We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Old Ship Aground

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Old Ship Aground
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

232 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 231: English reviews
Start your review of Old Ship Aground
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Warm and friendly welcome as I settle in for my mini-break back in my home town. The bedroom is comfortable and warm, the ensuite bathroom larger than I expected and a view of the harbour is a bonus. I popped downstairs for a pot of tea, (there is a tea/coffee/drinking chocolate tray in the room) and although I had eaten...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Magentawoo
Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

meals and staff were very pleasant. limited menu but delicious food.compliments to the chef.the hotel side sadly not up to scratch at the price charged although clean and comfortable..they try very hard and deserve credit for what they present.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank allan b
exmoorman, Owner at Old Ship Aground, responded to this review

Thank so much for taking the time review - chef says thank you :-) It would be really helpful if you would comment a little further on what you did not like about the accommodation as we really do want to understand and make any changes perhaps you would drop me an email julian@theoldshipaground.com or if you prefer just call...

Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2017

My single room was fine with a good shower and also quiet. All 12 of us chose to eat in the restaurant and all of us were rather disappointed. The carvery was very well done roast beef and dry turkey served with Bombay potatoes and a few curry dishes - a very unusual combination. Service left quite a bit to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arthur G
exmoorman, Owner at Old Ship Aground, responded to this review

I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy your visit. Both myself, General Manager and Shift Leader found your group difficult to deal with, the drunken behaviour, swearing and sexual comments were of course unfortunate. I will always uphold the rules we set with regard to the standards of conduct we expect without exception even if this makes me/us...

Reviewed 1 December 2016

Went to the Ship aground for dinner last night. I don't write many reviews but on this occasion I just wanted to say what a fabulous 3 course meal we had and all beautifully presented. Thank you so much Julian and Rachel, your staff were also a credit to you and we will definitely be returning

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenx999
exmoorman, Owner at Old Ship Aground, responded to this review

Thank you on behalf of every one involved in making your visit so very memorable . kind regards Julian & team

UK
Reviewed 22 November 2016

After reading many of the very positive reviews I decided to have a light lunch and see whether I would return for an evening meal. I was however very disappointed with my Pulled Pork sandwich. The sandwich was mostly apple sauce with pieces of cut up pork. The pork was certainly not pulled and was a somewhat sparse. The overriding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rustic_Neil
exmoorman, Owner at Old Ship Aground, responded to this review

I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy your lunches, I know you were checked during you refreshments and again later by myself. It was then that I offered to replace the whole meal to try and put right the situation. We always ask guests during every course if they are happy with their meals this gives us a...

Leek, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

We came for food and drinks but didn't stay over. It was a Monday night when we visited and the pub was really quiet. Staff were very welcoming and there was a lovely fire burning. They have a good selection of Ales and Ciders. The food we had was really good, restaurant style and quality but reasonably priced. I had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DB4452
exmoorman, Owner at Old Ship Aground, responded to this review

hanks for taking the time to review :-) glad you enjoyed it. You will have to try us again to get you hands on the Chocy Tart. Thks again Julian & crew

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 November 2016

Had an exceptionally pleasant Sunday evening dining experience here. Two families including 4 teenagers. Something on the menu for everyone, from burgers to fine steaks. Generous portions, well cooked and presented. Good beers on offer and a decent wine list as well. Service was friendly, pleasant and efficient as well. Thanks to all

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David C
exmoorman, Owner at Old Ship Aground, responded to this review

So very pleased that you all enjoyed your Sunday evening with us. Hope to see you all again very soon. rgds - Julian & Janina

Ludlow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 November 2016

We were recommended the ship by a restaurant on the front that was fully booked. We had a fantastic meal. My partner had the roasted pepper and tomato soup. Every time he has had soup since he comment's that it is nothing like the ship. We both had steaks which was cooked to perfection. My only complaint is it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bridget P
exmoorman, Owner at Old Ship Aground, responded to this review

Thank you for such a comprehensive review - come and see us again soon Julian

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 November 2016

My business partners and I had rooms 1 & 3 for 1 night, from checking in to checking out nothing was a problem to any of the staff, rooms are very clean beds very comfortable. Food is excellent Steak Pie and Mash 10 out of 10. Breakfast was excellent will use again on next trip. Many thanks from the lads...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert William T
exmoorman, Owner at Old Ship Aground, responded to this review

10 out 10 wow thks see you next trip ?

Reviewed 24 October 2016

Firstly as retired Free House owners of 25 years experience, we speak with total sympathy for every hard working licensee. Unfortunately not many succeed, but the management of the 'The Ship ' definitely will. We won the 'Best Steak Pie' in Great Britain title and moved on to become judges for British meat in subsequent catering awards, so we feel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John M

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minehead
0.8 km away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Minehead
228 reviews
0.4 km away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 14 in Minehead
197 reviews
0.5 km away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#2 of 14 in Minehead
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
626 reviews
0.2 km away
The Quay Inn
The Quay Inn
#14 of 38 in Minehead
127 reviews
0.9 km away
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 38 in Minehead
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Historic Harbourside Pub Inn & Hotel. A landmark building with its history of hospitality going back over 100 years. Our atmospheric restaurant and pub food experience will be very much 'River Cottage' style with Seafood, Fresh Fish, Local Farm Produce, Seasonal ingredients, Carvery, Kids Menu Not forgetting Celiac gluten free, dairy free lots of choice. If we cannot grow it or raise it on our farm, you can be sure it is locally sourced and the very best of quality. From home smoked bacon to our own baked breads you won't go hungry. Alfresco eating with beautiful scenic views. Great Beers & Wines. Cosy in winter with a real fire. Completely refurbished during the summer of 2013 ... more   less 

Additional Information about Old Ship Aground

Address: The Old Ship Aground Quay Street | Quay Street, Minehead TA24 5UL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Price Range: $109 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Ship Aground 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Old Ship Aground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Aground Minehead
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Old Ship Aground staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Swindon, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Old Ship Aground staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 1 was fine for a one night stay. No wardrobe was not an issue.”
 of 5 bubbles arthurg186, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room no1 and room 3 very quiet for a good night sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles RobertWilliamT, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Harbour side”
 of 5 bubbles K4672SVjohnm, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 9, huge room, comfortable bed, wonderful views”
 of 5 bubbles Jem9667, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We heard that the sea view rooms were good but they are over the outside drinking area so could get noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles 360maryp360, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5