We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ambassador Hotel

Hotels.comUS$56*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Ambassador Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,173 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,170: English reviews
Start your review of Ambassador Hotel
 Click to rate
Middlesex, UK
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Parked in side street adjacent to the hotel and the friendly and welcoming staff gave us a parking card (complete with plastic bag and sellotape, so that we could stick it to the scooter for the weekend). Had a great room on top floor with chairs on the balcony (and two armchairs in the bay window for those chilly moments),...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Bee_Middlesex_UK
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here in February for my partners birthday weekend, and had a few disasters to stay the least! The first room we were in had a new wet room, however shortly after using the shower, a spark fell from the ceiling, and all the lights went off. The cleaner happened to come in shortly after this to turn the fuse...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ELKirkby1994
Witney, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Although this hotel advertised itself as 'boutique' I would say that it was rather tired on the whole. Our room, although tiny, was clean and recently decorated and the bathroom was a wet room with a great shower. Unfortunately our mattress was very uncomfortable as it dipped in the middle and springs could be felt. However the manager was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 901nickir
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a lovely stay here room nice plenty of room and comfy bed..breakfast very good all you can eat .Had a nice swim in pool ..would deffo book again but not at Easter as a bit pricey but lovely friendly hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janette s
CustomerService3638, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear janette s Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review and I am pleased to here that you enjoyed your stay. I will pass your lovley comments onto the rest of the team. We do hope to welcome you back to the Ambasador Hotel in the near future. Kind Regards

Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Location This was my first time in Scarborough and if I am to come back then I'll most likely stay at The Ambassador Hotel again. The hotel is situated far enough away from the centre to be away from the busy streets but not outside of walking distance, with a handy tramway to the sea front just a couple...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
CustomerService3638, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael M Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your comments regarding your room and you will be pleased to here that we are currently in the process of decorating our bedrooms and will soon be having new bathrooms fitted. We hope...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was last minute booking on Sunday morning headed up that afternoon for a night pleasantly surprised lovely hotel and breakfast only down side was the radiator woke us up at 4.30 am making funny noises ! Once we managed to get the gage to work to turn it off it was fine! Thank you for a lovely stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
CustomerService3638, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lisa M Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review regarding your recent stay. I am sorry that you were woken early due to the radiator but I am pleased that this didn't spoil your stay. I am pleased to here you had a lovely stay and we hope to welcome you back to the Ambassador...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

overall first impressions were shabby and could do with an update, rooms basic, bathroom unclean. Went down to pool and couldn't stand the intense smell of chlorine more so than to be expected from a usual spa/swimming pool. In the end we opted for a refund which the lady on reception happily gave us and headed elsewhere.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jh2492
CustomerService3638, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jh2492 Thank you for your feedback, we are currently in the process of decorating our rooms. Our pool gets tested every 4 hours and I can assure you that the chlorine was at the correct levels. I hope you managed to find alternative accommodation. Kind Regards

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was very disappointing. The first impression was the gardens which had not been given any attention at all. The hotel is very tired. It requires painting and decorating and carpets require renewal, also the bathroom left a lot to be desired. Would not recommend this hotel

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alison F
CustomerService3638, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alison F Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay and I am sorry to here that you were disappointed with your stay. You will be pleased to here were are currently decorating our bedrooms and will soon be having new bathrooms fitted. Once again I am sorry that you were disappointed with you...

Bury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wife and myself arrived on Friday early for booking in ( 1.45pm), and was surprised to find reception adjacent to the bar - Given a brilliant welcome from the receptionist , and told our room was ready, and given a car pass.(305) Found our room and met two cleaning ladies on our floor, who like the reception were very customer...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MikeFuerterventura
CustomerService3638, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MikeFuerterventura Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review regarding your recent stay, I am so pleased to here that you enjoyed your stay and that you will be back again in the future. I will pass your kind comments about the staff onto the rest of the team as I am sure they will be...

Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location and fantastic views from our room. Breakfast was an all you can eat Full English, as long as you don't want poached eggs of course. They are only cooked and served during table service breakfast apparently! The room cleanliness was very poor. It looked like there had been a water leak from the ceiling which had caused water...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank NickyMc18

444 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (417)
Viewed
Bathroom (45)
Viewed
View from Room (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (89)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Other (188)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.5 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,641 reviews
2.3 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
801 reviews
0.2 km away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
606 reviews
0.9 km away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
566 reviews
1.1 km away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ambassador Hotel combines wellbeing and relaxation with contemporary luxury, all framed beautifully by our stunning Sea-Views of the Harbour and Scarborough Castle.Indulge in complimentary Breakfast each morning. Escape to our boutique bolthole by the sea! We're perfect for group getaways, relax breaks and beach breaks. All guests receive a boutique bedroom, free wi-fi, free breakfast and free parking permit. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: | The Esplanade, Scarborough Y011 2AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: $103 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Scarborough
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#8 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#13 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ambassador Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Ambassador Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in room 315 on the 3rd floor.”
Mr_Bee_Middlesex_UK, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The extra space in the Executive Room was worth it. The view is a good and although I didn't stay in a sea view room, I would if I go back”
F8468AWmichaelm, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“3rd floor was quiet, with good view from our room which was 305.”
MikeFuerterventura, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If our room cleanliness is anything to go by, then none of them are good!”
  • I've got relatively short hair and white soap
  • Please don't catch your leg on the loose screws
  • How many pull cords do you need?
  • Only just holding on.
  • Loose screw's on bath panel
  • Stained curtain
  • Dirt near basin edge
  • South Bay splendour
NickyMc18, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“best views from the front rooms”
859brian, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$56* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$58
PricelineUS$58
TravelocityUS$56
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates