We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dunkeld House Hotel

Visit hotel website
Traveller (855)
Room & Suite (160)
Video

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Dunkeld House Hotel is set in its own secluded 280-acre woodland estate, on the banks of the River Tay in the beautiful Perthshire countryside. There is lots to do both within the resort and the local area, making this a memorable getaway whether you are visiting for business or pleasure. The newly refurbished hotel has 98 guest rooms, Health Club with 17m indoor pool and spa. On the Estate, try your hand at clay pigeon shooting, quadbiking or enjoy one of the many tranquil woodland walks.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Room service
Free parking
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free Internet
Spa
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference Facilities
Heated pool
Hot Tub
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Paid Wifi
Public Wifi
Sauna
Self-Serve Laundry
Tennis Court
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Historic Hotel
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
2,737Reviews
885Photos
31Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 891
  • 929
  • 505
  • 275
  • 138
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
+3
We visited on March 11th for two days, got four seasons to enhance the scenery too. Was slightly concerned by recent reviews, however we had no reason to do so, we were met by extremely pleasant receptionist, we had pre booked our evening meal the time being confirmed at check
Read more
Hotel's Favourite
After an extensive refurbishment to modern standards and with sympathetic decor, this hotel has returned, even surpassed its former glory. New management has led the development of staff skills and attention to the guest. My most recent visit with a business partner confirmed
Read more
Response from Natasha M, Digital Marketing Exec at Dunkeld House Hotel
Responded 12 Dec 2018
Thank you very much for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Read more
Having stayed for a between Christmas and New Year for what we hoped would be a quiet getaway we were very disappointed to find ourselves in a small old fashioned double room overlooking the noisy kitchen and spa fans. Following this stay our families chose to celebrate an 80th
Read more
We stayed here for my 50th birthday. Beautiful location on the banks of the river Tay. We stayed in the Dukes Suite with four poster bed which was very comfortable. The staff were all professional and welcoming. We had a very relaxing stay. Special mention for Adam who looked
Read more
Response from Natasha M, Digital Marketing Executive at Dunkeld House Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hi MrgYng, Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay and had a relaxing experience. We hope to welcome you again soon. Many thanks, Natasha (Digital Marketing Executive)
Read more
We were in general wade rooms. Our room unfortunately overlooked the Hilton timeshare office where people went in and out all the time we were in the room. No privacy at all unless you pulled the curtains at 3pm! Rooms clean but could be doing with upgrading. Our tv was on the
Read more
Response from Natasha M, Digital Marketing Executive at Dunkeld House Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi eastneukfan, Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. I will raise your points with the relevant departments so they can review your feedback. Many thanks, Natasha
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event RoomsFamily and Play Areas
general wades suite
My big double bed!
Photo provided by managementDunkeld House Hotel
PreviousNext
12345632
What is the average spirit price at the bar? For example a vodka and cola ?
About 6-7£
1 vote
Show all answers
Do the rooms come equipped with hairdryers? Irons?
Unable to answer as my wife always packs her own Sorry
0 votes
Show all answers
Don't know for definitely but presume so for a hotel like this sorry couldn't help more enjoy ur stay
1 vote
Show all answers
is there still a courtesy bus to Dunkeld town
Hi, There isn't a courtesy bus anymore. The new owners stopped it,
1 vote
Show all answers
It'll take you just over an hour to get to St Andrews. It might be a bit quicker on the backroads, but personally I'd ignore them and go via Perth then dual carriageway to Dundee, along the waterfront, over the Tay Bridge, and into St Andrews. If you go at rush hour in the morning (or evening) allow an extra 20-30 minutes. There's a large free car park on the right hand side as you enter St Andrews on the A91 - just turn right at the first roundabout you hit in St Andrews itself and it's beside the University science campus, an easy 5-10 minute walk to town centre. It does get busy in the middle of the day though. Don't know about car rentals, but you could maybe try contacting Enterprise Car Rentals in Perth and see if they could do flexible pick up and drop off? The main hotel itself, as opposed to lodges, isn't a Hilton anymore but I presume you know that. If you have a rental car then Dundee itself is worth a visit for a day to the RRS Discovery (Scott of the Antarctic etc) and the new V&A museum opens in Autumn 2018. If you like walking then The Hermitage is 5 mins drive from hotel and not too strenuous. Also several other pretty walks nearby. Heading south from Dunkeld, Perth is about 20 minutes drive away and has some nice restaurants, principally Dean's at Let's Eat which has been highly reputed for many years. Heading north from Dunkeld, Pitlochry is 20 minutes drive and a bit touristy (lots of coach parties!) but actually ok for a half day visit with nice cafes, and I can't think of a better place to buy a mug, tartan rug, CD of fiddle music or woolly jumper! If you have deep pockets then House of Bruar is a bit further north and very nice...not cheap though! Blair Atholl is about 30 minutes north of Dunkeld with nice gardens and a historic house that's open to public and definitely worth a visit on a sunny day. All in all it's a very pretty part of the world and it would make a good base for St Andrews as long as you aren't going to commute there each day and don't mind the drive on the days you do go over. If you want to see more than just Dunkeld though, then a car is essential for the duration of your visit.
1 vote
Show all answers
PreviousNext
1234567
"Ask for a room in the new wing"
"Dinner menu quite expensive. I would suggest bed and breakfast. Plenty places in Dunkeld for meals."
"Ask for a river view, stunning."
"Second floor facing the river is good."
"Ask for a room over looking the river, stunning views."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$110 - US$263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hilton dunkeld perthshire hotel dunkeldhilton dunkeld hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandDunkeld
NUMBER OF ROOMS
98
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing