We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

St. Nicholas Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for St. Nicholas Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 78: English reviews
Durham
Reviewed 11 September 2012

My family and I stayed at the hotel over the August bank holiday. The hotel is located directly opposite the Grand hotel, which we have also stayed at. Personally we find this the best location in Scarborough. We arrived at the hotel on the Saturday morning, where we were warmly met by Dorothy the landlady. Although I was worried we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jai
judyscarborough, Owner at St. Nicholas Lodge, responded to this review

thank you very much for your lovely review and I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay from st nicholas lodge

Reviewed 3 September 2012

I recently stayed at st nicholas lodge where i recieved the warmest of welcomes from the owner dorothy a very friendly lady,nothing was too much bother for her or any of the staff all were very friendly and hard working . The room was perfectly clean with a stunning view. A wonderful break away fabulous value for money! Will definetley...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jaki37
judyscarborough, Owner at St. Nicholas Lodge, responded to this review

thank you for your review from dorothy

Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Hi me and my wife stayed here for 2 nights over the bank holiday , it took her 10 minutes to answer the door and when she did she spoke with a mouthful of food , after that we had to pay a £20 deposit for the room key and a TV remote on getting our room on the 3rd...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank John B
judyscarborough, Owner at St. Nicholas Lodge, responded to this review

thank you for your review .we have a lift to the 3rd floor and it was only installed in 2005 and is servised 4 times a year .

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2012

the location of the hotel was brilliant and the breakfast was fine, but the over all condition of the hotel was very old fashioned and a mix match of decorations, in general it needs totally updating and they need to invest in a better decorater as it was very poorly done !. Also during our stay one of the couples...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank nicky b
judyscarborough, Owner at St. Nicholas Lodge, responded to this review

thank you for your coments we will make a note

Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2012

If you're looking for a pleasant place to stay avoid this one, the place is very drab and needs a total makeover. The landlady is very rude and would benefit from lessons in people skills and housekeeping. The room we were given had obviously been occupied by somebody with a dog as the carpet was covered in dog hairs and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Lynda180551
judyscarborough, Owner at St. Nicholas Lodge, responded to this review

so sorry the carpet has hirs and if you had told me I would have come to the room and cleaned it myself .Why did you say I was rude?You did not even tell me. I would have been very distressed to see the carpet not clean as I pay many people to clean properly ,Once again I am very...

Lee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We were going as a couple for our first little break away and it was a lovely friendly atmosphere. The owner was lovely and very friendly. Would definitely stay here again. Thank you Dorothy. G & D - Leeds

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gemma H
judyscarborough, Owner at St. Nicholas Lodge, responded to this review

thank youvery much for your review it is a lovely suprise hope to see you again best wishes from dorothy

NEWCASTLE ON TYNE
Reviewed 20 July 2012

book in advance for good value rooms spacious clean but worn, great view of sea.ear plugs amust , can be noisy.location good for most,car park handy and secure,breakfast and bar area clean,and tidy

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ajwalby
judyscarborough, Owner at St. Nicholas Lodge, responded to this review

thank you for your review it is very nice of you and I hope to see you again best wishes from dorothy

Reviewed 7 July 2012

We have stayed here a few times and just enjoy the homely atmosphere and Dorothy the owner, is such a lovely person, very well travelled lady with lots to tell, smoking rooms availible, as I don't sleep too well, a smoke in the night helps, dog friendly aswell, excellent breakfast,so give it a try, if you'er looking for an home...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mediumcaz
judyscarborough, Owner at St. Nicholas Lodge, responded to this review

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and I hope to see you again best wishes from dorothy

Leyburn
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We revisited St Nicholas Lodge only to find the same welcome from Dorothy who treats all her guests as indivuals serving up delicious home-cooked breakfasts and allowing one to "feel at home" as soon as you walk through the door. Room 3 and 8 offer large bay windows looking down on to the South bay which is very beautiful and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julie P
judyscarborough, Owner at St. Nicholas Lodge, responded to this review

thank you so much for your review It was very nice to meet you and I hope you will visit again.Very best wishes from dorothy

Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

Just arrived home from staying at st. Nicholas lodge and can honestly say it is one of the nicest b&bs we have stayed in. Was dubious at first as have had previous bad experiences with b&bs. We payed £60 for a sat night stay with breakfast included, the room was huge and was an old Victorian room with a modern...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ambermariec
judyscarborough, Owner at St. Nicholas Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and I am so pleased you enjoyed you satay even with all the rain it will be very nice to see you again .Once again thankyou from dorothy

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.0 km away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.1 km away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#15 of 28 in Scarborough
315 reviews
0.1 km away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,376 reviews
0.1 km away
The Dickens Bar & Inn
The Dickens Bar & Inn
#88 of 184 in Scarborough
40 reviews
0.0 km away
Riviera Town House
Riviera Town House
#93 of 184 in Scarborough
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service

Additional Information about St. Nicholas Lodge

Address: 15 St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
St. Nicholas Hotel Scarborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from St. Nicholas Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from St. Nicholas Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid staying here .”
 of 5 bubbles Chrissie1920, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Front facing rooms have sea views”
 of 5 bubbles colliemanWigan, 1 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Choose a front facing room. you can see the sea (sort of)”
  • View from room 11
 of 5 bubbles 126ryana, 6 Jul 2015 | Read review
“book with travel lodge or the Grand hotel due to cleanliness good price and lovely staff”
 of 5 bubbles 792parisa, 20 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Go elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles D0t40, 15 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5