We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

d'Parys Hotel

Show Prices
#11 of 17 Hotels in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
d\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

211 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 209: English reviews
Start your review of d'Parys Hotel
 Click to rate
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had Grandaughter's 21st birthday celebration meal here.Kevin,the Manager was very nice and helpful.The meal was very good, although I thought it was a little expensive especially for the amount on my plate for the main course. The starters were exceptional and quite large, in fact I could have just had 2 starters and would have been happy. Charlie served and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank She66_13
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I booked the trip as a getaway for New Year's Eve for a change of scenery. The property has clearly had a thorough refurbishment and is situated in a great spot of Bedford. Upon check-in, we were given our keys to the opulent room - a word of warning if you do have mobility issues please bear...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
Management response:

Dear Aimee & Robert, Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us regarding your stay. We have since taken measures to ensure the breakfast is being served as is stated on the menu and that the outcome of the conversations had met your approval. Should be in Bedford again please do not hesitate to give us a call...

Oldham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a gem ! Stayed here on business on a Thursday night.Allocated room 14 which is separate from the hotel at the rear,where the car park is located . Beautiful room , the only fault is that all the radiators were on full blast and the main one could not be turned off , however we didn't contact staff to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hibberty
Management response:

Hi Hibberty, Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to your next visit. By then our new menu should be in action and you will have all new temptations for your food options. Many thanks, Kevin

Widnes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for one night, and really liked it. It's quirky, homely and cosy. We didn't have our evening meal here as we wanted to eat out, but we did have an hour in the bar at the end the evening and it was lovely sat by the open fire. The breakfast was great and the young lady in charge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank missislee
Management response:

Hi Missislee, Thank you very much for your kind words and we hope you will choose to join us again in the future. Many thanks, Kevin

Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Went here for the first time for a family meal on my sons birthday, Impressed with the décor and the garden area, less so with the food, The crab cakes were clearly frozen and barely warm but most disappointing was the " De parys burger stack" 3 tiny burgers in a stale bun advertised as "smothered with cheese" but couldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dodge2017
Management response:

Hi Dodge2017, I am very sorry our food did not meet yours and our own very high standards. I will be passing this on to the kitchen team and ensuring that all our food comes as advertised. Our Crab Cakes are not a frozen product and are made in house so I will pass on the feedback regarding flavour and...

UK
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

Been here twice with friends for a meal and drinks.... I must say the food is very nice however, the service is not great! It is also quite expensive... After my first visit i thought i would give it the benefit of the doubt but unfortunately it hasn't improved.. the surroundings are very nice and the ambience is lovely.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patlar82
Management response:

Hi Patlar, I apologise that our service was not up to scratch on the given days that you chose to join us. We are always trying to improve and we are working very hard to improve our guest service. Hopefully you will see the difference on your next visit to us here. Many thanks, Kevin

Thrapston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2017

My Wife and I have visited d'Parys on three occasions now and it is becoming our go to 'night away from the kids' choice locally. Sitting just a short walk from Bedford town centre on one of the towns broadest and prettiest boulevard's (yes...Bedford has boulevards!) and the large central park, it is a picturesque boutique hotel and restaurant. Food...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pesman66
Management response:

Hi Pesman, Many thanks for all our feedback regarding your rooms, we are currently undertaking a review of the rooms in regards to giving them a sparkle. Hopefully on your next visit you might see some things have changed for the better. Many thanks, Kevin

Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

What a great evening with friends - 23 of us together to celebrate NYE. Food was excellent, very good service, gave us the 'library' for ourselves. Couldn't ask for a better service. Very accommodating to our requests, great 3 course meal. Charles, the waiter, was excellent at communication - some deaf guests, he positively interacted with them through gesturing. All...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin J
Management response:

Hi Kevin J, Thank you for the great feedback it was a pleasure having you here on New Years Eve and we hope you will join us again in the future along with helping us ring in 2018. Have a fantastic 2017 and we look forward to your next visit. Kevin

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 December 2016

The second time we have stayed at this hotel with my family. This is a querky hotel with old wooden doors fixed to the ceiling. This is still a great place to stay with good food and friendly service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronald T
Management response:

Hi Ronald T, Thanks for the wonderful feedback we look forward to welcoming the family again soon. Kind regards, Kevin

Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

The service we received today was awful. After being sat for 30 min we were told our order had been mixed up, 10 minutes later realised our first course hadn't'been put through, then when our second course came out not even what we had ordered. This took an hour to get our first course. After complaining to the manager he...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 80LiveTravel
Management response:

Hi 80LiveTravel, I do apologise for the frustrating experience you had with us in December. Unfortunately the issues were down to human error and occasionally this does happen we are incredibly sorry it happened to you and that is why we did look after the entire bill. I am certain your next visit to us will be more fruitful and...

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bedford hotels
0.9 km away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#7 of 17 in Bedford
1,500 reviews
3.1 km away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#3 of 17 in Bedford
638 reviews
1.0 km away
Embankment Hotel
Embankment Hotel
#13 of 17 in Bedford
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Pilgrims Progress JD Wetherspoon Hotel
1.0 km away
Verve Hotel
Verve Hotel
#16 of 17 in Bedford
42 reviews
1.0 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to d'Parys - the home of premium d'rinking, d'ining, and d'reaming located in the heart of Bedford on De Parys Avenue. D'Parys is an all fresh food restaurant, a d'istinctive city bar, a coffee and tuck shop offering nostalgic sweets with handmade cakes and gelato with 14 d'reamy bedrooms. We celebrate Bedford's brewing, education and industrial heritage using exposed bricks and iron to create a unique and frankly rather random mix of Victorian style and contemporary design. We are casual not formal making d'Parys a great place to enjoy a Saturday night treat; a catch up with friends over a mid-week coffee; a place to bring the kids for homemade ice cream before a trip to Bedford Park; somewhere for meetings with business colleagues; or the first choice for the paper over a freshly cooked breakfast at the weekend after a relaxing overnight stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about d'Parys Hotel

Address: 45 De Parys Avenue, Bedford MK40 2UA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Price Range: $132 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — d'Parys Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your d'Parys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Parys Bedford
De Parys Hotel Bedford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from d'Parys Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from d'Parys Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our bedroom number 10 has got the bath in the bedroom”
 of 5 bubbles coppers321, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Call the staff and ask for advice - they're helpful by inclination.”
 of 5 bubbles NigelA513, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 9 is worth a visit”
 of 5 bubbles kevinsmith51, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If the roof leaks leave immediately and go to another hotel”
  • Nice to wake up to this
  • good job this didn't fall on us
 of 5 bubbles jv27, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Bring ear plugs.”
 of 5 bubbles mtaylor001, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5