We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

398 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
See the most recent reviews
Showing 384: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 November 2016

Interesting hotel with large room and even larger bathroom. Dinner was included on the first night - dreadful, barely edible. Was it the chef's night off? If this is their normal standard - avoid it. We returned food, passed comments back to the Manager but our complaints have been ignored.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alemap352
Nigel G, General Manager at Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review

Dear alemap352, Firstly thank you for taking the time to write your review, I was very sorry to read that you were disappointed with the dining last Thursday evening, noting you enjoyed breakfast and afternoon tea. May I sincerely apologise for any shortfalls you experienced, I value feedback greatly as a measure of the hotel's performance and this is certainly...

Thatcham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 November 2016

We had a stunning time at this hotel, location is a totally magical experience with acres and acres to wonder around and explore. We enjoyed exploring the Japanese gardens and lobby and then wondering the well kept friendly hotel. Our room was stunning and has a real wow factor of high celings, beautifully ornate furniture and shuttered windows to add...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZoeHammond
Nigel G, General Manager at Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review

Dear ZoeHammond, Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our wonderful hotel. It sounds like you enjoyed one of the eight rooms in the manor house, they retain their original characteristics and quirky charms, while the Summer house has a more modern feel to it. All...

Braintree, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 November 2016

Stayed a couple of nights on a Travel Zoo promotion so great value in that respect, welcome was good and reception staff very helpful, Bar ok but range of drinks limited and restaurant was ok, service a little slow but nothing special, breakfast first morning great second morning waited 45mins and got nothing, only one member of staff and when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StephenMann
Nigel G, General Manager at Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review

Dear StephenMann, Thank you for staying at Donnington Grove and for taking the time to write with your review, i was very sorry to hear your order was misplaced at breakfast. May I sincerely apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused, this is very unusual as you will read from other reviews and further training has taken place to...

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Booked this as a special treat wanted something really nice for a special weekend, Arrived late due to previous appointments, got to main reception which was unmanned with no buzzer or bell, waited 10 mins to be greeted, signed the register, got our key and a sales picth on addon options we could have ie breakfast and dinner then given...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip C
Nigel G, General Manager at Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review

Dear PhilipC, Firstly thank you for taking the time to write your review, I was sorry to read that you did not appear to have enjoyed your stay at Donnington Grove. Your comments have been taken very seriously and discussed with my team to ensure that any shortfalls do not occur again, however moving the room closer to the lake...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Comfortable , spacious rooms, wonderful views , convenient location, beautiful venue for a function . . Building in need of a face lift internally. I was there for a function , no full length mirrors in any of the rooms occupied by my group. Hair dryer plugs too far from wall mirrors to see hair styling. Bit of a nightmare...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bebejam2015
Kentisbeare, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 November 2016

Stayed for one night on a bed only basis. Dinner with wine cost £76 and breakfast was £10 each. All the staff were helpful and friendly. The evening meal was ok, pork and garlic potatoes and veg. The soup starter was good but not very hot. The reception area is unprepossessing as was the dining room. The dining room is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorna D
Nigel G, General Manager at Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Lorna D, Thank you for choosing to stay at Donnington Grove Country Club I was sorry to read of you disappointment May I sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused by the shortfalls you describe, fellow travellers have also found reason to comment about room 7 and all of the points mentioned have been rectified. We were mindful of the...

Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

The place itself is ok and rooms for the conference is basic but for our use, it served the purpose. Food that was served was below par. The last straw was the grilled vegetables. I like grilled veg and it's so easy to do and all they had to do was brush it with a bit of olive oil and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger A
Nigel G, General Manager at Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Roger A, Thank you for posting your review following your recent visit to Donnington Grove. Without prejudice may I ask you to contact me in relation to your comments? We do not have grilled vegetables on our menus, so I am not clear if you would like them or if your review refers that you had them, and did...

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2016

We stayed here for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed it apart from the food. The staff were extremely helpful and the whole place was surrounded by a golf course. We do not play golf but it meant that there were some stunning walks within the grounds and beyond. Golf did not interfere with our stay in any way. There is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin T
Nigel G, General Manager at Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Colin T, Thank you for staying at Donnington Grove, I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your visit. May I thank you for your feedback relating to the food, our chefs work passionately with fresh produce and have taken your comments in a constructive way in which I believe they were intended. Our menus change seasonally and...

crawley
Reviewed 2 November 2016

This hotel has a wonderful setting - golf course, huge lake with swans, geese, ducks - lovely walks. We had a room in the main building, which was very nice - not modern like the annexe rooms, but more convivial imo. The staff make this place, nothing was too much trouble for front of house, restaurant or cleaning staff -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank diane l
Nigel G, General Manager at Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Diane l Thank you for choosing to stay at Donnington Grove, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent visit. May I personally thank you for you positive and kind comments, we are all passionate about our business, product and service thatwe provide and recognition is always great encouragement - Thank you. We look forward to welcoming...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Just returned from a very pleasant weekend break at this Newbury hotel. This was on a Travelzoo promotion, which included the room, a £50 contribution towards an evening meal and a champagne cream tea. Our room (No.8) was in the Lakeside View block, which was standard but adequate. Plenty of drawer and wardrobe space and an very spacious bathroom with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bleepers
Nigel G, General Manager at Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Bleepers, Firstly thank you for staying with us at Donnington Grove and for taking the time to write your review. May I also thank you for your positive comments I know the team are always encouraged when their efforts are acknowledged. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Nigel

179 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (159)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
0.8 km away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
590 reviews
1.8 km away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,632 reviews
1.2 km away
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
5.0 km away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#5 of 17 in Newbury
725 reviews
4.3 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
18Th Century manor House set in 500 acres of Berkshire's finest countryside. Offering rooms in the Manor House, Sunmer House and lodges. 18 Hole championship golf course, Clay shooting and Fly fishing by appointment. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club

Address: Grove Road, Newbury RG14 2LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Price Range: $122 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donnington Grove And Country Club Hotel Newbury
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room in the main building and not in the outhouses.”
dyslexiart, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Check out the hotel website for deals”
postypaulh, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The summer houses are really quiet.”
Shandydog1, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The pavilion lodges in the walled garden are spacious, private and tranquil”
Yellowleader, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“'Our' room (102) was very quiet, and had views across the parkland to a large lake”
216PaulB216, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5