We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Argyll Hotel

Show Prices
#1 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Argyll Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

914 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Argyll Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 907: English reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2015 via mobile

Definitely worth more than the £99 we paid. Never had more for my money. Food was delicious, drinks were reasonably priced and Hotel staff were very attentive, 1st class service. Yes a bed wasn't as comfy as it could have been but for the money can't complain. I'll definitely be back. There was a problem with a flood from a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank weelj
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from BEST WESTERN ARGYLL Dunoon I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The BEST WESTERN ARGYLL It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We appreciate your feedback, as it is indeed the pre-eminent barometer by which we can...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2015 via mobile

Never been to Dunoon before and stayed here for a night, had a fantastic room over looking the water. Had dinner in Rio Restaurant the Bruschetta was the best I've ever tried and the pizza was so nice. Breathtaking views over the water.. would 100% return

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jackiebrownx
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure...

Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 June 2015

i was part of a party of mature males visiting the Dunoon area. Our group organise weekend party outings once a year to various locations throughout the country. We generally try to stick to quality hotels for our visits. From the start of our trip, it was obvious that the meals were going to be poor. On arrival, most of...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Alex M
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate the time you took to write your detailed review here on Trip Advisor. We are truly sorry for all the issues you encountered during your stay with us. At your convenience, please email dev.surya@sgehotels.com We hope that you will give us another chance so we can prove to you what we are truly capable of. Kind...

Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 June 2015 via mobile

Was there at the end of May with a group of friends and have to say I was less than impressed. The rooms were small, but clean. We had no lights on the Friday when we checked in. The shower was in a room with a sloping ceiling which made it impossible for me to stand up in (6ft 1in)....

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank TAS-26
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, . We appreciate the time you took to write your detailed review here on Trip Advisor. We are truly sorry for all the issues you encountered during your stay with us. . We hope that you will give us another chance so we can prove to you what we are truly capable of. Kind Regards Dev Surya General...

Glasgow
Reviewed 3 June 2015

Booked double room for one night. Room was tiny attic conversion. I'm only 5 feet and couldn't stand straight in parts of the room. Double bed was not full size, small double and wedged into the wall. Banged my head and knees a few times turning during the night. Was given a dirty glass with my wine, which can happen...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank AnnaAshe
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and...

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 June 2015

This hotel doesn't look anything special at all from the outside but our room was huge and very well furnished. We arrived on motorbikes in the pouring rain so to find a massive bath in our room was a godsend! The bed was two singles pushed together which meant that it was quite a size but comfortable nevertheless and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank j0blackcat
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us recently. We all very much look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Argyll in the not too distant future. With kind regards, Dev Surya General Manager

Scone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 June 2015

Just back from a short 2 night break at the Argyll Hotel, Dunoon. Started off badly because of a medical emergency with a guest that should have checked out on the day we arrived. This resulted in our room being unavailable. We were moved to another hotel for the first night which had one room remaining, needless to say it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JFM25
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words following your recent stay at The BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel. As you mentioned we do take great pride in the genuine service and hospitality we provide all of our guests so again thank you for mentioning this. I have passed on your feedback to my team and...

South Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2015

A 2 day stop over courtesy of a gift voucher and one I'm very glad to have spent in the Argyll in Dunoon. The hotel is superbly situated in town and the interior and service matched the first impressions. A great en suite room (104), complete with super 4 poster bed and matching furniture and views to both the pier...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank colin b
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from BEST WESTERN ARGYLL Dunoon I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The BEST WESTERN ARGYLL It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We appreciate your feedback, as it is indeed the pre-eminent barometer by which we can...

Reviewed 30 May 2015 via mobile

I reserved a room with this hotel 3 weeks in advance as part of my honeymoon. On arrival when I said I was booking in, the woman who I was talking to disappeared and a gentleman came. When he looked at his system they said there was a problem and we wouldn't be stopping here, and said that they had...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank SarahC2423
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest , I am deeply concerned by the lack of professionalism that you experienced during your recent stay. It is unlike our staff to be so unhelpful, and I hope you will accept my sincere apologies for what sounds like an incredibly atypical service experience. You deserve much better treatment, In the meantime if there is anything we can...

Reviewed 27 May 2015 via mobile

Had a lovely stay in room 115 last weekend, very clean, king size bed and sea view. The manager was so helpful and eager to do all he could to enhance our stay. Booked up to go back for the haunted hotel theme weekend in October, can't wait!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lesley M
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words following your recent stay at The BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel. As you mentioned we do take great pride in the genuine service and hospitality we provide all of our guests so again thank you for mentioning this. I have passed on your feedback to my team and...

174 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (152)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.5 km away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
627 reviews
1.0 km away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
160 reviews
1.2 km away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
426 reviews
2.5 km away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#8 of 11 in Dunoon
212 reviews
0.5 km away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Address: 54 Argyll Street, Dunoon PA23 7NE, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Argyll Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Price Range: $129 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunoon
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dunoon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Argyll Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Glasgow, United Kingdom
4 months ago
scotland
8 months ago
scotland

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Argyll Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Update to a room with sea view”
 of 5 bubbles Christine644369, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view lovely watching the boats on the water especially at night.”
 of 5 bubbles 112carolinem, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room 104”
 of 5 bubbles william751, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles Flo_18_csc, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“been in a few rooms and all very very good”
 of 5 bubbles mcquadeian, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5