We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bay New Southlands Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bay New Southlands Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

396 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bay New Southlands Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 396: English reviews
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Good hotel, clean, warm and comfortable. Large airy room on the first floor. Unfortunately for us the food was only mediocre. A big thank you to Apple our waitress who was always cheerful and smiley. Entertainment on Sat was good really enjoyed Mark Bailey.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carol190726
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I have passed your kind comments on to Mark and Apple (who indeed is always cheerful and smiley) I'm sorry to see that you were unhappy with your meals whilst you were, and hope this won't deter you from visiting us again in the future.

Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 December 2016

excellent buffet breakfast ,waiter served nice 3 course evening meal mainly prompt with tea/coffee in the lounge afterwards,room clean, light & airy with en suite bath/shower combo tea/coffee & tv , wi-fi in public areas .

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank paul-morgan25
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments, I'm glad to see you enjoyed your break with us and hope we will see you again soon.

Lancashire
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We stayed for another break at Bay New Southlands from 31st October to 4th November and had a lovely time. We have stayed at the New Southlands many times, this was our second this year. It is a very well run hotel with Jackie and her staff, all staff are very good and friendly. We had room 212 this time,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Joanie067
Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016

booked this hotel with shearings,and so glad we did.The hotel was spotless clean,our room on the third floor was modern and spacious,really quiet,had everything we needed,hair dryer,hostess tray,complete with biscuits,complimentary toiletries,lovely big bath sheets.The dining room was ideal with plenty of tables for couples;The self serve buffet breakfast was good,plenty of choice,the staff were very cheerful and helpful.Evening meal was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Beverley L
bredbury
Reviewed 10 November 2016

We paid £100 extra for a better room. We got increased floor space (ideal for dancing)- Dirty windows with lots of cobwebs on outside (we complained -nothing done) 26" TV (Now the cheapest size, we know this because we bought a 19" for our motorhome, and it was dearer than 26" one.- Two small bottles water and two small bars...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Bert L
Stevensville, Montana
Reviewed 8 November 2016

Completing the Cleveland Way walk with friends, we spent a very enjoyable 3 nights at the Bay New Southalnds Hotel. The food was tasty, the room was spacious and quiet and the staff was marvelous. Our special thanks to James and David.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rolofadang
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

This was my experience of a Shearings holiday and I must say it was very well organised. The hotel reception areas are decorated lovely including the dining area. The breakfast buffet is plentiful and very tasty. The evening meals were lovely, though sometimes abit stingy with the portion sizes, especially if it's pasta, which is very cheap to buy. I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Shane G
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review

What kind comments you have left for us in your review, thank you. I'm glad to see you liked the festive decorations. Although they aren't overpowering I think they set the rooms off nicely. It is so nice to see staff mentioned by name and both Mark and Abi will be pleased to see they've been mentioned, especially Abi as...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Stayed with friends on a National holiday 5day break. Very impressed with the hotel, all areas very clean and bright. All staff polite and friendly. Self service breakfast could not be faulted, eat as much as you want with plenty of choice. Table service 3 course dinner with different menu each day. Thank you Apple our waitress you always had...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank oliveh2016
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such kind comments. I'm glad to see you enjoyed your recent short break with us - Apple will be so happy to see her name mentioned :) I hope that if you come back to Scarborough in the future you will come and stay with us again, we would love to...

Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2016

everything you would expect from a decent hotel. We visited as part of a coach holiday with Caledonian Travel. On arrival we given a warm welcome and a verbal introduction to the hotel facilities. Our room was far superior to those experienced on similar holidays although, to be fair, not with this hotel chain. Some upgrading was being carried out...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Eric W
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review

What lovely feedback you have left to us, thank you. I'm glad to see you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We have indeed just had some bedrooms refurbished which is part of an ongoing plan, with some more due to be done next year. We would love to see you again if you come back to Scarborough and thanks...

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Stayed for the weekend on half board. Good choice of food for the evening meal and breakfast buffet. Room was comfortable and clean. Nice bar and lounge all recently refurbished. the hotel team were very friendly and helpful. Good parking. All in all pleasantly surprise.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Smitcull
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review

I'm glad to see you enjoyed your recent weekend break with us and thank you for taking the time to leave your kind comments. We hope you will stay with us again if you return to Scarborough in the future.

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.4 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,369 reviews
2.2 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
764 reviews
0.9 km away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,238 reviews
0.8 km away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
556 reviews
0.8 km away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The New Southlands Hotel is a handsome, intimate property perfectly situated on Scarborough’s South Cliff. From the hotel, the Esplanade, Italian Rose Gardens and South Bay are easily accessible. Scarborough itself retains much of the character of an elegant Victorian seaside town, with handsome architecture and walkways, as well as boasting more modern entertainments and attractions. Further inland, North Yorkshire is an oft overlooked gem of a County offering beautiful scenery and countless attractions both historic and modern. The hotel possesses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay New Southlands Hotel

Address: 15 West Street, Scarborough YO11 2QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: $151 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay New Southlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Bay New Southlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Southlands Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay New Southlands Hotel staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Sunderland, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Littleborough, United Kingdom
10 months ago
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Southport, United Kingdom
3 months ago

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Bay New Southlands Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We can only speak of our room 119, large and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Elizabet2013, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Any, lift available to all floors”
 of 5 bubbles motorbike_8, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Very small lift. It's easier to walk to 2nd floor than wait for the lift”
 of 5 bubbles Janiemac24, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Superior were very nice”
 of 5 bubbles sunseekersheffield, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“When using these large old hotels we always upgrade, esp for a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles J9364OQlynns, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5