We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Captain Hotel B & B

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Captain Hotel B & B
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Captain Hotel B & B
See the most recent reviews
Showing 59: English reviews
Phuket
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We picked a really bad weekend to find accommodation so this one was picked without research. The two calls I had with the owner were positive and he offered me a quiet family room for two of us at no extra cost. When we arrived we were early but he soon sorted out parking permits for us and when we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Traveller69Phuket
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewed 29 July 2012

I had to go to Scarborough on business recently at short notice, I came across this place on the net. When I arrived I most most pleasantly surprised byhow nice and the cleanliness of the place, my room was lovely, the whole property has been decorated beautifully, (congratulations to the painter and decorator who did this, its superb work) The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 932ChrisB
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We said when we revisited Scarborough we would definitely stay at the Captain Hotel B & B again and we were so pleased that we did. Please read my review from 2010 I can only echo what I originally wrote two years ago- this is still a very comfortable, clean and welcoming B & B offering outstanding value for money....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank t_bird31_12
Leeds, UK
Reviewed 17 March 2012

This is a lovely little place, right in the middle of town, pubs and bars all within walking distance. Its very very close to the train station and only a 5min walk down the hill to the sea front. Plenty of shops nearby and mecca bingo is opposite. We came for a break without the kids and loved it. The...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank leedslady09
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We stayed at the Captain for one night 24th sept 2011 and it ticked all the boxes.The main selling point is its location ,bang in the centre of everything.One minute from the rail station,so dont waste any money on a taxi.We stayed on the ground floor after the owner with his wife and children greeted us(sorry don,t know the names)...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bigcarl62
teesside
Reviewed 25 September 2011

My husband and I recently had an enjoyable four nights stay at the Captain. We found the proprietors both friendly and helpful. Whilst the hotel was not luxurious, we found it clean and comfortable and very good value. It was in a good location with pubs, restaurants, rail and train stations close at hand. We had a very spacious room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank littleeve8
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Good value for money, Clean rooms, owners very friendly and helpful. The only problem was parking - very very difficult to find a space. Wasn't able to travel out at night because of this.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zara s
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2011

My wife and I stayed there for 3 nights, we had the front bedroom overlooking Albermarle Crescent. the room was very clean and tidy and even though it was on the front of the hotel we were not troubled by any noise from the street. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The food was very good and I can't...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Phil_Wigan
cheshire
Reviewed 20 August 2011

on arriving at The Captains after a long journey we were greeted with monies owing! and parking fees are £3 a day , how many do you want? This chap did not introduce himself and we still do not know his name! Our room was very spacious and clean . This room was situated at the front of the Captains...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank belle b
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2011

greeting poor never asked if we had a good journey. just told us how muh we owed and we had to pay £3 per day parking ticket last place we stayed at we got them for free.room was very clean apart from net curtains which were dirty. location was excellent.breakfast was very poor cheap tasteless cereals,cooked breakfast served on old...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank catherine h
shipshand, Owner at The Captain Hotel B & B, responded to this review

This couple phoned to book a double ensuite room in the height of the season,we had one room left available for the 3 nights required but its our only room which isnt fully ensuite,we explained this on the telephone and they said they would get back to us.The lady called back as she was struggling to find a double room...

6 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.6 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,498 reviews
0.4 km away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#16 of 28 in Scarborough
317 reviews
0.3 km away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#169 of 184 in Scarborough
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
No photo provided
Harcourt Place
#18 of 35 in Scarborough
10 reviews
0.8 km away
St Michael's Guest House
St Michael's Guest House
#2 of 184 in Scarborough
860 reviews
0.2 km away
Admiral Guest House
Admiral Guest House
#102 of 184 in Scarborough
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service

Additional Information about The Captain Hotel B & B

Address: 46 Albemarle Crescent, Scarborough YO11 1XX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: $81 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Captain Hotel B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Captain Hotel B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Captain Hotel Bed And Breakfast
The Captain Hotel Scarborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Captain Hotel B & B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room was at the front of the hotel on the second floor it was very quiet to say that wse were right in the town centre.”
 of 5 bubbles DoctorPaulM, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rm 8.....unless your small...quiter back....the guest house opp mecca bingo up from nightclub...can be noisey on weekend at front”
 of 5 bubbles lynne1066, 14 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Avoid room number 2”
 of 5 bubbles W488WFchrisb, 13 Sep 2015 | Read review
“If a couple or small family ask for room 6 which has a kitchen.”
  • King size bed& single bed
  • kitchen
  • kitchen
 of 5 bubbles 167kerrym, 14 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Great location.”
  • King size bed& single bed
  • kitchen
  • kitchen
 of 5 bubbles 167kerrym, 13 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5