We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Royal Hotel Scarborough

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Royal Hotel Scarborough
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,254 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Royal Hotel Scarborough
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,250: English reviews
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 May 2015 via mobile

Checked in on Monday 11th. The check in was quick and efficient. The room we had, 421, was nice and light and the only minor thing I would mention is the stain on the carpet. This is mentioned in other reviews so I assume it is a permanent fixture! The hotel is in a great location and was perfect for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Billsgirl999
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer. Kind regards, Simon Powell

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 May 2015

We stayed at this hotel for one night, using a Groupon voucher and because of the amount that we had paid, were not expecting too much. We were wrong - the staff were lovely and very approachable, the room was clean and comfortable, the food was good, not fine dining, but we do not do fine dining. There was even...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lindagreenacre
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Simon Powell

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 May 2015

Was a bit worried after reading some of the other reviews and was prepared for the building being a bit "tired". When I checked in I was impressed by how nice the reception and lobby were. The receptionist was fast, efficient and friendly. Unfortunately my room had a huge hole in the window frame in the bathroom, plus one of...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Kate S
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Simon Powell

northumberland
Reviewed 10 May 2015

Stayed for our two day visit for my dads 90 birthday in room 101 at rear of the hotel room very basic,and very noisy from kitchen staff outside after 9 pm told reception but nothing done about it food very average hotel in general not bad for price payed,one blot on the land scape my father left his gold chain...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank g3p
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I was very sorry to learn that not everything went according to plan and at this stage can only apologise for any frustrations or upset caused. I will certainly address the issues raised as you should expect a certain standard and this was not delivered. I would like to assure you that this is certainly...

Reviewed 9 May 2015 via mobile

Just returned from a dance break at the Royal, very good value food ok and plentiful. It's not five star but you are not paying for five star. Yes it is tired in places but the staff did a great job to ensure we had a good time. Reception staff all very courteous,A big thank you to Jacquie for the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Stewart B
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Simon Powell

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 May 2015 via mobile

Book in the hotel very friendly staff. Room was basic with an hole in the wall next to the door. Bed was uncomfortable due to the bottom of the bed was tipping us out. booked in for dinner due to half board. Starter was ok. Main steak and ale pie had more fat than meat. All hotel staff very pleasant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Smithd1980
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer. Kind regards, Simon Powell

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 May 2015

I stayed here with my boyfriend from 6th to 8th May 2015. The entrance is lovely, but you can tell it is old and outdated. We were in room number 4, was spacious but okay. The window was strange, was from the floor to half way up the wall instead of a normal window but it meant we couldnt see...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hannah1106
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Simon Powell

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 May 2015

We decided to book here as a last minute treat for the kids to take them to the seaside for the bank holiday staying over for one night on the Sunday. The price of the hotel was £89 for 2 adults 2 children in a family room with breakfast included. We booked through a 3rd party website and the price...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cliff B
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Simon Powell

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 May 2015

i will never visit this hotel again. We where made aware of offers for food on the lift wall poster, dinning in the hotel. After booking into the restaurant that evening we had ordered the steaks and scampi from the menu, it did state that this had a supplement? to our disbelief the supplement was the price of the food...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank kev680
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

I am sorry to read that we haven’t met your expectations of the service we offer here at the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Perhaps if you had given us the opportunity to discuss your comments and observations at the time, we could have had the opportunity to address them. We can only improve...

Reviewed 6 May 2015 via mobile

Me my partner and two toddlers stayed over the weekend for bank holiday. was a nightmare from start to finish. Staff very unprofessional, really poor customer service I dont no where to start: When I booked I requested a large family room or two separate rooms in one large room, got there went to our room the 5th floor it...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Cheryl T
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I was very sorry to learn that not everything went according to plan and at this stage can only apologise for any frustrations or upset caused. I will certainly address the issues raised as you should expect a certain standard and this was not delivered. I would like to assure you that this is certainly...

796 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (785)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (119)
Viewed
Bathroom (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (169)
Viewed
View from Room (46)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
1:34
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (371)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.5 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,411 reviews
1.1 km away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
1.5 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.1 km away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
592 reviews
1.0 km away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Pinpointed at the centre of Scarborough and overlooking the beautiful South Bay, The Royal Hotel is in the perfect location to explore all that this enchanting town has to offer, with its fine sandy beaches only 500 metres away and stunning promenade. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Street, Scarborough YO11 2HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: $68 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Hotel Scarborough 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Scarborough
Royal Scarborough
Scarborough Hampton Inn
Hotel Royal Scarborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Hotel Scarborough staff and other travellers.
54 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (54)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Hotel Scarborough staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms at the front preferred,but not next to the lift”
 of 5 bubbles jettraveller2015, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I'm sure if you asked the hotel they would accomodate your needs”
 of 5 bubbles rachel3332017, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Best rooms are at the front looking over the Sea.”
 of 5 bubbles davidbS5733TR, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I wouldn't - try the Crown Spa”
 of 5 bubbles tonysmithRotherham, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“pay for a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles ctas2016, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5