We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Argyll Hotel

#1 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
08/05/2017 09/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Argyll Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

933 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 925: English reviews
Start your review of Argyll Hotel
 Click to rate
Fife, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked in for 1 night b&b to meet up with local friends the next day and celebrate our anniversary. In the hotel half an hour and walked out. First impressions going into the hotel were poor and got from bad to worse. Receptionist not confident and didn't explain everything fully, lift is ancient and keep thinking going to break down,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bwng
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stopped for dinner over easter holidays, very reasonable and dinner was lovely. Nice menu! Monique who served us was lovely. Would recommend it. £50 for 4 adults and a child. Not fanciest restaurant but food made up for that.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
Management response:

Good afternoon! Thank you so much for your lovely review and for taking the time to post it! I am delighted that you had a such a great dinner with us. I hope you come dine with us again very soon. Kindest regards Sandie

St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights in April, and we weren't disappointed. Check in was made easy by Renata, and the Maclachlan room was very nice with views over the bay. Breakfast was okay but only okay. The poached eggs on both days were hard, and Christine had the haddock which was over cooked. The staff are very good,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeterTCheshire
Management response:

Good afternoon! Thank you so much for your great review and for taking the time to post it! I am delighted that you had a such a great stay with us! It's always a pleasure to hear where we are going right and i'll be sure to pass all your comments onto all the kitchen breakfast team. I look forward...

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Argyll Hotel is said to be one of my he top houses in Dunoon. However, for me it has been really disappointing. An awful smell on the stairs, a non working TV set in the room, an interior design, taking you back to the late-80s Michael Caine movies (great movies by the way), and a really disappointing breakfast, ad...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kolja R
Lochgilphead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My room was single and very small - up in the eaves. It was clean and the shower was hot. No real complaint except about it being rather cramped. I decided to eat at the hotel as there was a good vegetarian choice. The food was lovely and well cooked and presented.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank UkuleleFan
Management response:

Good morning! I am delighted that you had a lovely stay with us and i really appreciate you taking the time to leave such a great review, thank you. I'll be sure to pass your kind comments over to all our staff. I look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future. Kindest regards Sandie

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here on Sunday 9/4 on a DBB deal, clean looking hotel with lots of friendly staff, we had 3rd floor attic type room which was big enough for 2 of us, shame it was 2 different size single beds put together, tv kettle tea/coffee hairdryer and a good clean shower, Choice of 2 restaurants, we chose Rio the Italian,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jer-rav
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Ate here on our last night of our holiday in Dunoon. Lovely surroundings, the staff were friendly and accommodating!! We ate Italian food which was lovely and plentiful. I had half pizza pasta meal. Pizza was amazing. My little girl had carbonara- which she polished off in record time. Bill was reasonable too. Will definitely return if I am ever...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julie m
Management response:

Good afternoon Thank you very much for taking the time to review your visit to our Rio Ristorante. I am delighted you and your daughter had such a lovely meal. I do hope you visit us again if you're ever back holidaying in Dunoon again. Kind regards Sandie

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went for an overnight stay with my husband. We were welcomed by friendly staff at reception. Our room was a four poster room which had a sea view. The staff at the Argyll are lovely and friendly and make you feel very welcome. Prices for a meal in the hotel is excellent. We will certainly be returning to this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greatstay2015
Management response:

Good morning! I am thrilled that you had such a great stay with us and i really appreciate you taking the time to leave such a great review, thank you. I'll be sure to pass your kind comments over to all our team! I look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future. Kindest regards Sandie

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited this hotel.Ate in rio restaurant food fantastic best lasagne I've ever had.Staff very friendly and couldn't do enough for us.Paulina and Joanne very helpful .Central location not far from ferry port.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carole K
Management response:

Good afternoon Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent meal with us. I am delighted you had such a great time and i'll be sure to pass on your kind words to Paulina and Joanna. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future. Kind regards Sandie

Ayr, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had another great weekend at this Hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff. Had a great room with a four poster bed very comfortable. The food was delicious and couldn't fault anything. The Actors were great once again and got everyone to participate in the evening. Great time overall and look forward to returning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karin D
Management response:

Good morning! Just to say thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review. It's really appreciated and i am delighted that you had such a brilliant stay for our recent Murder Mystery. I'll be sure to pass over your kind words to all my team and i do hope that you will be back to visit...

176 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (154)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
08/05/2017 09/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
1.0 km away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
169 reviews
0.4 km away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
631 reviews
1.3 km away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#7 of 11 in Dunoon
222 reviews
1.2 km away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
445 reviews
0.6 km away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Address: 54 Argyll Street, Dunoon PA23 7NE, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Argyll Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Price Range: $116 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunoon
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dunoon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Argyll Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Glasgow, United Kingdom
6 months ago
scotland
10 months ago
scotland

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Argyll Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The single rooms are very small.”
UkuleleFan, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a seaview”
karind469, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't take top floor rooms,”
largyc, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Sea view rooms have a beautiful view over the bays”
irenec721, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We only ate here - well, we tried to eat two courses, but the second was not available!”
johnhC7036ZV, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
Priceline
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates