We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

d'Parys Hotel

Show Prices
#11 of 17 Hotels in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
d\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

216 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 213: English reviews
Start your review of d'Parys Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We had a lovely stay here. Rooms were certainly different in style but had a luxurious feel. We had dinner in the restaurant, my roast beef was delicious and my husbands spiced duck equally so. A non-typical menu all well presented with friendly staff. Will definitely try and stay again next time we're in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jill p
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My fiancée and I had dinner here over christmas and he wanted to come back for his birthday as we enjoyed it so much. Food was tasty and well presented. Staff were friendly and attentive. We enjoyed a few cocktails which were lovely! We both would definitely come back again. My only criticism was the vegetarian options available, there weren't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hollyashpole
Management response:

Hi Hollyashpole, Thank you very much for your kind words. We have fed back to the kitchen in regards to the vegetarian options and we will be looking at a variety of specials that we can put on in the future to help widen the choices. Many thanks, Kevin

Flitwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staff attentive and friendly. No sea bass available so had fish and chips as alternative fish had lots of bones and the pea puree was cold it was disappointing really. However others in the group enjoyed their meals. Nice place but food over priced but I would visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dogluva111
Management response:

Hi Dogluva, I do have to apologise in regards to the bones in the fish and chips you received on this particular evening. We have brought it to the attention of our fishmongers as it is not pleasant to have bones in your meal. I look forward to your next visit and the fish & chips minus the bones. Many...

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I am a frequent customer of this establishment and again the service/quality of food has been below par. Forget the expensive/quirky decor as that's what you are paying a premium for. Decided to meet friends for breakfast and having ordered a modest eggs Benedict x 3 and one full English I had in my mind it wouldn't be long before...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank olivermurray7
Management response:

Hi Oliver, Thank you for feeding back to us in regards to your visit for breakfast. We are currently looking at changing our breakfast menu and incorporating a filter coffee machine that would allow people to help themselves to as many cups they would like. I apologise for the delay on food on this particular and hope that you return...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Had Grandaughter's 21st birthday celebration meal here.Kevin,the Manager was very nice and helpful.The meal was very good, although I thought it was a little expensive especially for the amount on my plate for the main course. The starters were exceptional and quite large, in fact I could have just had 2 starters and would have been happy. Charlie served and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank She66_13
Management response:

Hi She66_13 Thank you for your kind words in regards to your visit with us. We look forward to your next visit. I have however passed on your feedback to our head chef in regards to the menu and we will look at how we can improve this going forward. Many thanks again, Kevin

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

My partner and I booked the trip as a getaway for New Year's Eve for a change of scenery. The property has clearly had a thorough refurbishment and is situated in a great spot of Bedford. Upon check-in, we were given our keys to the opulent room - a word of warning if you do have mobility issues please bear...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
Management response:

Dear Aimee & Robert, Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us regarding your stay. We have since taken measures to ensure the breakfast is being served as is stated on the menu and that the outcome of the conversations had met your approval. Should be in Bedford again please do not hesitate to give us a call...

Oldham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

What a gem ! Stayed here on business on a Thursday night.Allocated room 14 which is separate from the hotel at the rear,where the car park is located . Beautiful room , the only fault is that all the radiators were on full blast and the main one could not be turned off , however we didn't contact staff to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hibberty
Management response:

Hi Hibberty, Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to your next visit. By then our new menu should be in action and you will have all new temptations for your food options. Many thanks, Kevin

Widnes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, and really liked it. It's quirky, homely and cosy. We didn't have our evening meal here as we wanted to eat out, but we did have an hour in the bar at the end the evening and it was lovely sat by the open fire. The breakfast was great and the young lady in charge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank missislee
Management response:

Hi Missislee, Thank you very much for your kind words and we hope you will choose to join us again in the future. Many thanks, Kevin

Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 January 2017

Went here for the first time for a family meal on my sons birthday, Impressed with the décor and the garden area, less so with the food, The crab cakes were clearly frozen and barely warm but most disappointing was the " De parys burger stack" 3 tiny burgers in a stale bun advertised as "smothered with cheese" but couldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dodge2017
Management response:

Hi Dodge2017, I am very sorry our food did not meet yours and our own very high standards. I will be passing this on to the kitchen team and ensuring that all our food comes as advertised. Our Crab Cakes are not a frozen product and are made in house so I will pass on the feedback regarding flavour and...

UK
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

Been here twice with friends for a meal and drinks.... I must say the food is very nice however, the service is not great! It is also quite expensive... After my first visit i thought i would give it the benefit of the doubt but unfortunately it hasn't improved.. the surroundings are very nice and the ambience is lovely.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patlar82
Management response:

Hi Patlar, I apologise that our service was not up to scratch on the given days that you chose to join us. We are always trying to improve and we are working very hard to improve our guest service. Hopefully you will see the difference on your next visit to us here. Many thanks, Kevin

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bedford hotels
0.9 km away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#7 of 17 in Bedford
1,523 reviews
3.1 km away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 17 in Bedford
652 reviews
1.0 km away
Embankment Hotel
Embankment Hotel
#13 of 17 in Bedford
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Pilgrims Progress JD Wetherspoon Hotel
2.4 km away
Woodland Manor Hotel
Woodland Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
310 reviews
11.1 km away
The Sharnbrook Hotel
The Sharnbrook Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sharnbrook
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to d'Parys - the home of premium d'rinking, d'ining, and d'reaming located in the heart of Bedford on De Parys Avenue. D'Parys is an all fresh food restaurant, a d'istinctive city bar, a coffee and tuck shop offering nostalgic sweets with handmade cakes and gelato with 14 d'reamy bedrooms. We celebrate Bedford's brewing, education and industrial heritage using exposed bricks and iron to create a unique and frankly rather random mix of Victorian style and contemporary design. We are casual not formal making d'Parys a great place to enjoy a Saturday night treat; a catch up with friends over a mid-week coffee; a place to bring the kids for homemade ice cream before a trip to Bedford Park; somewhere for meetings with business colleagues; or the first choice for the paper over a freshly cooked breakfast at the weekend after a relaxing overnight stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about d'Parys Hotel

Address: 45 De Parys Avenue, Bedford MK40 2UA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Price Range: $103 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — d'Parys Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your d'Parys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Parys Bedford
De Parys Hotel Bedford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from d'Parys Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from d'Parys Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our bedroom number 10 has got the bath in the bedroom”
 of 5 bubbles coppers321, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Call the staff and ask for advice - they're helpful by inclination.”
 of 5 bubbles NigelA513, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 9 is worth a visit”
 of 5 bubbles kevinsmith51, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If the roof leaks leave immediately and go to another hotel”
  • Nice to wake up to this
  • good job this didn't fall on us
 of 5 bubbles jv27, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Bring ear plugs.”
 of 5 bubbles mtaylor001, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5