We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

859 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 830: English reviews
Cheshire
Reviewed 1 February 2016

I was looking for somewhere local to home in Altrincham to hold my 50th birthday party. I did not know it well, but do go occasionally for business lunches. My wife and I met with Helen, the conference manager, and agreed to go with the Bowdon Hotel. She was very professional and we were impressed with her. She kept us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BowcockFamily
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time out to write this positive review and pleased that you had a good party and that your parents enjoyed the stay. Very much regret if any offence was caused by a member of staffs comment and whilst I believe this was meant as a joke at was out of order and have made this very...

United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2016 via mobile

Hotel rooms were nice and airy. They need to sort out the showers though, as it was not even a trickle! And the heating was on constantly, so much so it made me feel ill and you could not turn it off. One bath towel and one hand towel for 2 people.... Really! And hairs in the bath... Yuck Beware...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iamasleepyboyz
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing this review about your recent stay. I do accept the hotel has been rather hot in the recent past caused by two issues the first being a fault with a boiler control and the second by the unusually mild weather we have experienced, whilst of little consolation the heating issue has now been resolved. Very sorry...

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 January 2016

I stayed here recently on a business trip and fortunately didn't have to stay in my room too long. It was clean and a good size with tea & coffee making facilities; but with peeling paintwork, clashing colours (curtains red, wall purple), archaic heating with no control, shabby stained carpets, cracked tiles in the bathroom and obvious water leaks on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pinklady9
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly my thanks for taking the time to write this review which appears to be a game of two halves, so good points and some not so good. Very sorry to hear that you were disturbed by noise from other guests but a little confused by your comments about the phone connection as we have no voice mail facility. Had...

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2016

we stayed here the night before our flight as we had to be up at 3am. never will i stay here again. the food was ok but our friends found a black hair in the pasta dish and the response from the member of staff regarding this was shocking. to be honest i think they just couldn't be bothered. they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie H
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review

As this review is associated with the previous review there is little point repeating comments previously made but regret you did not enjoy your visit. Paul Rodgers General Manager

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 January 2016 via mobile

My family and friends stayed at this hotel prior to transferring to Manchester Airport for ease of transfer for our holiday, we were informed that they were expecting 160 guests that evening for a party but it would not interfere with our reservation, ooh how wrong they were !!! Firstly we ate at the restaurant and was disgusted and sickened...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank khaley31
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review

Clearly a bad night caused in the main by a number of very inconsiderate guests attending a function at the hotel but not sure how we could have foreseen this prior to the event. I do believe we have communicated on this subject through another channel so there is perhaps little point in going through this again but do very...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 January 2016

Stayed here night before a very early morning flight (3.30am wake up call). Our group of 8 adults and one child felt like we were a burden to the staff from start to finish. Staff were rude, there was 160 people attending a do that night which made our stay even more unpleasant. The noise from other rooms around us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EmWal36
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for writing this review but regret you had cause to complain and firstly offer my sincere apologies. At the time of your stay we did have a large party in the hotel with many of this group also staying overnight, sadly a few were rather unruly and caused significant noise levels which is both unexpected and most uncommon. There...

London
Reviewed 25 January 2016

We stayed one night in this hotel. Arriving at 2 pm Sat, checking out at 11am Sunday. It fit the bill just fine for a quick one night stop in Hale, but I wouldn't want to stay any longer! While the staff are very friendly and helpful (I must stress, lovely people), it is a very poorly managed and inefficient...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OggyDoggy
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing this very detailed review of your recent visit and regret that the hotel temperature caused so distress and inconvenience. During the time of your stay we did experience a fault resulting in a heating valve jamming open, whilst of little consolation to you now this was subsequently replaced and normal temperatures have returned. I fully accept...

Grantham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 January 2016

We had returned on an overnight flight from Cuba and were tired and jet lagged. We told the reception staff this and asked for a quiet room. They put us in room 3 and opposite in the Ashley suite were a noisy group even at 5pm attending one of their two functions that night. The noise got progressively worse as...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sue m
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review of your recent visit on your return from holiday in Cuba. I was very sorry to learn of the noise disturbance which was most regrettable but was aware that we did have several complaints of this nature caused by a few very inconsiderate clients. Every effort is made to accommodate...

Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2016

never ever again, bad management, we had our evening meal cancelled one week before our trip then when we arrived we were informed they were not doing breakfast the next day, which had all been paid for,, no offer of a refund, absolutely disgusted with the place

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank carlyn67
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly I am sorry you have formed such a poor impression of our hotel but guess things should be put into context. This booking was for New Years Eve made through a third party who were made aware that normal restaurant service was not available many months ago but do regret the confusion or inconvenience this caused. Breakfast is available...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 January 2016

we stayed here in December before flying from Manchester as part of a hotel and parking package, we asked for a quiet room and found we were put in a room on the ground floor (felt like a basement) next to the boiler room which was not quiet. We used ear plugs and still could not sleep so at approx...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JonJ785
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry to learn of the disturbance but pleased we were able to move you to more suitable rooms. Despite the regrettable problem I was pleased to learn that the staff did a good job Paul Rodgers General Manager

147 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (125)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altrincham
1.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Manchester Altrincham Cresta Court Hotel
1.7 km away
Premier Inn Manchester Altrincham Hotel
3.3 km away
Altrincham Lodge
Altrincham Lodge
#5 of 6 in Altrincham
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
3.9 km away
Manchester Airport Marriott Hotel
6.7 km away
The Airport Inn Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel is ideally located for both commerce and leisure in Manchester City Centre and South Manchester including Trafford Park, Sale, Wilmslow and Knutsford. Conveniently close to the M56 and M6 motorways and Manchester International Airport. All standard rooms have en-suite bath and shower, Interactive TV (Internet access, PlayStation, Exclusive Movies), hairdryer, trouser press, direct dial telephone, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel

Address: Langham Road, Altrincham, Trafford WA14 2HT, England (Formerly Bowdon Hotel Altrincham)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Trafford > Altrincham
Price Range: $97 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The steps up to the reception are very step but there is a ramp not clearly indicated and sadly the outer door is not always open .”
 of 5 bubbles Chris91_11, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the first floor. Second floor rooms are in the eaves and cramped.”
  • room in the eaves did not feel spacious
  • Bathroom looked OK but shower leaked water everywhere
 of 5 bubbles NeilRBBath, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the Langhan or Langham suite downstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles mackem1971, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We were on Front of Hotel. No views just overlooking the road and car park.”
 of 5 bubbles Jude642014, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I'm not sure that there is a good tip I could give you. Best Of Luck.”
 of 5 bubbles BrianBeck, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5