We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Brook Red Lion Hotel

Save
Traveller (124)
Room & Suite (243)
Dining (46)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent23%
  • Very good26%
  • Average19%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible20%
Travellers talk about
“resident ghost”(7 reviews)
“afternoon tea”(27 reviews)
“sunday lunch”(9 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Meeting Rooms
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (429)
Filter reviews
415 results
Traveller rating
97
102
79
52
85
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
97
102
79
52
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsresident ghostafternoon teasunday lunchsconeshistoric hotelfour poster bedwooden beamscentre of towngood nights sleepcharacteraliceangelavenueessex
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 415 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this venue for my wedding (4th May 2018). Before the big day me and my now Husband had a couple of meetings with Angela the General Manager who was keen to make sure she had all the information recorded in order to make...More

Thank tinacarri
Response from DUmmat, Director at Brook Red Lion HotelResponded 1 week ago

Dear tinacarri We are delighted that you, your family and friends had such a memorable day together. It was a pleasure for Angela and all her team to assist you in getting everything perfect for you on the day. Thank you so much for taking...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel blurb always extols the property but I did expect more than I experienced. Excellent location. Very tired furnishings. Good breakfast. With a little effort this could be a great historical hotel.More

Thank JourneytimeSA
Response from DUmmat, Director at Brook Red Lion HotelResponded 1 week ago

Dear JourneytimeSA We are disappointed to read that the hotel's decor did not quite meet with your expectations but thank you for your comments and feedback today. We are pleased that you found us ideally located for your visit to Colcheter and that you enjoyed...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked two nights stay in room 7 with a four poster bed. Certainly not dissapointed. Wonderful staff nothing was to much trouble. I love everything about this hotel it's like going back in time. Lots to see and do in Colchester.More

Thank lynnefromchester
Response from DUmmat, Director at Brook Red Lion HotelResponded 1 week ago

Dear lynnefromchester We are delighted that you had such a lovely break away celebrating your Ruby Anniversary and thank you for taking a moment to write so generously about your stay. It was a pleasure for Mrs Abell and her team to welcome you to...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location is excellent. The history of the building very interesting. Great breakfast with fantastic , charming staff. We were made to feel very comfortable by the manageress Angela together with her reception team. Debbie and Paul.More

Thank paulnash2010
Response from DUmmat, Director at Brook Red Lion HotelResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Debbie and Paul Thank you for choosing to stay with us whilst tin Colchester and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed the history surrounding our beautiful Grade 1 Listed building in the heart of the town. It was a pleasure for Angela...More

Reviewed 1 May 2018

Another 2 days spent at this lovely hotel, always great to see Angela and big thanks to Angela for sorting out problem when I arrived at hotel, there was also a wedding going on and if I decided to get married again I would definitely...More

Thank Carole S
Response from DUmmat, Director at Brook Red Lion HotelResponded 5 May 2018

Dear Carole S Thank you for choosing to stay with us once again and it was a pleasure for Angela and all the team to look after you whilst in Colchester. It is lovely to read also that the wedding looked so inviting ! The...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Colchester
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Meeting Rooms
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$65 - US$141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$65 - US$141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (124)
Room & Suite (243)
Dining (46)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Kerrie W
20 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from briancT4411DN | Reviewed this property |
Yes it is in the high street
0
Votes
Mick P
31 May 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from redli0n1 | Property representative |
Hi Mick We usually take bookings up until 9.30pm. With regards to last orders - if there is no-one in the restaurant it could close as early as 8.30pm. Best to book and guarantee a table!
1
Vote
anton610872
27 April 2015|
Answer
Response from RLHGeneralManager | Property representative |
Check in is any time after 2pm and the reception is manned 24/7
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Some rooms are supposedly haunted howeve, doesn't that make things more exciting?!"
Read review
"Rooms over the alley/lane a noisy"
Read review
"Room not near the front of building"
Read review
"Rooms at the rear of the hotel are quieter."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing