We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Mount Hotel

TripAdvisorUS$123*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$123*
US$123*
US$123*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Mount Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

325 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 323: English reviews
Start your review of The Mount Hotel
 Click to rate
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The staff are very welcoming and helpful. The location is great, near to beach, spa, harbour and town. Views from warm and cosy residents lounge are very nice. Our room was an 'Executive' and had a large double bed, spacious en suite with good shower as well as comfy chairs, sofa and tables. The views were great and you could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andyandhazel
rr132016, General Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andy & Hazel, It is always a pleasure to read positive comments and have feedback from our guests. Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and we look forward to seeing you both and the Dog!! again soon. Best wishes R. Ramirez General Manager

Scarborough, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have lunched with friends on a regular basis for years at the Mount Hotel. Following a disastrous Sunday lunch in March which can only have been rated a Fawlty Towers disaster, I am pleased to report that its famed high standards have returned. Last Sunday I lunched on the finest roast leg of lamb I have ever had anywhere....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark Vernon H
rr132016, General Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Vernon, Thank you for your lovely review of The Mount Hotel, I was delighted that you and your friends returned to The Mount Hotel and I am pleased that we were able to prove how seriously we take our guests' and work to correct our mistakes whenever necessary. I am delighted that you were able to enjoy Sunday...

Washington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had never been to this hotel before but we will most definitely be going back again. The hotel is ideally situated just two minutes away from the shops and the beach but away from the noise and it faces the South Bay. The staff are really friendly and courteous and nothing is too much trouble for them. They will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank graham_mulvaney
rr132016, General Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Graham, Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we are trilled you have a lovely experience troughout you stay with us and I shall pass your comments onto my staff. I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Mount Hotel soon. Best Wishes R. Ramirez General Manager

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband had booked this hotel as a birthday trip for me in Scarborough last week. We were given room 40. The room was very dated, the carpets were dirty, peeling wall paper on the ceiling, dirty walls. The window frames were in dire need of repair and decorating, there was a cracked pane of glass in the window. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 186378JudyJim
rr132016, General Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear User, Thank you for your review and constructive comments. It is always nice to see where we can improve our service and great to see although there were a couple of issues that overall you have a nice stay with us. Next time you come to visit us we hope you will see a change to restore your personal...

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed just for two nights, the hotel is very well positioned in Scarborough. The rooms are comfortable and the staff really try to be accommodating, unfortunately they had a wedding booked which made the residential guests take second place. Really took the edge off what could have been a great visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UKPAUL18
rr132016, General Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear User, Thank you for taking the time to put your comments on here and I am so very pleased to see you like our hotel. See you again soon. All the best R. Ramirez General Manager

Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

Bar drinks snacks food dining here is excellent rooms are delightfully furnished as our the bedrooms ive seen. The bar room has good choice of drinks and good dining room choices of food on menus there is parking outside and rooms have good views at front as well as hotel is in very quiet area near centre of town but...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Simmo S
rr132016, General Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Simones, Thank you for taking the time to put your comments on here and I am so pleased to see you had a lovely experience troughout. See you again soon. All the best. R. Ramirez General Manager

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 March 2017

We visited The Mount for Afternoon Tea & it was superb. Sandwiches were fresh, varied, & beautifully presented & the pastries a medley of home-made mini works of art - just perfect in size to enable a taste of everything without being overfaced. Delicious scones & individual chocolate mousses were also included. We received outstandingly friendly, attentive service plus the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrstraveller1
rr132016, General Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear User, What a lovely review and I am so pleased you and your Mum & Father had great afternoon Tea with us. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Mount Hotel soon. Best Wishes R. Ramirez General Manager

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 March 2017

After the swearing receptionist finally got her computer working we booked in only to find parking was an extra £3 per day. The decor and service is out of date, but that is a sign of the times at these seaside destinations that nobody wants as much as they did years ago. The breakfast was just amazing and maybe the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank m3ajg
rr132016, General Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Use, Thank you for your review and contructive comments it is always nice to see where we can learn and inprove our service and great to see although there were a couple of issues that overall you had a nice stay with us. I would like to assure you that that this will no happen again and hope to...

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Just had the worst lunch ever at The Mount. Hope this is a one off as for many years have had excellent food and service. My friends and I are not abandoning The Mount after one bad meal but will do so if the food doesn't not improve to its usual good standard. After complaining about the beef and fish...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Terry R
rr132016, General Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear User, Thank you for your review . It's a shame you felt your Sunday lunch was not up to your expectations. After I took the extra effort and time to discuss this with you I have found your comments on Trip Advisor to be extremely upsetting as I thought this had all been dealt with in the house!. All...

Cwmbran, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Bit of a strange review this as we did not actually stay at the hotel BUT their kindness and consideration must be noted and applauded. From the other reviews seen I'm sure we would have enjoyed our stay, perhaps next time. Thank you Janine et al.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pipmasters
rr132016, General Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janine, Thank you strange review, however we all love to see you son and look after you here at the Mount Hotel next time. Kind Regards R. Ramirez General Manager

243 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (21)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (178)
Viewed
Double Room (31)
Viewed
Family Room (28)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Single Room (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (12)
Viewed
The Morris Room (33)
Viewed
Twin Room (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,748 reviews
0.1 km away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
571 reviews
1.6 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
609 reviews
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
4.8 km away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in a commanding position overlooking the magnificent sweep of Scarborough's beautiful South Bay. The Mount Hotel which has been run by the Macarthur family for over 50 years has gained an outstanding reputation for providing high quality accommodation and superior service.The hotel has 50rooms including sea views and some executive rooms which have a lounge area, all rooms have flat screen televisions and free WiFi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Mount Hotel

Address: Cliff Bridge Terrace, Scarborough YO11 2HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: $111 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Mount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#3 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Mount Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
9 months ago
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
over a year ago
over a year ago
eastmids
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Mount Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“have a sea view room”
andyandhazel, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“Suite well worth the extra.”
stevene623, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask or pay for a sea view”
julieF21, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms higher up on the seaward side have a great view of the coast.”
965MarkS, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Request a sea view room, worth the extra”
580FrankF, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$123* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$123
Agoda.comUS$123
Priceline
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates