We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,172 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,146: English reviews
Paderborn, Germany
Reviewed 6 September 2015

Stop here with wife and dog to break up our journey back to Germany from the UK. Checked in very late but were welcomed by the staff and checked in quickly. Room was fine, basic but clean and comfy so we couldn't ask for anything else. Well priced and the drive in the morning to the tunnel was nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James F
Reservations M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this review

Dear James F Thank you for leaving your feedback after you stay with us recently. I was very pleased that we provided a comfortable stay for you on your way home to Germany. It is encouraging to learn that despite the late arrival you were welcomed well and found everything you needed before setting off the next day. We will...

Reviewed 6 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed here before traveling onto France, great location with many eateries two junctions before at Ashford. Area around the hotel is a bit bleak but the Tesco, virtually opposite, does allow you to get diesel and stock up on any last minute essentials. Rooms were good, apart from being located next to the lift, and the free breakfast was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoff3748
Reservations M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this review

Dear Geoff3748 Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review after your recent stay with us, I was pleased we delivered what was required. Our remote location does lend itself to a restful stay generally despite the lift, a necessary evil. I was pleased that you found us overall to provide what you were looking for...

Poole
Reviewed 5 September 2015 via mobile

We have used this hotel twice now,and if travelling early morning from Folkestone to Calais it definately makes life easier if you have pets. The staff are welcoming amd though it is a budget hotel, it does its best. The rooms are clean, and comfortable meeting your needs. It's not five star, so don't expect it. Breakfast is easy, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mbs1973
Reservations M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this review

Dear MBS 1973 Thank you so much for the review after your recent stay with us. We aim to deliver a satisfactory level of service to all our guests and take away the hassle sometimes associated with travel and it seems as though we did just that for you. May I thank you for taking the time and trouble to...

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2015

Lovely welcome, great staff, room ok, location great, unfortunately we ate in the express restaurant and it was pretty awful. One chef up against a small menu, peaks and troughs in order traffic and the limited menu seemed just a bit too much. Not cheap with the food so not sure if it would be my choice as we usually...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris E
Reservations M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this review

Dear Chris E Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay here in Folkestone, while I was pleased you enjoyed the welcome, staff and room, I was disappointed that you had a less than satisfactory experience with our food and beverage. We do try and stagger our orders to ensure our guests are served...

Reviewed 1 September 2015

Very good location for Folkestone (which has a lovely port area with ice cream kiosks, fish and chip cafes etc for a very pleasant walk). We were there for a wedding, meeting other guests there the night before. The receptionists were extremely helpful choosing and booking a friendly and lively family run Italian restaurant at very reasonable prices. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank helenhutch60
Reservations M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this review

Dear helenhutch60 I was very pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us when celebrating a wedding in the area. It is rewarding for the staff to learn that their efforts are appreciated and I will tell the front of house team of your feedback. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and I...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015

We stayed overnight at this hotel on our way to France last weekend. Easy to find, plenty of parking, friendly and efficient welcome. The room is fine, just what you need for an overnight stay. The room was a good size, the beds comfortable and the bathroom spotless. A first for us was there is a blue light in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 726Tania_B_11
Reservations M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this review

Dear 726Tania_B_11 Thank you o much for your review after your recent stay with us. I was so pleased to read that we provided the right level of service and facilities to set you on your way to France. It is always rewarding for the staff to learn that they have delivered an enjoyable experience for our guest. We look...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2015

If you need to be close to the Channel Tunnel for an early start then stay somewhere else. The lady on the front desk who checked us in was very pleasant and that's the only good thing I can say about our visit. The small room had a small bed which could barely be called a double. The room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynne C
Reservations M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this review

Dear Lynne C Many thanks for your time in offering a review of your recent stay. I was very disappointed to read that you found certain aspects of the room not to meet your requirements; we believe they meet the requirement of our brand standard and I will of course take the comments on board. We do hope that within...

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2015

We took this hotel because of its vicinity to the Tunnel; even though the A20 entrance is closed, this is still true and in 10 minutes you can be queuing at entrance to the Tunnel. The hotel itself is a typical Holiday Inn Express; a little worn around the airport, a comfortable enough room, and a decent car park. Nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank OlderGuy1956
Reservations M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this review

Dear Olderguy1956 Many thanks for your time in reviewing your recent stay with us here in Folkestone I was delighted to learn that the staff provided superb service in a friendly manner and of course I know they will be encourage to read this. The A20 is still closed despite running over time and even today we cannot establish a...

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2015 via mobile

Positives. very close to the tunnel Negatives Carpet very badly stained Bed very small double and not at all comfortable. We were given directions to the tunnel, which said 5 mins, only to find out the road onto to M20 was closed. The hotel should know this and give alternative directions.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 18putts
Reservations M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this review

Dear 18putts, I would like to thank you for the time and effort taken to review the Holiday Inn Express, Folkestone. I am so pleased to hear that our convenient location was beneficial for your crossing needs. I am however, disappointed to learn that the bedroom allocated to yourself was unsatisfactory - I would really appreciate if you could contact...

Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2015

Stayed as a stop over before getting a early channel crossing and thought it was just somewhere to get a nights sleep. Surprised to find that the food was a lot better than we had expected and the bar and seating area were very good for a budget stop over. Operation stack was in place the day we traveled and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ian C
Reservations M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this review

Dear Ian C, Many thanks for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express, Folkestone - your valued feedback is greatly appreciated! I am so pleased to hear that our menu offering exceeded your expectations and our staff proved to be helpful and efficient during your visit. I will be sure to pass all of your positive comments on...

289 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (27)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (163)
Viewed
Accessible Room (39)
Viewed
Double Room (32)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)
Viewed
Twin Room (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
3.3 km away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
923 reviews
2.3 km away
Premier Inn Folkestone (Channel Tunnel) Hotel
4.5 km away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#8 of 10 in Folkestone
3,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
409 reviews
3.2 km away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
264 reviews
3.6 km away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#5 of 10 in Folkestone
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel is situated in a prominent position alongside the M20 motorway and the hotel has ease of access to all main national and international transport links. The hotel is adjacent to the Eurotunnel Channel Tunnel terminal which provides regular services to continental Europe. Junction 12 is within a few minutes drive facilitating connection to the national motorway network, the major airports and greater London, Paris and Brussels. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel

Address: Cheriton High Street, Folkestone CT18 8AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Price Range: $115 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel Hotel Folkestone
Folkestone Holiday Inn Express
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just ask for your preference, they will do their best to accommodate your request”
teddyjs550, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Decent bed and pillows so slept well , and also free wifi”
toni1041, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“first visit we had a double room it was great!”
C5836RDjonathanm, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“not above entrance /kitchen”
thedevonexplorers, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are all good as we only stayed the one night”
GrahamG780, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5