We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal Hotel Scarborough

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Royal Hotel Scarborough
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,285 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Royal Hotel Scarborough
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,281: English reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2015

I purchased a voucher from ncrowd. This purchase was for my daughters Christmas gift for us to go away for a mother and daughter weekend. I purchased it after checking out the hotel on the internet, of which it looked amazing - clean, fresh, upmarket, a lovely place to take my daughter for the weekend. However, I was very sadly...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank June866
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I was very sorry to learn that not everything went according to plan and at this stage can only apologise for any frustrations or upset caused. I will certainly address the issues raised as you should expect a certain standard and this was not delivered. I would like to assure you that this is certainly...

Reviewed 31 March 2015

Have just returned from a lovely weekend at this hotel for a friends hen weekend. The hotel is an old hotel with beautiful features. We have nothing but praise for the bar staff two in particular Wendy and Paula I believe they were called very helpful and accommodating. The waiting staff were also very friendly and hard working. The only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zena32
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Simon Powell

Northampton
Reviewed 30 March 2015

Mixed bag really. Initially great help from reception after an issue with my booking, this was quickly resolved with the help from the receptionist. Sadly that is where the plus points end. One room was incredibly hot. And overwhelming smell of paint fumes. The shower didn't work. The 2nd room was a rabbit hole with no window. I am surprised...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ENUFC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer. Kind regards, Simon Powell

HULL
Reviewed 29 March 2015

A little worried after reading some previous reviews, but very pleasantly surprised. We both love all things vintage, and the Royal is an old building with some beautiful features. Reception and other staff friendly and efficient. The room reflected the very reasonable price paid, and was warm and comfortable and clean, with plenty of hot water.Evening meal was served(ate at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RITAHHull
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Simon Powell

Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 March 2015

NEVER book this hotel,asked for double room to find 2 single beds pushed together,no tea,coffee refreshments in the room as advertised,the room was dirty,went down to use the spa,swimming pool,staff said dont bother its freezing,when asked to speak to the manager a very rude lady if you can call her that called Irima said the manager is only available once...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank jc00ks0n
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer. Kind regards, Simon Powell

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 March 2015

After reading some reviews on here, I was a bit concerned about what we were letting ourselves in for. This was gifted as a Groupon to myself by someone else. On arrival, we recieved a very warm welcome from the man on reception, and this friendliness continued throughout our stay, the staff are very friendly and welcoming. However. ..this hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank haychcee23
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer. Kind regards, Simon Powell

King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2015

We had a College reunion at the Royal last year, and as we usually move around the country for our annual reunions, we tried to find anywhere in the UK that offered us as good a deal as the Royal. We had tried to book The Stratford Manor but they got sniffy and wanted us to sign a contract as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John H
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Simon Powell

Reviewed 28 March 2015

Stayed for a short 2 day break. First point of call reception, room not ready for us, not helpful as to where we can park, cars outside had scratch card parking permits for Britannia Hotels but we were not offered one. Small lift 3 man took a long time as lots of people who had checked in were wanting it....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank IAN G
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I was very sorry to learn that not everything went according to plan and at this stage can only apologise for any frustrations or upset caused. I will certainly address the issues raised as you should expect a certain standard and this was not delivered. I would like to assure you that this is certainly...

Scarborough
Reviewed 27 March 2015

thoroughly enjoyed the stay at the royal. room was very clean and comfortable. breakfast was buffet style so had as much as you wanted. only downside of the stay was there was a problem with the swimming pool it was cold but apart that excellent value for the price. we would go back.

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wendy M
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Simon Powell

Reviewed 26 March 2015 via mobile

Had a wonderful stay at the hotel and spa.. The 3 course meal was absolutely beautiful! A lovely room with brilliant facilities! Wonderful staff and great night time entertainment in the hotel would recommend to everyone to stay at any point in the week.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Holly L
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Simon Powell

868 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (857)
Viewed
Bathroom (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (187)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (143)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from Room (46)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
1:34
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (397)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.5 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,515 reviews
1.1 km away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
1.5 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
1.0 km away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,157 reviews
0.1 km away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Pinpointed at the centre of Scarborough and overlooking the beautiful South Bay, The Royal Hotel is in the perfect location to explore all that this enchanting town has to offer, with its fine sandy beaches only 500 metres away and stunning promenade. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Street, Scarborough YO11 2HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: $79 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Hotel Scarborough 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Royal Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Scarborough
Royal Scarborough
Scarborough Hampton Inn
Hotel Royal Scarborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Hotel Scarborough staff and other travellers.
56 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (56)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Hotel Scarborough staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we were near the lounge so could get a bit noisey”
 of 5 bubbles benbhoy2000, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“416 not a good view but right by lift”
 of 5 bubbles PATRICIAM42, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try to avoid the 4th floor if you need a telephone, WIFI or a view”
 of 5 bubbles Samuels_9, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Use another hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles Skiltssomerset, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don,t book any room = stay somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles enliven64, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5