We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Bedford Swan Hotel

Save
Share
The Embankment, Bedford MK40 1RW England
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$88
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/02/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$84
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/02/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$88
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/02/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.comUS$84
TravelocityUS$84
eDreamsUS$88
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (38)
Room & Suite (33)
Dining (30)

About

#18 of 19 hotels in Bedford
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Hotel is situated in a stunning town centre location overlooking the river Ouze and just 30 minutes from central London. Enjoy a perfect night's sleep in one of our stunning bedrooms with AC, flatscreen television, and high speed internet access as standard. We offer a fantastic range of dining options, including our Brasserie Pen & Cob which has become a welcome addition to the hotel offering freshly prepared British cuisine and open all day. We also have a guest lounge where you can enjoy a coffee or afternoon tea. 24 hr room service is available, and in the summer enjoy Al Fresco dining or drinks on our terrace overlooking the river. The Hotel is the ideal destination for conferences and meetings, and is tailor made to suit the individual requirements of all our customers. With its superb location and stunning setting, the Hotel is also a popular venue for weddings and functions. Please note that we close at 5.00pm on Sunday for food but our bar remains open until 10.30pm
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
River View
Languages Spoken
English
54Reviews1Q+A16Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 21
  • 11
  • 8
  • 5
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sadie wrote a review 23 Jan
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Best part of the experience was the receptionist Diana. She was really helpful, assured and friendly !!! Bed was a bit small for my liking, and the car parking machines weren’t user friendly, but otherwise no complaints. Would defo go back !
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Franco russo wrote a review 8 Jan
2 contributions1 helpful vote
What can I say new years day at the Swan Hotel russo family 👪 had a fantastic day food Michelin 🌟 standard spoilt by staff lovely setting ambience could not fault the day Welldone Gareth ur doing a fantastic job 👏
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Rich Cooksley, Other at Bedford Swan Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your review following your recent visit! I am delighted you had a fantastic day and thank you for your kind comments about both our food and staff. I will ensure your comments are passed onto Gareth in which he will be delighted to recieve! I hope we can welcome you back again in the near future. Kind Regards Rich Cooksley Cluster Operations Manager
Read more
Tony S wrote a review 1 Jan
21 contributions10 helpful votes
Very nice hotel in the centre of Bedford with lovely views of the River Ouse, the staff are friendly and professional we stayed on New Year’s Eve when the hotel was extremely busy and did not experience any issues with service levels the rooms are of a high standard as you would expect, we would definitely recommend this hotel and look forward to staying again in 2022.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Car parking can be a problem if hotel is fully booked best to arrive as early as possible.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Rich Cooksley, Other at Bedford Swan Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your kind review Toni. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your recent stay with us on New Years Eve and found that despite the variety of events taking place which is typical for this night you did not find this to affect your individual stay in anyway. I am pleased to read that you would recommend us and I very much look forward to you returning this coming year. Kind Regards Rich Cooksley Cluster Operations Manager
Read more
sylvie l wrote a review 1 Jan
Biggleswade, United Kingdom47 contributions29 helpful votes
First New Year since 2019 that we could go and celebrate so when we saw that the Swan in Bedford were advertising an event we decided to book which included a 3 course evening meal with canapes and a glass of bubbly on arrival a stay overnight and breakfast in the morning plus most importantly entertainment. This consisted of a disco as well as the main entertainment. this was a gentleman called Michael Clews. We had never seen or heard of him before but were not disappointed. He was brilliant. Great entertainer got the whole audience going and had a great voice. Would definitely book to see him again. It was also nice to have a boogie. We had a nice room in the hotel fridge tea making facilities. All the usual stuff you would expect in a hotel and a lovely Thank you the Swan. P.s. the only thing I would add is if you are driving to park in the multi storey which is only a short walk from the hotel and is 24 hour with night security.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Rich Cooksley, Other at Bedford Swan Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your review Sylvie following your recent visit to the Bedford Swan in which you attended our New Years Eve Gala Dinner. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit, in particular the entertainment provided by Michael Clews. Michael is a regular of ours and never fails to impress and we will continue to enjoy his entertainment at the Bedford Swan this coming year. I do hope we can welcome you back again in the future. Kind Regards Rich Cooksley Cluster Operations Manager
Read more
Vanessa S wrote a review Dec 2021
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom50 contributions23 helpful votes
+1
I stayed at The Swan Hotel Bedford on Christmas Day night, after a really lovely lunch with the family. The room was for 1 person and did not give good value. The wall light was hanging off the wall, with just the electric wires holding it up. The TV was fixed at an angle, and was also loose. There was a burn mark on the carpet by the bathroom door, and there were marks over all the furniture from hot cups being placed on them by previous customers. The only saving grace to this room was the immaculate bathroom. My room was overlooking the dustbins and when they emptied the bottles into the bins, and rubbish, it was loud and not what I was expecting, for the price I paid. The breakfast on Boxing Day was poor quality. The food was only just warm and the plates were cold so even the first mouthful of bacon was already stone cold. There was only cold milk for the coffee, so that was also cold to drink, and I used very little milk, so the coffee wasn’t hot to start. Then customers had to ask for more coffee as the jugs were empty. There were no bowls for cereal and the staff member said it would take a while as she needed to go downstairs for some more., so I didn’t bother with cereal. This was the 8.30 so they surely should know how many would be in for breakfast. Very disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Do not get a room at the back, especially overlooking the dustbins.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rich Cooksley, Other at Bedford Swan Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Vanessa Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Bedford Swan Hotel. I am sorry to read that your stay was not up to the standards that you would expect and felt that you did not receive value for money. I am sorry that certain aspects of your bedroom were not up to standard in terms of Maintenance and Housekeeping. I have reminded our team of the importance that all requirements are reported to enable them to be fixed or resolved prior to a guests arrival. Breakfast is one of the most important meals of the day and I am sorry that we did not quite get this right for you. Due to a large event taking place in our Restaurant on Boxing Day, breakfast was served in a different area of the hotel to its normal location but this should not effect the experience and service our guests should receive. It is clear from your review that we got some things wrong this morning for which I would like to apologise and would like to assure you this will be discussed with the Food & Beverage Manager. I do hope that despite the issues you experienced during your stay you would consider staying with us again. Kind Regards Rich Cooksley Cluster Operations Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$85 - US$155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBedfordshireBedford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
113
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bedford Swan Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Bedford Swan Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Don't Get Locked In Escape Rooms (0.5 km), The Higgins Bedford (0.1 km), and Panacea Museum (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bedford Swan Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Bedford Swan Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Bedford Swan Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Bedford Swan Hotel?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bedford Swan Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Indiya, Tana Thai, and Amici.
Is Bedford Swan Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Bedford.
Are pets allowed at Bedford Swan Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Bedford Swan Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Bedford Swan Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Bedford Bridge (0.08 km), Willington Dovecote and Stables (5.5 km), and Dame Alice Almshouses (0.5 km).
Does Bedford Swan Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.