking is available at a multistory carpark a few minutes walk from the hotel and they...More

Thank purpleorange89
Response from DUmmat, Director at Brook Red Lion HotelResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear purpleorange89 We appreciate your feedback today and since your stay last February the hotel has seen some changes . We have a strong and dedicated housekeeping team committed to ensuring excellent housekeeping standards throughout and we have begun a rolling programme of redecoration in...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

good value enjoyed it good service quiet just right for couples would like to try afternoon tea next olde world place quaint and looks nice venue for weddings real napkins lol will definitely visit again with or without grouponMore

Thank cat-woman1961
Response from DUmmat, Director at Brook Red Lion HotelResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear cat-woman1961 We are delighted to read that you enjoyed dining with us last Sunday and thank you for your kind feedback and comments today. Chef will look forward to welcoming you back for a tempting Afternoon Tea and please let us know if you...More

Reviewed 5 July 2018

I purchased a groupon and booked for afternoon tea for 4 people. We had a few special requests and I had emailed the hotel asking if they were possible. (Decaffeinated tea and no fish in the sandwiches) when we arrived we were greeted with a...More

Thank Sue A
Response from DUmmat, Director at Brook Red Lion HotelResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Sue A I am delighted to read that you enjoyed this wonderful and very quintessential tea tradition at The Brook Red Lion Hotel and that all the changes made by Chef were perfect for your dietary requirements. The china definitely adds to the occasion...More

Reviewed 24 June 2018

The hotel, which dates back to Tudor times, is steeped in history and occupies a great location in the centre of the High Street. The rooms are comfortable, the breakfast was good and the cost was very reasonable – what more does one want or...More

Thank JM1510
Response from DUmmat, Director at Brook Red Lion HotelResponded 25 June 2018

Dear JM1510 We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in Colchester and that you loved all that our beautiful Grade 1 listed Tudor building has to offer. It was a pleasure for us all to welcome you to the hotel and we...More

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Non-Smoking Hotel
Meeting Rooms
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$63 - US$147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$63 - US$147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (124)
Room & Suite (243)
Dining (46)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Kerrie W
20 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from briancT4411DN | Reviewed this property |
Yes it is in the high street
0
Votes
Mick P
31 May 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from redli0n1 | Property representative |
Hi Mick We usually take bookings up until 9.30pm. With regards to last orders - if there is no-one in the restaurant it could close as early as 8.30pm. Best to book and guarantee a table!
1
Vote
anton610872
27 April 2015|
Answer
Response from RLHGeneralManager | Property representative |
Check in is any time after 2pm and the reception is manned 24/7
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Some rooms are supposedly haunted howeve, doesn't that make things more exciting?!"
Read review
"Rooms over the alley/lane a noisy"
Read review
"Room not near the front of building"
Read review
"Rooms at the rear of the hotel are quieter."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing