We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Premier Inn Colchester Town Centre

Save
Share
30 St. Peters Street, Colchester CO1 1EW England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
FindHotel
PremierInn.com
Trip.com
Destinia.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (47)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (6)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 27/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Premier Inn Colchester Town Centre
Updated 27/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#10 of 22 hotels in Colchester
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Britain's oldest recorded town is now home to new generation bedrooms, each featuring an impressive 40" flat screen TV, bright, modern bathroom with a large shower head, and a brand new, slumber-inducing, king-size Hypnos bed at Premier Inn Colchester Town Centre. Immerse yourself in history and nature at Colchester Castle and Colchester Natural History Museum. Or, stay firmly in the 21st-century in the town's many high street shops and bars. If you fancy venturing further afield, Colchester Zoo is a 15-minute drive and there are lots of pretty Essex villages in the surrounding area such as Wivenhoe, home to Essex University.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
Car park
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Business
Languages Spoken
English
817Reviews10Q+A63Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 464
  • 209
  • 76
  • 33
  • 35
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
jomca wrote a review 19 Oct
Belfast, United Kingdom266 contributions131 helpful votes
Just not what I expected from a Premier Inn.....The staff :( ....... it was like interrupting and walking into someones house, not everyone wore uniforms, talked constantly very loudly about their dramas..... they need retrained in customer service and the fact that they are there to do a job and provide a service not hang about together like a youth club. There was never no one on check in, you had to hunt around the hotel for someone, The windows not opening are a major no no...even just a little bit to let some fresh air in. The rooms were very claustrophobic, i did not sleep well. The pillows were thin the room was warm and stuffy even with the circulated air on.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
sarahodwyer1973 wrote a review 4 Oct
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
The £120 per night was not worth it. The staff are wonderful the whole hotel is being refurbished. Not worth the money per night, I've stayed before, I was very disappointed. No evening meals offered. 3 rooms later I checked in. Windows don't open. Stuffy rooms. No fresh air. I won't stay again unless the windows are able to open, dirty windows, walls need painting, the air con was hit and miss. The carpet needs replacing badly. The lighting is dull in your room.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Zia Mohammed Quader wrote a review Sep 2021
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom47 contributions29 helpful votes
A nice stay with family. Very conveniently located at the centre of the town, also right next to the Castle park. I can’t fault any of the facilities. Staff were amazing. Car park is small but there is a NCP car park just three minutes away. Surely we will return.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Angie O wrote a review Sep 2021
Argaka, Cyprus5 contributions5 helpful votes
I’ve stayed in lots of Premier Inn’s all over the country and this one is the worst I’ve ever stayed in. Started off with no bath, why show photos of baths when you can’t offer this to everyone. Shower is rubbish and had no guts in it. Beds are uncomfortable and pillows very thin, didn’t sleep both nights and woke up with a neck ache. Car park full, half the car park was gated off, and not in use. Rooms are smaller than normal and not as clean, especially bathroom floor. No toilet roll, had to go down and ask. Reception not staffed, I phoned several times before my stay and no one answered. Locked out of room/ lift at 11 on the last day, so had to wait for reception to reactivate card. All in all a very disappointing stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Whitbread Hotels and Restaurants, General Manager at Premier Inn Colchester Town Centre
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi, Thank you for your review. We’re very sorry that you had a disappointing stay with us recently due to so many issues with your room. This certainly isn't the experience we would expect for you. We’ve ensured this feedback has been logged to the Hotel Management team so that they can look into these issues with the team to prevent this experience from being repeated again in the future. Thank you for taking the time to contact us and we hope we can welcome you for a more enjoyable stay in the future. Kind regards, James
Read more
Mark S wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
Hotel was lovely great location. Booked dinner for Monday evening. The guy who checked me in was very helpful and polite he was also serving in the restaurant and did a lot to make us all feel welcome. However the other lad jack I think his name was, he was more interested in talking to guests about how he hurt his neck that morning with a person he met. Don’t feel this is appropriate in a restaurant also spent a lot of time on his phone with headphones in talking. Not what’s expected. Think he’s the manager as he was in different uniform to others.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$37 - US$88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEssexColchester
NUMBER OF ROOMS
85
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Premier Inn Colchester Town Centre
Which popular attractions are close to Premier Inn Colchester Town Centre?
Nearby attractions include Castle Park (0.4 km), Colchester Castle Museum (0.2 km), and Hollytrees Museum (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Premier Inn Colchester Town Centre?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and meeting rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Premier Inn Colchester Town Centre?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Premier Inn Colchester Town Centre?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Premier Inn Colchester Town Centre?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Premier Inn Colchester Town Centre?
Conveniently located restaurants include North Hill Noodle Bar, Sip & Tuck, and Mirra.
Are there any historical sites close to Premier Inn Colchester Town Centre?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Roman Circus Visitor Centre (1.0 km), Dutch Quarter (0.2 km), and The Claudius Gateway (0.5 km).
Does Premier Inn Colchester Town Centre have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is Premier Inn Colchester Town Centre accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.